Where Appliances Die, or Are At Least Seriously Injured

Our appliances don’t suffer such odd fates, They just kick the bucket or have lots of broken parts.

Welcome to our house, where large and small appliances go to die.  Or at least are seriously injured.  Maybe it’s not just after me?

Today we added the garbage disposal to the list.  It hums, but not any tunes, which would be really cool.  It doesn’t do anything else.  Time of death was 5:13 pm.  It went much like our other appliances did.  It worked fine yesterday, and then it was gone.  I guess you can live without a garbage disposal.  Or at least I’m going to have to learn to live without one.

This is the third death in that part of the kitchen in recent memory.  And that’s not counting the dead mouse I stepped on in the basement doorway (I’m still trying to figure out which pet was the mighty hunter).  One night recently Evil Genius and I were watching TV.  About 10:30 we heard a popping sound followed by the sound of water leaking.  At first we were stumped.  Where the hell did that come from?  The last time we heard that sound was when the 60 gallon hex aquarium in our trailer sprung a leak.  THAT was fun (not to mention a BIG mess!)  This time it wasn’t the aquarium.  After a little hunting, we figured it out it was coming from under the sink.  An old under the sink water filter that someone had installed before we moved in had ruptured.  Water, water everywhere!  We never even used the thing, mainly because we never could figure out how it actually worked.  Thank goodness my husband is pretty handy-he was able to figure out how to disconnect the dang thing.  I tossed it in the trash, it’s not like we were using it or anything.  It took a good couple of days to dry out everything under the sink.

No plumbers of any species were called in to rectify the situation. We figured it out all on our very own.

Then there is our dishwasher-it has been dormant for over a year.  I’m really hoping it’s just in its pupae phase.  Anytime now it’s going to turn into something better-like a new car.  Much like the garbage disposal it also quit suddenly.  It started making horrible noises and then that was that.  So far we have found no repair person who will work on it reasonably, nor can we replace it.  So it sits, dormant.  We still have a dishwasher-Me.  I hate doing dishes-but if you read my blog regularly this is not new information.

Our woes have not been confined to the dish region of our house.  Our refrigerator has multiple issues.  We bought what we thought was a nice stainless steel side by side refrigerator when the one that came with the house bit the dust quite suddenly (one day it was working, and then suddenly it was gone).  It was on clearance because it had one little dent in the side.  I love the fact that they will take a couple of hundred dollars off of something just because it has a cosmetic imperfection.  It makes you wonder how much more they could really take off of it.  It now has many scratches on it, thanks to kids playing with magnets and a husband who brought an industrial strength magnet home from work and scraped it across the front (that made me sooooo happy).  The bottom shelf on the door is broken on the right side, so it kind of hangs there.  However I’ve found that if you put stuff on the left side it kind of stays in there (hey I need the storage space!)  It usually holds my big honkin’ bottle of wine I buy and that’s about it.  The fruit and vegetable drawers aren’t really drawers so much anymore, due to the supports breaking on each side.  They are more like baskets stuck on top of each other.  The vegetable drawer has a big hole in the front.  This doesn’t help at all with keeping vegetables fresh, but it is convenient when asking a four year old to get something out of one of the drawers “It’s the drawer with the big hole in the front.”  “Get in the vegetable hole and pull me out the carrots, please.” We haven’t fixed these things because I researched prices and they were RIDICULOUS!  Over $30 for a little shelf.  Almost $70 for one drawer.  Eventually if we get caught up on everything else perhaps.  For now we’ll just deal with it.

There are days when I wish Zuul was in my refrigerator. Maybe things would get fixed in there.

Oh and there is one thing that actually has been fixed on it-the water dispenser lever.  I broke it with my brute strength trying to get, well, water out of it.  Snapped it right in half.  It was fixed, but we can’t actually use it for water, because we need to retap the line.  We have ice, just no water.  I pour water from the tap into a red ice tea dispenser type container, which we put in our fridge so we always have cold water.  Yup, it’s a red redneck water dispenser.  How cool are we?

You’d think we’re hard on stuff or something.  Perhaps… At the same time we had our water dispenser thingie fixed we also had the door handle to our stove fixed.  Not only do I have superstrength, so does my husband.  He broke the handle off on the stove by *gasp* pulling on it.  We have also replaced our washer and dryer this past year.  The washer wouldn’t wash.  The dryer wouldn’t dry.  It was truly a clothes cleaning conspiracy.  At the time we were in a position to actually replace the darn things.  Thank goodness-I can’t quite picture myself using a washtub and one of those washboards.

Maybe I otter start me a band…

So we’re currently trying to figure out what is going to happen next.  Is the stove going to blow up? Probably, considering it’s the only appliance we haven’t replaced yet.  It was the only one that traveled with us to this new house.  And so far, so good.  Maybe if I go sit in front of it and try to reason with it then I can expect a few more years out of it.

2 thoughts on “Where Appliances Die, or Are At Least Seriously Injured

    • I’ve come to the conclusion that we’re not going to buy a Frigidaire next time. It’s bad enough that the replacement parts are so much (and I forgot to mention how ridiculous the shipping is.) But then again, I can’t believe how much some refrigerators cost these days! There’s one at Best Buy that’s around $3000!

Whatcha Thinkin?

