Theme Thursday: Cats and Dogs, Disliking Each Other In My Home Since 2012

Yeah, it's totally like that.

Yeah, it’s totally like that.

What is Theme Thursday?  ‘Tis a Thursday with a theme.  This is a gently used Theme Thursday post, originally for the theme cats vs dogs but now slightly modified for this week’s theme of rivalries!  Please join me over at Something Clever 2.0 to read what other folks have to say about rivalries by clicking on the perty blue Theme Thursday button!

I have owned cats for over half of my life, and have now owned a dog for about five months.  I’ve never really been a dog person, and I feel bad about this fact.  I totally get why people who love dogs love them so much.  I just personally relate better to cats.  I’m really not sure why.  I’m more used to cats?  After all, I never owned a dog of my own until recently.  I’m more LIKE a cat?  I don’t hide under my bed and growl at people, so this certainly wouldn’t be it either.

My dog is the eternal optimist.  His bowl is always half full, and his trash can is fuller.  This is because he would rather eat out of the trash most days than his dog food.  He thinks that everyone in the world is there just to play with him.  Someone comes to the house?  They have come to play with me!  Someone walks past the window?  They have come to play with me!  We see another dog?  It has come to play with me!

The cat… does not play with him.

Don't mess with the upstairs-it's her domain.

Don’t mess with the upstairs-it’s her domain.

My cat is a pessimist, for lack of a better word.  I think she has spent a good deal of time trying to figure out which method she is going to use to do the dog in.  It’s not like he is taking over or anything, she was antisocial before.  All she ever did was hide under the bed.  Occasionally she would even grace us with her presence and let us pet her for 4.5 seconds, sometimes even twice in the same five minutes.  I think that now that she is used to him being here she is actually more social than she ever has been.  There is totally a reason for this-she’s trying to show him up.  Think about it.  I have seen this firsthand.  She jumps up to be petted, the dog is instantly jealous.  I swear she is almost sticking her tongue out at him “Thhhhhhpppppt!”

She IS beautiful, and she wants everyone to know it.  I think of the old “Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful” commercials, only she wouldn’t care if anyone did hate her because of it.  The dog may think that everyone is there to play with him, she believes that everyone is there to admire her and bow in her presence.

True... true...

True… true…

I just want everyone to get along.  The cat chooses to disagree.  Meanwhile the dog never gives up on hoping she will play with him, or he just has a really short memory.  He runs up to her whenever she enters the room, wagging his tail, she hisses and growls. Sometimes she will even retreat under the couch and continue to growl.  It sounds like the entire couch is growling.

We’re not oblivious to the fact that our poor doggie could use a furry playmate.  We have been looking around for quite some time for a kitty that could hold its own and that actually might let the dog near it.  Our dear departed kitty was much more like a dog.  He was sweet.  He was tolerant.  He was so laid back in fact that my children could lay on top of him and he would maybe blink.  He would have made a great companion for our canine.  He was also the size of a small dog.  When he sat around the house, well, yeah… he sat around the house.  He was a fabulous lap cat, because he took up a whole lap and then some.  But he was not fat.  He was big boned.  Really, really big boned.

Having the dog has certainly made life more interesting, but also much more messy.  While the cat’s messes are confined to the occasional hacked up hairball and the wooden scratching post formerly known as a banister, the dog seems to make messes everywhere.  His trash addiction, which he lovingly brings into the room adjacent the living room for some odd reason, is maddening enough.  I seriously am going to ask for a stainless steel doggy proof trash can for Valentines Day.  Then there are his toys.  There is nothing that this dog cannot destroy in a matter of minutes.  NOTHING!  And these little remnants are everywhere-I will have just picked up and thrown away half a dozen stringy thingys that were once toys, only to find three more shoved into the couch cushions.  And pieces of rawhide chews.  And whatever else he’s been playing with.  Now that I think about it, it’s like living with one great big furry toddler.

I love both of my animals.  However if I had to choose between the two, every time I would choose the cat.  Sorry dog, it’s true.  You say dog, I say cat.  I will always be a cat person, and I’m not apologizing for it.

My cat and dog.  He is bowing in submission, because he simply wants to play.  She wants him to just go away.

My cat and dog. He is bowing in submission, because he simply wants to play. She wants him to just go away.

