Theme Thursday: Breastfeeding Gave Me Super Powers

Oh I still have this super power.

Oh I still have this super power.

Today’s Theme Thursday topic is breast feeding.  I told Jenn that I gave this one two boobs up. 

When I breastfed, I had super powers.   Yes you saw that right-breastfeeding my kids gave me a couple of special powers.

Always sleeping he was...

Always sleeping he was…

Breastfeeding Super Power #1:  Super Sleep Inducer.  Ability to make infants fall asleep upon contact.

I breastfed my son with no complications for me other than sore boobs.  The thing about this kid is that he SLEPT ALL THE TIME.  Literally.  People would come to visit and he would sleep.  We couldn’t even get him to wake up long enough to give them a “Hey what’s up?”  We would try to give him tummy time on the floor and he would fall asleep.  I would try to breastfeed him and he would FALL ASLEEP.  Immediately.  I really stressed out about this, because since he slept all the time he wouldn’t get a whole lot to eat.  I had directions to do all kinds of things to get him to wake back up.  Tickle his feet, undress him, and so on.  Nothing really worked.  In the end he must have got enough, the doctor didn’t seem all that worried about it.  I wish I could say that power carried over to the second one, but alas it did not.  While my son slept all the time my daughter rarely slept for very long, and she always wanted to sleep with me.

When The Princess was this teeny thing I was a champion staircrawler, that's because it's the only way I could get up there. Damn pelvis.

When The Princess was this teeny thing I was a champion staircrawler, that’s because it’s the only way I could get up there. Damn pelvis.

Breastfeeding Super Power #2:  Dislocation.  Surely useful for something.

Breastfeeding my daughter was an interesting experience because as great as the health benefits were for both of us, it was actually making some things worse for me.  When I had her something weird happened with my body.  I was at the doctor’s office just a few weeks after having her with neck and body problems.  My neck hurt so bad I couldn’t move it, I couldn’t sit up, I couldn’t even lay down without it killing me.  I also couldn’t walk up the stairs.  My legs and lower back hurt so badly I could barely get out of bed to get her when she was screaming her head off.

My doctor handed me a neck brace and then told me to crawl over to the physical therapist and have them take a look-see.  The diagnosis?  My neck muscles were clenched so tight that there were literal knots in the muscle.  And why I couldn’t walk?  My pelvis was out of alignment.  I was an inch higher on one side than the other.  What would help?  Months of physical therapy.  Oh, and if I’d stop breastfeeding, that would help too.  Apparently your body releases something called relaxin when you are pregnant so that all the joints loosen up to let that baby come on out easier.  Some people like me just had body parts just waiting to pop right out of place, and it keeps going until you stop breastfeeding.

I didn’t stop-I kept on breastfeeding as long as I could.  The physical therapy plus the exercises I had to do at home really helped.  However, for months afterward I would literally have part of my pelvis pop out of alignment walking down the hallway at work. I’d have to go into my classroom while the kids were out of the room, lie down on the floor, and do the exercises to bring everything back to semi-ok.  I’m sure anyone walking by the window of the classroom wondered what the heck was going on.

I can’t say that I ever used this superpower, or even what it would be useful for.  Maybe it was in case my daughter got stuck somewhere and I had to go in and get her?  With her that was entirely possible, considering she was mobile pretty early on because she hated to stay in one place.

To this day I have issues with my neck and back.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again-she is literally a pain in my neck.  I’m having some breastfeeding body flashbacks at the moment.  I have barely been able to move my neck for weeks now.  (If you’re a blogger that I’ve been commenting on tons and wondering why I’m not visiting your blog like I used to, well, sitting around aggravates it even more, so I’m doing what I can…)

I was lucky to be able to breastfeed both kids for the first seven months of their lives.  Yup, then they kicked my boobs to the curb.  That was it, they wanted no more.  None of that having to worry about weaning, they just did it themselves.  I applaud people that are able to do it for the full year, but for me it was probably better this way.  Of course no breast feeding=no more superpowers.  😦

Thanks for the mammaries…HA HA. Sorry, I just couldn’t resist!  Be sure to read all of the Theme Thursday posts over at Something Clever 2.0

breastfeeding

35 thoughts on “Theme Thursday: Breastfeeding Gave Me Super Powers

  1. Seriously adorable babies, hilarious visual of you lying on the floor in your classroom (in my mind, the kids are in the room), and fond mammaries of breastfeeding. This post made me happy.

  2. Yeah, I definitely didn’t have that super power. When I gave up on breast feeding but still wanted to provide breast milk I went to the pump and never got more than 3 ounces at a time out of each boob – barely enough for one feeding. I got behind and supplemented with formula.

    I do however have a super sniffer and I might have to steal that first someecard from you. 😉

  3. Jeez the pelvis. So you’re walk and bam all of a sudden there’s something out…poor you. After I had my second son I had/have major back pain. For the first 2 years after I him I would have to crawl out of bed in the morning and it would be a good hour in the morning before I was able to move around “normally”. Even now I can’t go shopping for a long time. If I stand for more than 1-2 hrs my back hurts so badly I need to get home ASAP. I always say kids are the biggest joys of my life but can be the biggest pains.

      • LOL, well it’s not the ONLY reason. 😉 But Idk WHO thinks bottle feeding is easier!! The middle of the night? Whip out a boob…At the park? Whip out a boob, etc, etc!!!

      • Exactly-in the middle of the night that made sense. I was so shy I would go hide in my car and breastfeed or bring a bottle of pumped with me if I knew I couldn’t hide! I don’t have a problem with other people doing it, I just was afraid someone would catch a glimpse of my boobs. Weird, huh?

      • I think that’s totally normal, and it’s too bad that it isn’t commonplace to see a woman nursing (boob flash, and all!) because if it were common, we’d lose the shyness, I think. I was very modest with my first; less so with my second, and much more free with my third! If we have a fourth, who knows WHAT I’ll do! LOL

  4. Sorry to hear you neck is still bothering you! If I’m on the computer too long (which is most of the time now…) I get a super sore neck! But I still believe you have your super powers of awesomeness! XOXO

  5. I love that ecard at the bottom! Lol

    Crazy about your pelvis, I didn’t know that could happen. Hell I’m sure you didn’t either until it did.

  6. My daughter was literally a pain in the ass. She kicked my ass when she was in the womb. Love the e-card at the end. You (& all women) still have superpowers. They just aren’t activated at the moment.

  7. Oh your pictures are uterus-achingly sweet! Loved them! Wow, you are a hero for making it through that with all the pain!

  8. Pingback: Revelations of a Weenie: What Scared Me The Most (But I Lived and Got Over It) | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

