Limited Edition Cat Butt Christmas Cards

We've done a few, but we have many cards to go...

We’ve done a few, but we have many cards to go…

A picture is worth a thousand words, and since my son has been little, I have started making picture Christmas cards.  The first year it was simply a photo on nice Christmas cardstock with a little message in it.  Since then I’ve gotten a bit more elaborate, even shelling out the dough for the store bought ones you do online.

This year we’re going back to basics.  Princess Artistic is EXTREMELY interested in making cards for everyone, and since we are buried in a blizzard I figured this would be a prime opportunity for her to do just that.  And with her brother home to help this made it even better.  I figure at this point it’s pretty hopeless to get all of that done in time.  They will get there when they get there, and that’s ok.

Fortunately in the past I have way over bought on the card making supplies, and have inherited some as well through some relatives.  I took down the big box of cards from the shelf, dug out all of the Christmas stickers, punches, stamps, and Christmas colored ink and paints.  I let them create with some supervision.  They look pretty nice!  We have many more to make, though.

We’ve done some card making before.  We’ve always sent the photo cards in the mail and sometimes make homemade ones for people we see often (in other words, they already know what my kids look like.)  One year my cat even tried to get into the whole Christmas card making thing.  One year my son wanted to make cards for everyone at school, from the principal to the lunch ladies (and we all know with what they put up with, they deserve them most of all).  I gathered Christmas shaped sponges, Christmas colored paint, construction paper, and glitter.  He sat and stamped for quite awhile.  Once done we proudly laid them out to dry in the game room.  Not even five minutes after we finished the cat decided that the cards would be an excellent place-for him to sit on.  He proudly turned the sparkly green Christmas tree prints into sparkly green cat butt prints.  He had a green sparkly butt for a bit after that, and we ended up making different cards to replace the three that he sat upon.  Now that he is gone, I kind of wish I had saved those butt print cards!

Ah sweet kitty, he was always willing to lend a hand, or rather a butt.

Ah sweet kitty, he was always willing to lend a hand, or rather a butt.

13 thoughts on “Limited Edition Cat Butt Christmas Cards

  1. Good for you for being so crafty. I tried to get my boys to make snowflakes for Sandy Hook yesterday and that took all of 3.5 seconds before they were done. And so, what you’re saying is that when I get my Christmas card this year, there is going to be cat fur stuck to it? Ewww… 😉

  2. He was just adding his own special message. 🙂
    That is awesome!
    I’m so sorry for the loss of your sweet fur baby.
    May the memory of the cat butt card live on in your hearts.
    I wish I knew what goes through their furry noggin when they walk upon paint and then decide to dance on every avaliable surface. We had a nail polish vs. cat moment a few months back. 🙂

Whatcha Thinkin?

