My Road is Unpaved… No Intentions Happening Here

I am so full of good intentions.

Every evening I seem to have such good plans for the next day.  Get up an hour before the kids and do yoga.  Get out first thing after getting my son off to school for a walk with the dog and daughter.  Exercise during PBSKids.  Read more of a book.  Apply for 60 jobs.  Stay off of Facebook.  Only drink one or two caffeinated beverages.  Make homemade baked treats and prep a healthy dinner.  Reorganize the house.  I make lists of what I need to do.  Sometimes I even meticulously plan what I am going to eat the next day in the losing battle against my non existent willpower.

And then I go to bed.  For the record, I don’t look like a man when I sleep.  I just really like this picture and this movie.

Sometime in the night I think something comes in and sucks out my brains.  Or melts them.  (BTTF reference #2, thank you very much).

The next morning I blearily stagger out of bed at the exact time my son needs to get up for school.  My daughter bounces out of bed at that exact same moment.  I prepare breakfast half asleep and then doze off on the couch after my son leaves.  I may get off the couch and put clothes on by 9 am-yoga pants and a t-shirt.  I can’t find the lists.  I let my daughter watch PBS all morning.  I might get the walk in, but I probably won’t.  I haven’t showered in days.  No baking or reading of any kind occurs.  Each time I reach for the weights some sort of catastrophe occurs involving insert name here.  I eat a whole box of Kraft mac and cheese for lunch plus a handful of M&Ms.  I consume more caffeine than a human should possibly be able to tolerate.  Supper is whatever takes the least amount of time (usually some sort of pasta).  I spend half the day checking Facebook.  I apply for no jobs because the three that looked halfway interesting I wasn’t the least bit qualified for.

(Not…gonna…happen…)

Yeah, this is my world.  And then each night comes around and I start all over again, being optimistic and stuff…

…And look there’s that road of good intentions again.  UNPAVED!

Whatcha Thinkin?

