Ooooooh Those Christmas Eyes!

We had our family Christmas on my side early this year due to my aunt and uncle’s 50th wedding anniversary party.  Since we live a couple of hours away, it just made sense to get together while we were there and do our gift exchange at my Mom and Dad’s house.  Christmas is pretty big in my family.  Though we pretty much like all of the holidays, Christmas is especially fun to get ready for.  With all of the decorating and other stuff that takes place this time of year, it means a bit of a buildup to the big day.

scan0015

The little one on the left end is my little sister (my cousin is the one in the pink, and I am the one with the messy hair, go figure).  As you can see she is a bit excited.  She has what we refer to in our family as “The Christmas eyes”.  All of the excitement about the holiday builds up until the big day, and by then she was almost literally about to explode.  I regret that I don’t have the best picture of all-we seriously have one of her looking like she is going to pop.

I’m not saying that I wasn’t excited too!  But for some reason she just had a harder time containing it.  My dad would, and still does take advantage of this.  It was quite funny to make her squirm.  “We can open presents after we wash all the dishes, dry them, and put them away.”  “We all need to sit around and think about the Christmas spirit.  For a few hours.”  My sister is now a grown-up.  She still loves Christmas, but now she has a toddler to chase around and has less time to worry about when we’re going to open presents.  But never fear, because we now have a brand new set of Christmas eyes in our family:

Princess Christmas this weekend at the family Christmas.

Princess Christmas this weekend at the family Christmas.

I do believe she is being told we have to sit around and think about the Christmas spirit.  She really did just about explode.  Meanwhile…

One present.  He's happy.

One present. He’s happy.

Yeah, he could care less.  Yet don’t think for a minute that he doesn’t notice stuff.  Last year somehow he figured out that his sister got more than him.  The dollar amount was the same, but the physical amount was tipped a little in her favor.  This year it went more his way with many cool science and building things.

They held these almost all the way home.  It's almost a two and a half hour drive.

They held these almost all the way home. It’s almost a two and a half hour drive.

Do you have someone in your family that can barely contain his or her excitement?  Do you have another family member that likes to take advantage of that fact?  I’d love to hear your stories!

9 thoughts on “Ooooooh Those Christmas Eyes!

  1. Your children are precious! Love your little girl’s Christmas eyes. Pretty cool that you still have that pic of you and your cousins. It’s a priceless item. My gals are a little to young to have Christmas eyes, but I so look forward to it! Love your blog.

  2. I never thought I’d be this dad, but I definitely try to get the girls to clean up or something before opening gifts or attacking the stockings. it’s all we have, sometimes, as parents, to hold something over the kids’ head, right? Plus, it was done to us. It becomes tradition.

    Nice read!

  3. Sooooo cute and I just love seeing those happy faces with the big happy eyes. We don’t have much of a tradition but my kids are pretty darn excited whenever they get anything and they go crazy with the unwrapping…that’s pretty much it. 🙂

Whatcha Thinkin?

