Holiday Music: The Great Ones and the Really Annoying (In My Unprofessional Opinion)

a-charlie-brown-christmas

When I was little my parents had the Time-Life Christmas collection on records.  I grew up listening to this collection!  In an effort to recreate my childhood, I’ve been looking for the songs on CDs.  Some I’ve been able to find, others I can’t find anywhere!

Thanks to being able to stream Pandora, we’ve been listening to a lot of Christmas music here at our house.  That has been really nice to hear some of our favorites but also hear some new ones.  I’m not real thrilled with the selection from our local radio station. Keep in mind that I have a hard time adjusting to new versions of my favorites, but over the years there are some that I have grown to like.  Not to mention, my tastes are rather eclectic due to being a musician.  Here are some of the favorites at our house.

Christmastime Is Here-The Vince Guaraldi Trio.  Child of the 80s here.  If you read my 80s Child post, you know why I like this.  It’s not Christmastime until I hear this song and the next one.

It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas-Bing Crosby.  This one really takes me back.   I want to write a modern day version of this. Ipads instead of dolls that can talk and go for a walk?  😉

It’s The Most Wonderful Time of The Year-Andy Williams.  Oh yeah this one also signals the start of the Christmas season.  It could have been the back to school Staples commercial that sealed the deal for me.

O Holy Night-Josh Groban.  Did I mention I have a crush on his voice?

Twas the Night Before Christmas-Fred Waring and His Pennsylvanians.  I did this in college, and to this day it remains one of my very favorites.  It’s a choral retelling of the story.  It is very, very good.  If you listen to it, it will get stuck in your head.

Mary Did You Know-Kenny Rogers.  This is so pretty.  My husband and I did this as a duet in church this weekend.

For Unto Us A Child Is Born-Georg Friedrich Handel.  The first of two on here.  Anyone who is a fan of The Messiah will know why this song is so cool!

Peace on Earth/The Little Drummer Boy-David Bowie/Bing Crosby.  Talk about an odd pairing, but the combination of voices works.

Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)-Darlene Love.  This song plays at the beginning of Gremlins.  Don’t ask me why I know this…

I’ll Be Home for Christmas-Rascal Flatts.  This a capella version is so pretty.  I’ve never been a huge fan, but for some reason this group is growing on me.

Welcome Christmas-The Who Village Choir.  I was ecstatic to find this one on ITunes a while back.  I’m an 80s kid, I love it.

Christmas/Sarajevo 12/24-Trans-Siberian Orchestra.  I won’t lie when I say that I love a lot of alternative music.  The first time I ever heard this group, it absolutely blew me away!  There’s nothing like hard rock played on orchestral instruments coupled with electric guitars.

The Hannakah Song-Adam Sandler.  Ok, I’m not Jewish, but I love this song.  It’s probably the only funny song I like.

O Come, O Come Emmanuel-Enya.  This is so hauntingly beautiful.  I am a huge fan of Enya.  I have every one of her CDs.

All I Want For Christmas-Mariah Carey.  My husband would kill me if he knew I put this on the list.  I just love this version, and I don’t know why!

The Hallelujah Chorus-Georg Friedrich Handel.  Handel is the man.  And I never hear this without chills.  I have performed this many, many times.  And it keeps getting better every time I do it!

And then there’s stuff that may make me change the station or run screaming into the cornfield behind my house.  Please don’t hate me because I hate these songs:

Santa Baby-I HATE THIS SONG!!!!!!!!!

Michael Buble– Why this guy annoys the pee out of me, I don’t know.

Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer-Please.  Enough is enough.

I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus-Especially the John Mellencamp version.  Go dance naked, John, and leave Santa and Mommy out of this.

Simply Having A Wonderful Christmastime-Sorry Paul.  I just hate this song.  It may have been all those Christmases working at Kmart and having to hear it over and over and over…

Father Christmas-The Kinks.  I believe it’s the same as the aforementioned Paul McCartney song.  Bleh.

Jingle Bells-performed by barking dogs.  And my kids loooooove this one.  The commercial with the different animals is cute, but not the song.

Do you have very favorite versions of Christmas songs?  Are there ones that make your ears bleed?  I’d love to hear what you love (And hate).

star-wars-pictures-funny-christmas-pictures-jingle-bells-song

7 thoughts on “Holiday Music: The Great Ones and the Really Annoying (In My Unprofessional Opinion)

  1. Absolutely love your first three. And I love all of the religious songs – “O Holy Night” and “Silent Night” especially. The only one I don’t like is “Little Drummer Boy” for some reason. I must associate it with a sad memory or something. And I’m sorry, but I HATE Mariah Carey. She has a beautiful voice, but she bugs me as a person. Can we still be friends?

  2. My favourites are between these 2; It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas-Bing Crosby and It’s The Most Wonderful Time of The Year-Andy Williams (Staples commercial made me laugh, I don’t think think they poayed it this last September). All I Want For Christmas-Mariah Carey; my son loves it, he dances to this song, he gets happy and so do I 🙂 (we annoy our dogs every time because I start jumping around so I can get a laugh from my son 🙂 )

Whatcha Thinkin?

