Tales From the Gym

buff-snowman

We have another winter storm. Sigh…

Working out at the gym has been no less than awesome.  On the weekend I even left the comfort and warmth of my house and drove into town just so that I could go in and work out.  This was because another winter storm is on the way, and I wanted to be sure that I “got er done”, sort of speak.  Here we go again.  This damn winter weather is trying to interfere with my working out and I won’t let it!

There are definite perks to this deal.  This particular chain of gyms has three different locations.  When I’m working I can just drive a few blocks over to use it. When I’m coming in on the weekends, I can go to the one on the other side of town, which is way closer to my house. It’s quite nice to have options.

The clientele of each location seems to be different.  The one by work has the guys who lift 2,000 pounds and have no neck.  The one close to home has a more normal population, mainly older folks like me who are trying to get back in shape.  It’s also much more crowded.  The one stinky downside to going over there-I have to wait to use machines.

eye contact

So the gym workouts are going really well.  I’m so excited about this.  So much so that I’m currently hatching a plan.  I’m trying to figure out how to keep this going when this work deal is over.  Yesterday I called the fitness center near where we live and asked about how much it cost to join.  Thirty-some dollars a month, and a one time orientation fee of $50.  Honestly it isn’t really one time, considering I’ve paid it once before.  This would make it a two time fee, right?  I tried to convince them that they should be nice to a former member and not charge me that fee, which at least is less than it used to be.  The lady on the phone told me they waive the fee for people who pay the first six months up front.  Yeah, that’s not gonna happen.

Maybe my boss would just let me pay another month so I can keep going to this fitness center?  Come on, I’m a great person.

I have bad knees. I won't be doing this.

I have bad knees. I won’t be doing this.

Isn’t it funny that those little things don’t seem so important until you don’t get to do them anymore?  I got rid of my gym membership to save money and because I couldn’t get there often enough to justify paying the monthly membership fees.  Now that I have it back, I’m not giving it up easily!

Then of course there is the problem of once I’m no longer working I will also no longer have that coveted lunch break to work out.  The fitness center where we live does not have hours that jive well with mine.  It works for most people, but not for me, because Evil Genius leaves for work around the time it opens.  He then returns home about the time it closes.  I wonder if he’d be willing to work different hours so I can stay in shape?  HA HA.  I want so little.

I haven’t been going long enough to notice any changes in my body.  My jeans fit much better, but that had already happened before I started.  It’s amazing how going from being inactive to active can make positive changes!  I do feel much better about myself, more confident, and maybe look just a little leaner in the mirror.  That last one is probably in my head until I actually stand in front of a mirror.  That muffin top is definitely still there.

Just the way I feel should be motivation enough to keep doing it.  That and the scantily clad female Mortal Kombat characters that Evil Genius insists on using as his laptop’s wallpaper.  I’m not the jealous type, but it does make me want to not eat for awhile and work out more.  But I’m not doing it because of that, or necessarily for him, although I think he’ll like the results.  He’s trying to get in shape too!

Now if I would only stop eating everything in sight, eat healthy things, stop drinking diet pop, and a million other things…

Have you done something for yourself recently?  Something that you can’t believe you stopped doing previously?

LOL!

LOL!

22 thoughts on “Tales From the Gym

  1. I joined Slim by the Summer online and that has helped me a bit. I am working out more, but still finding it hard to curb the snacking (I love my sweets). So I can truly relate to that one!!

  2. I consider it a workout when I have to go up and down the stairs 100 times a day between doing laundry and cleaning the rooms. I’m usually hefting a heavy laundry basket, vacuum cleaner or a toddler when I go too… so that counts right???!!!

  3. Have to agree – that first photo was funny. It is hard to get to the gym, I agree. Our local “fitness center” is actually an extension of our school. They are open from 5 AM to 7 AM (even if my husband weren’t already gone for work that still would NOT happen) and then again at night from 6 PM to 8 PM, when I’m ready for a glass of wine and the couch! But, I have been forcing myself to go and you’re right, it does make you feel better. Just wish it wasn’t such a sacrifice, but no pain, no gain, right?

  4. Hah. The pictures had me cracking up. Alas, I do not frequent a gym. I just can’t. It’s against my religion! This was a great post though…even though I’m drinking Diet Coke as we speak and don’t plan on EVER quitting. 🙂

  5. That photo with the do not make eye contact cracked me up! SO, I went to the gym last week, conveniently forgot my headphones, and got to listen to all the people grunting at the machines. Seriously, I had no idea people grunted at the gym.

  6. That’s awesome, I’m really happy you’re feeling better by being healthier. I went back to weight watchers and am finally feeling good myself. I haven’t joined a gym cuz of the cost, lucky for me I live in sunny California so it’s easy to run/bike/walk/hike year round. Hope it works out and you can find a way to keep it. Exercise is a great way to save on medical expenses…

  7. Hey there! I’m stopping by from the i hate Monday’s blog hop. I just started a new routine yesterday & so far it’s kicking my butt! I hope you have a great week.

  8. Just remember that muffin tops aren’t always a bad thing. It’s the best part of the muffin and one of the first thing that sells out at the Bread Co. by my house. What does this mean? People love muffin tops…obvy…

    Keep hitting up the gym. I will cheer you on fron the sidelines as I eat my payment from you….Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.

  9. OMG! This is so awesome. My husband just bought Insanity, which I think it pretty insane bc the most exercise he gets is sweeping the floor after dinner.

  10. I am starting the Happy Baby Workout on Monday!!! I can’t wait to try it out! I get to play with Little Lady WHILE using her as weights! lol But seriously, it’s all about lifting your baby up in the air, squatting with her, doing leg lifts while she is on your legs, push ups over her so you can play and talk to her! I’m pretty excited about it!

Whatcha Thinkin?

