Theme Thursday: Kids (Mine, Yours, Theirs…)

Theme Thursday

Theme Thursday is a weekly happening where bloggers come together and link up their takes on a theme chosen by Jenn at Something Clever 2.0.  This week’s theme is Other People’s Kids. 

I readily admit that I had a lot of trouble doing this week’s theme post.  It wasn’t necessarily the topic.  After all, I work with kids.  I went to school to work with kids.  I like kids a lot!  After playing around with a lot of different things, I finally just started writing what came out of my head easiest.  I don’t think this post is really about other people’s kids anymore.  Oh well, I’m ADD, remember?  And my throat is really sore.  And my own kid won’t poop.  I’m a little distracted.

Sometimes I can’t help but shake my head at some of the stuff I’ve seen.  Don’t worry, my kids are the cause of some of the head shaking.

This one has raised an eyebrow or two.

This one has raised an eyebrow or two.

My kids certainly aren’t perfect.  I’m sure that people that don’t know me have passed judgement on my kids and/or me on a number of occasions.  I feel like I’m not qualified to judge on other kids and how that kid is acting at that particular time.  I don’t know what their situation is, or if their children have special needs, or if maybe the kid just needs a nap really badly.

I never miss an opportunity to use this picture!!!!

I never miss an opportunity to use this picture!!!!

I’m sure that people wonder what the hell is going on when my kids are throwing a tantrum in Target.  The truth is I probably told them no and they aren’t getting their way.  Imagine that!  Sometimes though, there is stuff I see that just screams to be made fun of.  Like this:

The sad thing is that I've seen this in real life.  More than once.

The sad thing is that I’ve seen this in real life. More than once.

After all, we do live in an era where shows like “Toddlers and Tiaras” has viewership.  All I can think when I see references to it is “What are you people smoking???” Never seen the show, never will.  My daughter is referred to in this blog as Princess Whatever-We-Are Calling-Her-That-Day.  We strive to make sure she believes that she is NOT a princess.

There is no royalty in our house, though she thinks she is the queen.

There is no royalty in our house, though she thinks she is the queen.

Today Princess It’s-All-About-Me announced to me that she no longer likes princesses.  She likes kitties.  That is fine with me, other than the fact that I have now had to sit through Aristocats four times in the last month.

My daughter.  She thinks she is all that...

My daughter. She thinks she is all that… I may call her Princess here, but we don’t let her think she’s one!

We really try to make our kids NOT be spoiled brats.  Sometimes they can be very trying.  We have to have a sense of humor about this stuff.

I can't imagine where they get it from...

I can’t imagine where they get it from… Evil Genius in the fort he made.

But really, when you think about it, there are some pretty historically bad parents.  These parents make some of today’s parents pale in comparison.  Like Joan Crawford.  Or Darth Vader…  Think about how their kids turned out.

parent darth

The truth is, no matter how good of a parent you are, no matter what you are doing, there is going to be someone who is going to disagree and tell you that your are totally raising your kids wrong.  I was born in the seventies.  We grew knowing the Bill Cosby style of parenting.  Now that’s probably considered wrong!  You can’t yell “Let the beatings commence!” or say “Let me describe the brain damage.”anymore without getting some seriously judgemental looks.

I'm not judging.

I’m not judging.

So in summary… unless it’s something totally, utterly wrong, I’m not going to be openly judging you, or your kids.  I’m nice like that.

Be sure to check out all of the posts at the Theme Thursday link up.

39 thoughts on “Theme Thursday: Kids (Mine, Yours, Theirs…)

  1. You hit the nail on the head with this one!!! Before I had kids, whenever I saw a kid having a tantrum in public I was quick to judge and think the parents had raised a brat. Now I GET IT! You can be the best parent in the world but kids will be kids and they’re just doing their job when they test the boundaries. I learned a LONG time ago never to judge other parents! Btw the pics with this are great!!!!!

    • Yep! There’s stuff you gotta do and often you have to bring the younguns along! I would rather shop by myself, but lately I am questioning what is cheaper: Is it cheaper to not bring the kids and have all that extra time to browse, or to bring the kids and have them ask for everything?

    • It’s an unusual movie for her to like. I think there are parts that move very slow for a four year old. I couldn’t get her to sit still for Lady and the Tramp, but she’ll watch that movie over and over. She loooooves “the girl cats”.

  2. It makes me crazy when people look at parents in a disapproving way when kids are misbehaving in public. Like ANYONE in the world has a kid who hasn’t publicly caused a scene. I have to admit, though that whenever I see a screaming kid in a store, I actually smile to myself. Been there, done that, so glad to be past it.

    • My daughter is really good at those public displays of anger. Her last one was at work-a lot of parents coming in and out have no idea that she is my daughter. I wonder what they thought when I came carrying her in from the playground screaming and kicking and yelling that she didn’t love me anymore!

  3. I really liked this post. I don’t take it upon me to judge other people with their kids. You just don’t know what is going on. And not to mention, I have been there. We once went through a phase where we couldn’t take our kid in the store without them screaming the entire time. Guess what? We still need to feed them so I got to go to the store anyway. I say stare away! 🙂 Great post!

    • Yup-Dad works very long hours so in order to get groceries they are stuck going with me. I still have issues with taking both of them to places like Target. It just doesn’t work. Inevitably I end up having a standoff with one of them!

  4. This was great. We do the best we can and that’s all anyone can ask. And then at night, when they’re in bed, we drink. LOL

    Great post and great pictures!!

    Penny at Green Moms and Kids

  5. Pingback: Help, HELP! I’m Trapped at Target! | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

