Cleavage and Kilts

Welcome to my Wonderful Week of Guest Bloggers!  I needed some well deserved time off from blogging to recharge my brain and deal with some issues that have come up.  I wanted to reserve the very first spot for Menopausal Mother.  She is one of my very favorite bloggers and we are also good friends!  Facebook actually decided that it would send friend requests on behalf of people, and apparently the powers that be have excellent judgement in thinking we could be great friends!  Anyone who would happen to witness some of our Facebook chat conversations would probably either shake their head in disbelief, laugh hysterically, or call the mental health professionals to take us away to the funny farm!  If we ever got together in real life, the world may very well never be the same!  Marcia Doyle blogs under the pseudonym Menopausal Mother.  Here is a little bit about her blog:Menopausal Mother’s blog is the musings on the good, the bad and the ugly side of menopausal mayhem. She feels like a thirty-something woman trapped inside the body of a middle-aged, menopausal mama. Laughter is her best defense against the aging process. If you like off-the-wall humor, then be sure to visit this hostess of the nut house at  http://Menopausalmother.blogspot.com

    I’ll admit it. I’m a renaissance geek. When the Ren-Fest comes to town every year, I don my diva princess gown and dust off the pirate costumes and kilts. The Hubs is not as enthusiastic about going, but after several yards of ale, he gets right into character and joins the pub sing. If you’ve ever wanted to step into a time travel machine and be transported back to the renaissance era, this is the festival for you. If you like cleavage and kilts, drinking and debauchery, you’ll want to pack your corset and bloomers and move right into their encampment.
601346_562104687147000_1234162558_n
Diva princess enjoying a naughty libation.
    There is nothing more entertaining to me than seeing the Hubs in a manly pirate costume, smuggling his bottle of rum in a Hello Kitty backpack when he enters the festival.
IMG_0729
Who wants rum? Meow!
   There’s never a dull moment at these yearly events, because you never know what to expect. First of all, you have to prepare yourself for the privies, because you may encounter this:
IMG_0719

Not a fun place to be at the end of the day when it’s 80 degrees outside.

IMG_0412

Poop ladies on patrol!
     After seeing THAT, you’ll need a libation.
12251_562156343808501_1727876676_n
Did they really have frozen mojitos back in the renaissance days?
     After drinking a few of those, you might start seeing this:
MM Guest Blog Pix
There’s plenty of things to see and do at the renaissance festival: jousting, mud shows, ax throwing, fairies, men in tights, armored warriors, toothless people performing comedy acts and more fairy-dusted cleavage than a Playboy magazine.
     If you are calorie conscious, you’d better skip the Ren-Fest and stick to your treadmill. It wouldn’t be a renaissance festival without the traditional turkey legs, corn on the cob and deep fried EVERYTHING.
    When the sun starts to set on the land of Lords and Ladies, the tipsier patrons stumble out of the festival, discard their alter egos and return to 2013. I’m always a little sad when the troupe packs up their tents and leaves town after their six week stint.
IMG_0683
This guy REALLY stepped out of his time warp comfort zone!
     If a renaissance festival ever comes to your town, dust off that Halloween princess dress, show off some cleavage and enjoy a bit of debauchery. Huzzah!
47 thoughts on “Cleavage and Kilts

  1. This looks like a heck of a lot of fun! I love that Marcia’s husband is down with the fun as well! I really wanted to see that Hello Kitty backpack filled with rum though!! haha!! Way to kick off the guest posts! Good job girls!!

  2. There is a huge Ren fest in Kansas City every year, but we never went because my dad thought it was ‘inappropriate’ for kids. Probably something to do with all the cleavage and aIe? Tthere is one in Indianapolis though, so maybe I’ll eventually make it to one!

  3. That was awesome Marcia. I love that picture of you – hubba, hubba!! I really liked the Captain Jack look a like. Sounds like a fabulous time!!

    Penny at Green Moms and Kids

    • I’m tellin’ ya, Queen–you gotta spread your wings a bit and go to one–of all people I think you would enjoy it immensely! Next time you are visiting down south, I’d be happy to take you to one!

  4. Talk about a title! One of my favorites to date! But I’ve also realized that, this whole I’ve been reading you, you’ve reminded me of someone. I couldn’t put my finger on it, but learning about your affinity for the Ren-Fen helped: you are the woman–whom I LOVED–that I worked with at my first high school. No wonder I love you!

  5. We do have a Renascence Festival that comes to Michigan every year. It is across state though and I have never had the opportunity to go. Not only does it seem like a cool experience and good time, I think the photo opportunities would be great. I loved your photos here. I am going to have to make a more concerted effort to make it one of these times. Thanks for sharing the experience.

  6. Pingback: Doggone Weekly Wrap-Up | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

  7. Pingback: The Squirrel Whisperer | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

