Resuscitation Successful! Items that didn’t work before now do. Wheee!

So shiny!

So shiny!

What looks like just a sink to you is something more to me.  After the sprayer/aerator thingie broke off the sink the other day I was going to give up on ever washing dishes again.  Evil Genius had enough of this things not working (ie wife has another excuse to stay away from dishes) nonsense.  Not only did he get a garbage disposal unjammer thingie and fixed it, he also replaced the faucet.  It’s shiny.  We have a sprayer that actually works.  AND everything is hooked up correctly now.  We do live in a house where we have yet to find any plumbing that is actually hooked up right.  Our shower is actually the exact opposite of what it says.  You turn it to cold to make it hot, and hot to make it cold.  Makes sense, right?  THAT was a lot of fun when we first moved in (not).

He so deserves praise. This week I’ll be sure to wash all of his underwear.  Now, let’s do the dance of joy!

Dare I say that this blog drove him to it?  Perhaps.  He gave me a REEAAAAAALLY hard time about a certain blog post that I made a while back. It took me a long time to figure out as to which one he was referring.  I finally realized that he was talking about Living With A Evil Genius (Or Two).  Honey, in my defense I was not complaining, or bitching, or whining.  It’s called humor.  I can point that stuff out from time to time.

Now if it had been the semi naked Thor picture that drove him to it, I was going to start posting shirtless superheroes with comments about broken household items more regularly.  Like this one:

He did point out to me that he had done quite a few things, all in one day.  Not being one to discredit my wonderful husband, here is what he did yesterday-1) Got up. 2) Put on pants. 3) Greeted people at church, wearing a nametag that had his real name and therefore people knew it was him greeting them!  4) Helped decorate the church for Christmas (I originally typed Easter in there for some reason). 5) Got a haircut. 6)  Hung Christmas lights outside. 7) Made two trips to Lowes in one day. 8) Fixed the garbage disposal. 9) Replaced the sink faucet. 10) Let both children live another day.  Not too shabby honey.

I like them.

I like them.

Greeting the members of the congregation was quite funny.  We weren’t funny, but our kids were.  My son greeted everyone by greeting their navel, my daughter shook hands in her own nonconformist way-she is left handed, and WILL NOT shake hands with her right hand.  They shook so many hands that by the time it was time to share the peace Princess Christmas seriously looked at me as if to say “AGAIN? REALLY?”  Then she proceeded to try to make off with one of the apron dresses they were dedicating.  The fact that she is so cute makes her very, very dangerous.  She knows this too-she wields her power whenever possible.  Her poor brother.  She’s got him doing whatever she wants, and I’m sure this is only the beginning of her world takeover.

While I’m talking about church, keep in mind that if I don’t publish any more blog posts after Saturday, it’s because I’m dead.  I have to sing a solo with the choir backing me up next Sunday.  I can’t get through the darn song without panic setting in, and I just may very well have a heart attack and die.  I haven’t done a solo in years.  As a matter of fact, I don’t think I’ve done one since I’ve had children.  And I used to do this stuff daily.  I used to hire myself out to sing at weddings.  I USED TO TEACH MUSIC.  Hello Panic Disorder.

Despite worries of impending death by participation in music I think this week is starting out pretty well!  If I could do a cartwheel, I’d probably do one.  Except knowing me I’d probably pee my pants!  Check back in tomorrow to see what mirth and merriment we’re going to be getting into!

13 thoughts on “Resuscitation Successful! Items that didn’t work before now do. Wheee!

  1. hi!hi! 🙂 I’m sure you will do great for your solo! 🙂 you’ve done this many times & like you say: you used to teach music, so no worries! 🙂 I’m sure we will hear from you after Saturday night! … PLUMBING issues, I’m sure they aren’t as bad as mine, we just had a complete kitchen reno (super stressful and wanted to torture my hubby every day!), after the kitchen reno was complete we could hear some water inside of the walls coming down ARRGH! , after realizing that the “workers” probably had something to do with it, we found out that we need a complete bathroom reno (yeah, like if that is going to happen anytime soon!), so now we were told that we need to replace our complete bathtub and shower in the next 6 months because if we don’t the ceiling of the new kitchen might be ruined! 😦 ARRGH! again! well this won’t happen! anyway! you are lucky your hubby is handy, mine it takes him years to do something like this and we usually end up having my dad or brother come over to finish or re-start whatever he started! I always laugh at this because he really wants to do it but like me we aren’t handy! ….. Anyway, enough about pluming and hubbys, good luck again on your solo! 🙂

    • You should call that one guy, oh what is his name-The Holmes on Homes guy! Yikes! When we lived in our trailer when we were first married, we spruced up our little bathroom, including a handheld shower sprayer thingie. Apparently something didn’t get hooked up right, because when I went in to take a shower the next day I could hear water spraying inside the wall. My husband had to fix that QUICKLY! He’s learned much since then.

  2. Man, you gave me a panic attack just thinking about having to sing a solo in front of people. Of course, I can not sing at all so this is natural that I would feel this way. You should be totally fine. Isn’t singing like riding a bike?!!

    • I think so. I hope so. It’s been a long time. I’ve always had some anxiety towards it, the performing part, not necessarily the singing part. I used to sing all the time in the car. Now my daughter yells at me. “Mommy STOP singing that song!” I guess I have to look at it this way, Billy Joel’s daughter never liked him to sing either.

  3. You will rock your solo! And I’m so happy for your faucet and garbage disposal. It always feels so good to have some stuff done!

    • The one I’m doing this Sunday is from a cantata, I can’t remember what the cantata is but the song is “Living in the Promise”. It’s really pretty, and good for my range-I’m actually an alto, so it’s kind of hard to find songs sometimes, because they tend to assume all women are sopranos.

      The Sunday before Christmas my husband and I are doing “Mary Did You Know” as a duetIt’s a really neat version-he’s a tenor and I’m an alto, so we actually sing the reverse of what you;d think we would!

      Part of my phobia is the fact that I’m off my anxiety meds. I have social anxiety. The other part has to do with the fact that when I was in college, all music majors were required to do a session where we had to get up, perform, and then let our peers and professors tear apart what we just did. Add to that the fact that I’ve spent the rest of my life being picked apart by everyone else for everything else and there you have it! ;-D

      I know you don’t do Facebook, but I’m sure my husband will post videos of both, the church usually gives the performer a copy after the fact.

      • I’m an alto too! I love singing along to John Mayer because I can sound similar to him!! 😉 I understand being worried since you’re off the meds, but just remember, whatever happens, you’ll be able to BLOG about it! 😉 And all of us are cheering you on!! 😀

Whatcha Thinkin?

