Theme Thursday: Pet Peeves

Theme Thursday

Jenn at Something Clever 2.0 is the mastermind behind Theme Thursday, a weekly “event” that a few very awesome and unique bloggers partake.  Every week I manage to come up with a post, and every week people actually read it.  This is is amazing to me, because I know that some of my posts for this have been pretty bad.  This week’s theme is “Pet Peeves”.

(Theme Thursday is not filmed before a live studio audience.)

The term “pet peeve” is a strange sounding term.  When I was younger I used to think it had something to do with pets peeing on things.  I know what a pet peeve is nowadays, but it didn’t stop me from looking up the definition of the word online.  Pet Peeve:  An opportunity for complaint that is seldom missed; a particular and often continual annoyance; an irritating experience by others in which you cannot control.

Anyone remember this episode of friends?

Anyone remember this episode of Friends?

The majority of my pet peeves are right in front of me every single time I go online!

Grammar 
I think the above picture pretty much sums it up.  Think about your words when you use them!  Contractions are contractions for a reason-they are short for something!

Spelling
Please us spellcheck and spell it right!  I get so annoyed when I look at job listings with serious spelling errors.  I always wonder how those people are employed full time and I’m not!  I must admit I was guilty of a serious spelling faux pas that I did not once, not twice, but MANY times.  My mother pointed it out to me that deodorant was not spelled deoderant as I was spelling it.  It “deodorizes”, hence the “o” instead of an “e” in the middle there…

Punctuation
If done correctly it saves lives.  Please refer to the following picture:

punctuation-saves-lives

People who can’t stop doing whatever it is that they are doing on their phones.
I’m talking about the people who constantly have their face buried in their phone.  They must always be texting, checking their Facebook status, instant messaging, or whatever the heck they are doing on there.  I’m not referring to people who need to be on the phone for their job, or people who blog who might be checking their stats or replying to comments. I’m referring to people I have worked with who can’t even put the phone down to DO THEIR JOB!  People who can’t drive without texting!  People who can’t walk down a street without texting!

Before cell phones...

Before cell phones…

Recently Evil Genius and I were driving through town.  We saw two girls walking down the street, both busily texting on their phones.  Without missing a beat, he turned to me and said “You suppose they’re texting each other?” I myself have a smartphone, and I have some things that I check occasionally on it (because I am a wife and a mom, after all), but I can live without it.  As a matter of fact, it doesn’t stay on long enough for me to do anything anyway!

There are probably more things, but these are the things that bother me the most.  What bothers the snot out of you?

Please take the time to read some of the other amazing and probably much better posts than mine over at Jenn’s place, aka Something Clever 2.0.  Want to participate?  It’s not hard at all.  Refer to the Theme Thursday page for more information, and tell Jenn I sent you!

15 thoughts on “Theme Thursday: Pet Peeves

  1. I will never understand those people who don’t care about spelling, punctuation and grammar. How is it that we all type so much more often now, yet we’re so much worse at it than we used to be? (Please note my use of “than,” not “then.)

  2. Bad and incorrect spelling and grammar, especially on the Internet, definitely comes under pet peeves for me. A typo or two I can forgive, especially when people are using their phones. And now some schools are talking about not teaching students to write in cursive because it’s more important they learn to use the computer. Yes, that is very important but I’m willing to bet that most of the children already know more than a lot of the teachers by the time they get to school. There are still occasions when handwriting is preferable.

  3. The grammar, spelling and punctuation thing bugs the hell out of me. I’m a grammar Nazi, I admit it. The cell phone thing too. I have one friend who just sits there staring at the screen while you talk to her. Makes me wonder why she bothers hanging out in the first place. And the Grandma meme is hilarious.

  4. I know my grammar is not great so I can’t complain about it too much but incorrect spelling really irks me! Especially when young kids shorten or completely change the spelling of things…. I am assuming to look funny! It is not funny! They look dumb and I have no idea what they are talking about half of the time!

  5. I’m terrible with grammar, not intentionally, I’m often writing/thinking so fast I miss it. Also a terrible speller, I blame it on the fact that English is my second language and spell check doesn’t always catch. For instance did you notice that you wrote us instead of use under spelling. That’s the kind of thing I do all the time, when I’m lucky Jen (STC) emails me or tweets me but sometimes (often) I catch myself when I reread, then I think “fuck, now everyone thinks I’m dumb”, more likely they know (like me) that it’s a typo. Spell check didn’t catch 😉

Whatcha Thinkin?

