Fly on the Wall February 2013: The Professor’s Edition

fly

Have you ever thought about what people might think if they saw what goes on behind-the-scenes at your house? Do you ever wonder what it would be like to catch a glimpse of someone else’s daily life? Here’s your chance. Today 16 brave bloggers are inviting you into their homes to be a fly on the wall.

Buzz around, see what you think, then click on the link below the post for a peek into some other homes:

Believe it or not I do have another child besides the Princess.  The Professor is my son and he is eight years old. His sister tends to dominate my blog posts because she is quite the dominant little individual. She is constantly saying off the wall things, while he is much more logical about his thoughts.  He asks a lot of questions, a lot of really good questions all the time that I can’t answer!  Most of the time you will find him with his nose in a book or watching TV while standing on his head.  It’s very nice to see him play-he will actually play action figures with his little sister, at least until she drives him crazy!  This is huge because he has never really been one to “play” before.

When he was little Evil Genius and I were talking about potty training.  He climbed up on the couch between us and said, “What’s this potty train?  I would like to ride that!”  Such a logical little guy!

I feel bad for him because he often gets the short end of the stick.  For instance, his birthday.  It’s right after Christmas, so he tends to not get as many presents, or the weather is bad, or one year he was in the hospital and we ended up doing his cake and ice cream quite a while after his special day so that he could at least have some of it (yeah, he was THAT sick).  This year he asked for a trip to the Science Center, and we gladly went with that, but one thing after another has thwarted the plans.  His dad was sick, I was sick, his dad had to work, it snowed a lot.  Since we could only go on the weekend, we’re kind of limited to when we can go.  Luckily he has been very cool with it-but I know he wants to go in the worst way!

He has a lot of little quirks, and I so wish he could find a friend that would accept him despite all the things that he does.  He does have his sister, but that’s not quite the same thing.  She is so bossy and he often just goes with it.  Often he will be coerced into doing something by her, we have to remind him that she is only four and NOT HIS BOSS!

He has an interesting little sense of humor.  He put this on his head "I'm a banana!"

He has an interesting little sense of humor. He put this on his head “I’m a banana!”

The Professor:  “I think I would like to have a piece of gum.”The Princess:  “Me too, except I don’t want any.”  See what he has to put up with?

Recently Evil Genius’s sister came up with her kids (she has five now, four at the time).  The kids all go off to play.  Shortly afterwards The Professor emerges from his bedroom and comes and sits with the adults.  “Hi.” He says.  “You said I need to socialize more.  So I’m here to socialize.”

We leave the house to go to choir practice.  Evil Genius yells to the kids “Go to the car quick because it’s freezing out here!”
The Professor runs across the lawn yelling, “I’m losing all my heat through my head!”

At Open House he shows us his favorite part of the school-the library, of course!

At Open House he shows us his favorite part of the school-the library, of course!

The Professor is having some anger management issues at school.  In particular, he can’t stand it when he doesn’t get his way.  This carried over to at home, where he is quite upset when he doesn’t get to do exactly what he wants.  We had a long talk about it, and in the end I simply told him that I was always here if he wanted to talk to me.
“No you’re not.”  He said
“Yes, I’m always here for you.”  I said, a bit shocked at his response.
“NO, YOU’RE NOT!”  He repeated.
“What do you mean?” I asked.
“Well, sometimes you leave the house,” he replied.
Ah my son, always the literal one.

The Professor:  “Mom, tell Dad not to spank me because I already spanked myself.”

Since there was no school due to the snowy weather, I let both kids sleep in.  When I checked on The Professor he began apologizing to me: “I am SOOOO sorry but I tripped over a box of larvae and spilled it everywhere!”
It was just a dream, we usually don’t keep larvae in our house.  What does that kid dream about????

Grandma brought him a package of new socks.  She asked him to show me his socks, so he promptly stuck his foot up in the air for me to see.  Wrong socks, kiddo.

The Professor sat down next to me and said “I’m thinking I’d like a new book.  A non-fiction book.  I want a book that will teach me about animals that eat people, like bears or sharks.”  Interesting… I hope he’s not researching a new pet.

He’s so into video games, and his dad is currently addicted to Skyrim, so he spends a lot of time upstairs watching him play.  But sometimes he will come downstairs and sit with me to keep me company while his sister and dad stay upstairs.  I love that about him…

He really puts up with a lot with this little stinker.

He really puts up with a lot with this little stinker.

Please check out the other blogs who are participating at Baking in a Tornado!

www.BakingInATornado.com      

http://www.bigaandlittlea.com/

http://hypnoticbard.blogspot.com/

http://www.justalittlenutty.com/                          

https://sadderbutwiser.wordpress.com                 

http://followmehome.shellybean.com                

http://stacysewsandschools.wordpress.com/

http://menopausalmother.blogspot.com/

http://www.dontchewonthedinnertable.blogspot.com

http://mybrainonkids.net/     

http://www.findingfelicity.com

www.therowdybaker.com         

http://smn0409.blogspot.com/  

www.theblacksheepmom.blogspot.com

http://raising-reagan.com/

http://mooreorganizedmayhem.blogspot.com/

26 thoughts on “Fly on the Wall February 2013: The Professor’s Edition

  1. Your Professor is one smart little dude! i LOVE his responses to things–especially the “potty train” and spanking himself. Tripping over larvae and a deep interest in animals that eat people? There will never be a dull moment in your life with this kid. Hopefully you won’t come home to a newly- built shark tank in your backyard…..

  2. This is such a sweet post. My younger son has some of the same left brain characteristics as your son, so I can relate. I took him to Boston for a full neuropsych work up so I’d know how to best relate to him in a way most beneficial to how his brain works. He’s now in High School, has a car, a job, a group of friends who are more cerebral like him, and is in the top 1 % of his class (of 600). Worry less, enjoy more!

  3. This is so adorable. I love how you gave your kids equal time on the FLY! My eldest’s birthday is right after Christmas, so I get the birthday dilemma. 😦 MIne was right at the beginning of the school year, so all of my presents were school clothes. How fair is that?
    You have such a cute family. Write it ALL down. Your kids will love to look back on this and smile.
    Oh, and the non-fiction book sounds like a definite winner. Be safe!

Whatcha Thinkin?

