They Don’t Know That We Know They Know We Know About The Sadder But Wiser Girl

...or an eight year old.

…or an eight year old.

I spend a lot of my time answering questions.  My daughter is right at that age where she is starting to ask about everything and anything.  My son asks questions too, probably a lot more than my daughter, but I can’t usually answer his questions because they tend to be very complicated because they are about science and math.

So naturally I felt obligated to answer a bunch of questions when I was tagged by Menopausal Mother in a post this past week.  It asked a bunch of questions that I had to answer.  How this came about piqued my interest, and I had to travel back in time to the person who had tagged her and then the person that had tagged the person who tagged her and so forth and looked at the original posts.  Marcia made it easy-she pared it down to a mere 25 questions.  The original was 45 questions, and was supposedly some thing they did on Facebook long ago when it was still relatively new!  I joined Facebook because my mom was insistent.  I get aggravated with it sometimes but I’m glad I did it.

For some reason, it made me think of this scene from Friends.  Don’t ask me why…

So without further ado, here are the questions I answered.

1.  WHERE WERE YOU BORN?
Not in a mental institution, as some may believe.  I was actually born in a small town in Maine.

2.  WERE YOU NAMED AFTER SOMEONE?
Not that I know of, though my mom did have a good friend named Sarah.

3.  IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN, HOW MANY DO YOU HAVE?
Two, sometimes it feels like ten.

4.  HOW MANY PETS DO YOU HAVE?
Two.  Sometimes it feels like ten.  Oh, did I say this already?

5.  YOUR WORST INJURY?
It’s a toss up between my whacky post childbirth pelvic misalignment and the time I got my hand slammed and broken in a car door.  Both sucked, and both have affected me for a large part of my life.

6.  DO YOU HAVE A SPECIAL TALENT?
Not really, after all I am the least interesting person I know.  If you count the ability to sing well, then I guess that would be counted as one-but if you heard me sing lately most likely you would disagree.

7.  WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE THING TO BAKE?
Banana bread.  I’d say cookies but that has nothing to do with the baking process itself.  It has everything to do with eating the cookie dough.

baking kitty

8.  FAVORITE FAST FOOD?
I hate fast food.  I really do, which is bad because I’m married to a fast food fanatic.  So my favorite “fast” food is Bruegger’s Bagels.  I’m serious!  I love their Roesmary Olive Oil bagels with Garden Veggie Cream Cheese.  When we’re a little more flush in the money department, I take advantage of their baker’s dozen specials they have and throw a bunch in the freezer.

9.  WOULD YOU BUNGEE JUMP?
NO! Speed and heights don’t exactly appeal to me.  I’m not a big adrenaline person.

10.  WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU NOTICE ABOUT PEOPLE?
What people?  There are people?  HA HA!  Their personality and whether they have a good sense of humor.

11.  WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU CRIED?
When I was fretting about taking this substitute position.  As it turns out it is just what I needed-I’m getting out of the house, making a little dough, and getting my mind off of stuff.

12.  ANY CURRENT WORRIES?
You name it, I’m worrying about it.  I’m a professional worrier.  I just wish they’d pay me to do it.

13.  NAME 3 DRINKS THAT YOU DRINK REGULARLY:
Diet Sunkist Lemonade, Coke Zero, and Sutter Home White Zinfandel.  Not together, of course.  That would be gross.

14.  WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE BOOK?
The Princess Bride by William Goldman.  You thought the movie was funny?  READ THE BOOK.

inigo montoya

15.  WOULD YOU LIKE TO BE A PIRATE?
When I was a kid, I loved a spoof of The Pirates of Penzance called The Pirate Movie.  If I could be a pirate like that, well, yeah.

16.  FAVORITE SMELLS?
Cinnamon, Eucalyptus, Lavender

17.  WHY DO YOU BLOG?
Why do YOU blog?  I blog to have  a place to put the stuff in my head.

18.  WHAT SONG DO YOU WANT PLAYED AT YOUR FUNERAL?
Either 4’33” by John Cage, or Mozart’s Requiem.

19.  WHAT IS YOUR LEAST FAVORITE THING ABOUT YOURSELF?
At the moment?  My whole body.  But I’m working on it.

20.  FAVORITE HOBBY?
Scrapbooking.  Don’t turn me loose in a scrapbooking store, you may never see me again.

21.  WHAT DO YOU LOOK FOR IN A FRIEND?
A great sense of humor.

22.  NAME SOMETHING YOU’VE DONE THAT YOU NEVER THOUGHT YOU’D DO:
Be unemployed, though I guess I’m temporarily employed now.

23.  FAVORITE FUN THINGS TO DO?
Take in a good movie, take a long walk when the weather is nice.

24.  ANY PET PEEVES?
When people ask me what my pet peeves are.  Seriously though, I can’t answer this because I’m blogging about it on Theme Thursday this week.  You’ll have to come back and read all about it on Thursday.

25.  WHAT’S THE LAST THING THAT MADE YOU LAUGH?
My daughter.  I didn’t realize that she had put together her very own costume for the preschool Mardi Gras parade.  She certainly was the most unique one there!

She's always on, that's for sure.

She’s always on, that’s for sure.

And now I get to tag folks-I think Mom’s World can do a fab job with this, but she’s already in the middle of a challenge where she is answering questions, so she may want to decline?  I’d also like to see what Amy at Funny is Family can come up with.  Just A Little Nutty would be a really fun one to read.  Black Sheep Mom is relatively new to my blogsphere-I’d love to see what she says.  The Mommy Ref could put a great spin on this.  If you ladies are feeling like this would be fun, do whatever you want with this-use the questions I have here or take a look at the older posts and see what they did with it!  (And it’s certainly ok to say “NO!” and run away very fast too!)

Here are the links to the other posts that I carefully researched:
Who the Hell is Menopausal Mother? Menopausal Mother
There Was FB Before I Joined? Baking in a Tornado
Going Old School The Adventures of the Family Pants

I was also given two awards this past week by wonderful fellow bloggers.  I’m working on that post as well, and I HOPE it will be up sometime later this week.

FINALLY-only a couple more days of the silly contest.  Please keep voting to keep me in the  Top 100!

17 thoughts on “They Don’t Know That We Know They Know We Know About The Sadder But Wiser Girl

  1. Thanks for tagging me! My posts are planned for the week, but I’ll try to squeeze it in. I’m so glad to hear your job is going well. Sometimes getting out of the house is just the thing, isn’t it? The Princess Bride is going to be the next book I read. How terrible is it that I didn’t even know it was a book?!

  2. Ahhhhhh I love this!!!! My favorite answers–#1 #3 #4 #6 #7 all so great!!! And yes–Mozart’s Requiem!!!! Makes me weepy every time I hear it because it is just so damn beautiful. Good choice. But of course I’m still sitting over here laughing about the ham comment you wrote from a few posts ago….. hahahaha!

Whatcha Thinkin?

