March Secret Subject Swap Take One: Sparkly Rainbows Meet the Imperial Stormtroopers

secret

Welcome to Take One of March’s Secret Subject Swaps. This week, 15 brave bloggers picked a secret subject for someone else and were assigned a secret subject to interpret in their own style. Today we are all simultaneously divulging our topics and submitting our posts. 

My subject is “You’ve followed the rainbow and found the pot, but it’s not gold in there, it’s . . .” submitted by Baking in a Tornado.

Thank goodness the cat goes in the litter box.

Ah March.  The time of year where we celebrate things like Spring, green beer, good luck, little green men, and pots of gold at the end of the rainbow.  I thought it only appropriate that I receive a prompt where I talk about what I might actually find at the end of the rainbow.  Me being the mistress of the random thought, now embark upon this in my own personal style.

As a child I used to think magical thoughts about things in nature.  I believed that when it thundered that angels were bowling.  I believed that when there were clouds and there was light shining through that someone’s soul was going to heaven.  Come on, if you’re my age you most likely at least saw a commercial for Highway to Heaven.  You know, Michael Landon?  Pa Ingalls?  Anyone? Anyone?

Anyway, although that stuff was all well ingrained in my head I don’t ever remember learning much about leprechauns or pots of gold at the end of the rainbow.  First of all, why on earth would you put a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow?  Gold is so valuable, I’m sure that whoever possesses it would put it anywhere but there, in a place that is waaaay more secure.  Not only that, but I think that if there would be something there it would be something more colorful, like rainbow sherbet, don’t you?

As a child I used to love rainbows.  I had lots of things with rainbows on them.  Growing up in the 80s, there was plenty of that stuff to go around.  I remember having something (maybe it was a book bag?) that said “Rainbows are my favorite color.”  I found one of my sticker books that was complete with many rainbow stickers as well as scratch and sniff and those stickers you touched to make them change color.

This is all so very weird to me, because I remember being more into Star Wars than sparkly glittery things.  And the Dukes of Hazzard.  And the A-Team.  Call me diverse.  Nah, just call me plain weird.

My daughter is four and happens to love rainbows.  And unicorns.  And glittery things.  Unicorns and glitter…  what was I talking about again?  She also loves playing Star Wars and superhero action figures with her brother, but usually prefers the pink and sparkly to the “boy” things.  Now that I think about it, the action figures are usually hanging out with ponies or the Hello Kitties.  Remember, it’s a scary world where the kitties have to fight the bad guys who take their candy.  I think if there were sparkly pink stormtroopers that she would be thrilled beyond belief.  A lavender Death Star?  It would be her utopia.  I can’t make this stuff up, it’s all totally true.

IMG_0873

Hello Kitties struggling to survive in their scary post-apocalyptic world.

Here are some recent comments she has made to me.  “Mommy, I want you to find the GIRL books for me.”  Translation-books that are pink or have a girl or a cute animal somewhere on the cover.

“Mommy I like action figures but I only want the girl ones.”  The girl ones are hard to find, believe me, I’ve tried.

I recently had to threaten her to get her to start putting her socks in the hamper.  I told her that if she didn’t start getting them put where I could find them to wash them that I would pull out all of her brother’s old socks and make her wear them.  That was quite a catalyst!  She didn’t want to wear “ugly boy socks”.  We haven’t run out of socks since.

And to go right along with this post-her favorite socks?  Her rainbow socks-striped socks with virtually every color in every hue on them!  See, it all may be random but it all has a reason for being in here…

Oh.  You’re probably wondering what I think I would find instead of gold at the end of the rainbow?  Unicorn poop, of course.  Unicorns fart glitter and poop rainbows.  What else would you find at the end of the rainbow?

unicorn farts glitter

I wrote a whole post on unicorns, unicorn farts, and unicorn poop.  Find out what I said by clicking here.

(Karen at Baking in a Tornado now has a reason to ban me from her Secret Subject Swaps forever!)

Here are links to all the sites now featuring Secret Subject Swap posts.  Sit back, grab a cup, and check them all out. See you there:

http://www.BakingInATornado.com

http://chewylicious.wordpress.com/

http://smn0409.blogspot.com/

http://dinoheromommy.com/

http://www.justalittlenutty.com/

http://followmehome.shellybean.com

http://stacysewsandschools.wordpress.com/

http://lifeonthesonnyside.blogspot.com/

http://dates2diapers2.blogspot.com

http://www.tinystepsmommy.com

http://menopausalmother.blogspot.com/

http://www.amotherlife.com

https://sadderbutwiser.wordpress.com/

http://mybrainonkids.net/

http://hypnoticbard.blogspot.com/

28 thoughts on “March Secret Subject Swap Take One: Sparkly Rainbows Meet the Imperial Stormtroopers

  1. Your daughter sounds awesome! And we are obviously the same age…I could relate to so much of this…of course I remember Highway to Heaven 😉 Great post!

    • We had to dump our satellite a few months back because we were too broke to afford it. Now that we just watch the regular tv we can see all of the old shows on some of those channels-I haven’t seen any of the ones I mentioned but for awhile Remington Steele was on.

  2. Hey, I remember the rainbow stickers! I think mine were puffy..
    I was daydreaming a bit while reading your post. I think I was imagining Bo, Luke and Han Solo on a Hello kitty house boat…
    I would like a pair of rainbow socks for my whole family. They could share and match with anything!
    Your post was hilarious. Unicorns that fart and poop glitter? You’ve made it to the end of the rainbow!

    • I had puffy rainbow stickers too! I have another big sticker book somewhere with all of those. The rainbow socks came from Wal-Mart, in case you want to go out and get some. I don’t know if they had them for grown-ups, though.

    • The Hello Kitty legos were originally on clearance at Target. I got her a set that was $25 for $6. It was all downhill from there-she has to have them all. I really can’t think of a better way to encourage little girls to play with legos. Thank you for the award! I am getting ready to take a break for a while and have some guest bloggers, but I will do an award post when I get back! I need a mental break for a few days!

  3. OMG…LOVED IT…I spit out my water…unicorn poop…love it.

    loved hearing about a girl, as boyish as my son and he is all boy, he LOVES wearing red and orange socks allt the time.

    • I’m sorry you spit out your water, but at least it was water! There’s nothing worse than laughing and having pop come out of your nose!

      My son is all boy in many respects, but he has his stuffed animals and pillow pets, which I think is sweet.

  4. I think my end of the rainbow would be a nap and a really good pizza. I’m truly a fat girl at heart.

    But it’s nice the action figures are hanging out with ponies and Hello Kitty. They are clearly animal lovers, which is always a great trait in a man.

  5. Totally an 80s child and could not stop thinking about Rainbow Brite through this whole post, lol!! But seriously, I could not wait to see your answer and unicorn poop did not disappoint!! 🙂

  6. I believe I saw a Darth Vader once on the internet at Comicon wearing a Hello Kitty themed suit instead of his usual black one! That may be what you need to get her for Halloween!! 😀

    • I was never a girly girl. Now I like simple pretty things, but am still not one who likes a lot of that stuff. Sometimes I think my husband is very disappointed. My idea of getting dresses is pretty shirts, jeans, and my merrells. He’d like to see me in a dress and heels once in awhile.

Whatcha Thinkin?