My friend Steve likes cats. People are always saying “Oh, Steve’s really a cat person”.  No he’s not.  If Steve were a cat person it’d be, like, “Hey, Steve never goes in the pool” -Demetri Martin

Theme Thursday

42 thoughts on “Theme Thursday: Cats and Dogs, Disliking Each Other In My Home Since 2012

  1. I love that you can clearly see the cat’s fangs in that pic. That’s not normal. You have a vampire cat. Have you ever tried holding her up to a mirror?

  2. Well, I’ve owned both and you are right–their personalities seem to be polar opposites. But I gotta admit, I’ve converted into a dog lover. My mother has always had cats but they are very snooty. My daughter’s cat always hisses at me–I think he senses my doggie preference. The pictures you have included with this funny post are hysterical. P.S. Your cat really does look evil in some of these shots…..just saying’…..

    • Oh I’m not offended. There are a few cat pictures I’ve seen from ICanHasCheeseburger that look just like her and are all labeled with the word evil! HA HA!

      I don’t dislike my dog, I just like my cat more. 😀 And there are some VERY snooty cats out there, I have to agree with that! Female cats seem to be more so than male cats.

  3. I had a dog and cat when I lived alone in my 20’s…they were the best darn friends and roommates! And you know how I feel about getting a dog now….they are a lot of work and I’m just not up to the task yet….but I think in a couple of years!!!

  4. Our dog used to chew up every toy and get into the garbage, too. We got a fancy lidded garbage can for Christmas one year, and eventually found an industrial strength dog toy that he couldn’t gut, and we all lived happily ever after. I just spent 30 minutes trying to find that damn toy online to share it with you, with no luck.

    • It’s the thought that counts! I’m hoping we have a little extra money by Valentine’s Day so I can beg for a new trash can! Ours used to have springs so the lid would stay closed but the springs came off, then the lid disappeared! The trash is just at the right height-he can just casually put his nose into it as he strolls by. Convenient! 😉

    • Oh my goodness Becca, I have been so sick! I wish your blog appeared on my little WordPress reader-I am that thick that I’m missing about half the blogs I usually read if they’re not right there looking at me! I even tried setting something up on Facebook so I’d see everyone’s blogs when they posted, and Facebook is being a crack whore and I only see the ones that post a comment every 5 minutes! Right now on round 2 of meds (zpac). But have a nice little note to sit down and peruse the ones that don’t show up and remind me to “hey, read me!” Yours is on the top of the list. I’m glad you said something! XO!

      Yours truly, Sickie Sarah

  5. Your cat looks like it’s out for blood! I have both – a cat and a dog. The cat will smack the dog if the dog is being too bouncy, but as soon as the dog is laying down? It’s a whole nother story. I swear the cat is practically seducing the dog and all for a warm spot to curl up in.

  6. I enjoyed this post – and the one about movie quotes and singing, because I do that as well. I just found your blog so I will be reading more.

    I have always had cats – female – and all have been very cuddly, liking to sit on my lap or shoulder or lie on my legs while I was sleeping. I now have a re-homed cat who was 10 years old when I got her last year and although she likes to be petted, she is not fond of being picked up (the longest she’s lasted has been about 10 minutes!) and has never sat in my lap. It’s weird for me but she is still very affectionate so we’ll see.

    My cat Samantha spent her first year living with me, my roommate and my roommates dog and they were inseparable. She would chase other dogs away from Nikki and Nikki would chase other cats away from Samantha. When my roommate was away, they both slept with me, usually curled up together!

  7. Pingback: The Canine-Feline Paradigm: Who Ate My Poop? | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

  8. All three of our cats and both dogs are co-dependent. With me. They all need to be in my lap at the same time. My lap isn’t big enough for that so they argue with each other. The basset hound gets so depressed if I am gone 24 hours or more he stops eating. They all need Zoloft. 🙂

  9. I have two big fluffy dogs and they are VERY needy. I have never had a cat but think I would like them since they are so independent – it would be a nice change.

    • ANY video with a dog or cat is usually pretty funny! My little girl and I will sit with the laptop and type in funny kittens in the search bar and get hours of entertainment.

  10. HAHA! Love it. My goofy dog thinks everyone is coming to play with her, too! I have a dog and have had a cat, but not both at the same time. I am not sure I am ready to dive into that level of chaos at the moment!
    Love the rivalry!

  11. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The Summer Vacation is Almost Over Panic Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

