When Warranty Gods Are Smiling

I doubt my guardian angel is like Nicholas Cage, but I had to insert the “City of Angels” referential picture somewhere. Awesome movie that ended oh so very terribly… how many Nicholas Cage references can we have in one blog anyway?

Today I feel as though maybe someone is watching over us.  At least the warranty deities are.  I’m sure the guardian angel is in on it too.

Remember the phone?  I dropped my awesome Galaxy S Cheap yet terrific smartphone in the toilet for a millisecond.  The part you talk into would not function.  I could hear people on the other end but they thought it was a prank call because it was like noone was there on my end.  I could use it on speakerphone, but that’s nearly impossible when you have two kids sitting nearby, trying to see who could make who laugh first by saying different sentences with the word “underwear” over and over.

This wasn’t the first time this quit working.  It also had some other issues that I just ignored.  I finally decided to go over to my cell phone provider to see what they could do for me.  I just neglected to tell them about the toilet part. I mean, there was no visible water damage anywhere.  As it turns out, the phone was still under warranty, so they could fix it and I wouldn’t be charged.  Unless of course they got inside there and found all kinds of water damage.  I decided to take my chances, and off to the shop my phone went.  I was given the option to have an exact duplicate of the phone overnighted to me for $35 that I could use while it was being repaired, or I could take the crappy loaner phone they had.  I opted for the crappy loaner.

Yesterday I went to pick it up.  The guy got everything put back on the phone, and I left, happy as a clam to have my phone back.  It worked better than it ever has.  It wasn’t taking screenshots while it was supposed to be in screen lock mode.  It actually responded when I did stuff.  Maybe they were mean to it at the repair place?  Or maybe it really missed me.

Today as I was sitting in my car, I noticed something.  It’s not the same phone.  I know this because it got flung across the room when I first got it and one of the corners got just slightly banged up.  It wasn’t real noticeable, but it was permanent.  I realized that it was no longer damaged.  That would be because it’s a BRAND NEW PHONE.  They must have just swapped it and called it good.  I am beyond thrilled!  All of the other stuff works on this one.  Wheeee!

Thank you, Samsung.

I really just wanted an excuse to use this picture. It really has nothing whatsoever to do with this post, other than it has phones in it.

Yesterday my son came home with broken glasses.  Keep in mind this used to be an almost weekly occurrence.  These are the good glasses.  The eyeglasses people have already replaced the frames once, deciding that glasses that were supposed to be that sturdy shouldn’t bend or break so easily.  He’s done pretty good since we got them back.  He’s gone several months without incident other than losing a nose pad.

He said he accidentally walked into someone’s football game at recess.  I’m not surprised, I’ve seen him walk into many walls in his lifetime.  Apparently he was tackled when he walked into the game.  The frames were a little bent, and one of the earpieces had snapped off completely.  Someone had done a pretty good job of taping them together for him.  Luckily, we still have the pair of glasses he got originally, the ones that break if you look at them wrong.  I think Medicaid doesn’t take durability into account when deciding which frames kids can have.  Which is weird, come on, kids are really hard on stuff.  And you’d think that they’d realize that when kids like my son have to come in to get them fixed almost weekly.

Today I took the glasses in to eyeglass people.  The lady looked us up and said “Oh boy, it looks like your warranty expired… YESTERDAY!”

Maybe it was the look on my face, or maybe it was the sound my wallet made when it screamed.  She smiled and said, “It’s ok, we can still get them fixed under warranty.”  I thanked her about a billion times.

A good couple of days indeed.  Things fixed for free.  Found lots of bargains at the store.  We have free tickets for the game on Saturday.  Perhaps the garbage disposal will come back to life now?  Maybe there is a way out of this pothole after all.  Just to be safe I won’t hold my breath.

I rather imagine my guardian angel would be more like the Ghost of Christmas Present in Scrooged, except maybe without the toaster. That would explain a lot of my injuries.

5 thoughts on “When Warranty Gods Are Smiling

  1. I can still hear my mom’s sighs when I came home with broken glasses…on almost a weekly basis too! Then I moved onto contact lenses in the 7th grade. Back then they didn’t have disposables so you got one pair for about $100. Yep, I was always losing those too!! My poor mom!!!

Whatcha Thinkin?

