Confessions of a So-So Easter Bunny

IMG_1907

This is from a couple of years ago, but isn’t she an adorable bunny?  She’s not the so-so one, that’s me…

I hope you all had a Happy Easter.  I think that the PPs would be laughing hysterically at me.  After all, I didn’t even do anything remotely pinnable for Pinterest this year.  Not even much in years past.  The last couple of years I have done well if I get my container of plastic Easter eggs out and let my kids play with them.  While this blog post is probably a couple of days later than it should be, I DID post something on Easter featuring some VERY funny Easter related things I found on the internets.

But now I have a few Easter confessions…

1)  We didn’t go to church.  I wholeheartedly acknowledge the reason behind WHY we have Easter, and it has nothing to do with bunnies or eggs.  Yet Easter, like Christmas, is one of those holidays that people who don’t go to church any other time show up.  I’m not judging, we all know that I miss church way more than I probably should because one of us is sick or hasn’t slept in eight days straight.  I’m still a Christian, unless you want to take away my Church card for that.

2)  We didn’t color eggs.  This is because no one really seemed to care.  Things were so busy leading up to the holiday that there was little time and not one little person became excited when we spoke of it.  I wanted to do the all natural dying thing where you use things like turmeric, beet juice, etc, but had a hard time finding some of what I needed.  Maybe next year!

Photo from Frontier Natural Product Co-Op

Photo from Frontier Natural Product Co-Op

The picture above is what I wanted to do this year.  Here is the link to the Frontier  website.  I have since filed it away in my brain for future reference.  Don’t laugh, I really do have a functioning brain somewhere in this head of mine.

3)  I delayed my children’s instant gratification.  Easter morning Princess Gimme got up waaaaaaay before anyone else and begged me to come downstairs.  “There are eggs all around” she announced.  I had to burst her bubble.  “We’re not looking for them until your brother gets up.”  This did not sit well with her, seeing as her brother could sleep all day every day if he wanted.  I let him sleep in a little bit longer, and of course she did not die.

4)  Our own mini Easter egg hunt really sucked.  This was because the Easter Bunny didn’t plan ahead this year.  There were not lots of little things to put in eggs like in years past, and this bunny WAS NOT going to give the kids loads of candy.  However, the bunny did pick out some awesome lego sets for the kids.  These sets were so awesome that I didn’t think the kids were going to put them down long enough to eat breakfast, and they also made it hard for The Professor to want to leave for our Easter brunch.

Honestly, we’ve never had a great Easter egg hunt.  Our yard is basically mud this time every year, and getting my children to go outside is always interesting anyway.  And speaking of Easter egg hunts, does anyone ever think of Gilmore Girls whenever it comes to Easter?  You know, the episode where Kirk hides all of the eggs for the egg hunt?  Raw, uncooked eggs… While I did not find what I was looking for, I DID find a clip of his speech.

5) I recycle.  In other words, I have reused the same Easter baskets every year.  No one has noticed.

6)  We went to a truckstop for Easter dinner.  No seriously, we planned this.  We all, as in my parents, my sister and her family, and me, live a bit of a ways from each other.  We started trying to meet up somewhere in the middle a couple of years ago.  It works out pretty well.

7)  Evil Genius spent Easter afternoon tormenting various members of his family.  I should have taken video, but then there would have been evidence.  The icing on the cake was when he put Princess Gimme up on top of a shelf…

8)  Our Easter supper came from a drive through.  This was because it was after 7 pm and we still weren’t home yet.  At least I had a salad.

9)  I was tired.  I spent the next day recovering from our time off, because that’s how that stuff works, apparently.

10)  And the BIG confession:  This Easter was especially hard for me to get inspired.  It took me awhile to figure out why, other than just being busy.  Then it dawned on me, and I feel silly for not realizing it sooner. Last year Easter Sunday was a terrible day for my family.  I woke up early to get things ready for the kids for Easter, only to come downstairs and find that my beloved kitty had passed away.  There was no warning.  Even though he was an old kitty, up until that moment seemed to be in good health.  He had simply expired under the table in the kitchen.  I had to wake Evil Genius up to bury him in the backyard before the kids woke up.  This began a long sad time for me without my loving kitty cat that could never get enough love from us.  I cried for what seemed like months.  Since then we have talked and talked and talked about about getting another cat, but for every cat that we have liked there has been some reason that it would not work out.  Either the cat had health problems, was only available with another cat as a buddy, we don’t have the money to cover the fees, or the cat doesn’t like dogs.  This particular cat we had was the gentlest most kind cat on the face of the earth that put up with everything, including being laid upon by children and picked on by our antisocial kitty.  It’s hard to find a combination of personality traits like he had.

Isn’t it funny how we get so attached to animals?  This one was very special, and he provided a lot of comic relief to our family.

I still get a little sad when I see pictures of our kitty, he was such a sweet cat.  This is a typical picture of him, getting his 23 hours a day of sleep.

I still get a little sad when I see pictures of our kitty, he was such a sweet cat. This is a typical picture of him, getting his 23 hours a day of sleep.

So forgive me, oh gods of parenting, if I did not produce the perfect Easter for my kids.  I’ll try harder next year.  Maybe.

62 thoughts on “Confessions of a So-So Easter Bunny

  1. Thank you for sharing, Sarah. I’m sorry about your kitty. That part brought tears to my eyes. We have 2 beloved kitties and I do not look forward to their passing. If it makes you feel better, we didn’t do much for Easter for the kids either. We went to church and they got to help out and my hubby bought them candy at the dollar store. They liked it. We also instituted the you can eat as much candy as you want as long as you don’t make yourself sick rule. Lol! Love reading your blog! 🙂

  2. OH, Sarah, I’m so sad to hear about your kitty 😦 😦 My dogs were my first babies and I’ll be devastated when they’re gone. And so what you (we?!) weren’t the perfect Easter bunny–Easter is about family and faith, and you’ve got enough of that to go around, recycled baskets and all 😉 Hugs!

  3. Oh so sorry about you cat and very true how we do get attached. That said Easter sounds like it went off ok and think everyone ended up having a good day, but like you said there is always next year!!

  4. My son and I had planned to go to church (we are the only church goers in the family) but I slept in. And I handed my kids each a plastic baggy with an assortment of chocolates. That was pretty much our Easter!

  5. What IS IT with sick cats today?? I did my cancer post, you did this, and my Facebook friend posted that her cat is about to die this morning!

  6. You know what Sarah? Easter isn’t about hype ~ it’s about spending time with the people who matter most and celebrating the fact that we get a shot at eternal life. I personally LOVE that you recycle the baskets (but you knew I would right?) and I’m so sorry about your kitty. My beloved Riley died while my youngest was just a baby and I was inconsolable for a long time. The fact that you all get to be together is what makes it special and Pinterest just can’t do that for you!! {hugs}

    • Well said. And surprisingly a lot of people recycle their baskets!

      Kitties are special critters. Shockingly, the dog DOES NOT fill the void that the cat left. Not to mention he’s a moose. Our cat was a moose, but for a cat!

  7. Don’t feel bad at all. I’ve been traumatized about Easter most of my life (I even wrote a post about it on my old blog). Because Collin is special needs and some of these holiday things – he just doesn’t ‘get’ them, we put more effort into the things he loves. Sunday, hubby and a friend of his from work took Collin out on the ATVs til it got hot. I stayed home and baked a honey glazed ham, mashed potatoes and cheese soaked cauliflower. Then we hid a few candy filled plastic eggs and taught him how to hunt for them. He actually started to understand this year, so next year, we’ll probably go all out and do the community egg hunt and stuff.

    Sorry about the kitty. ;( I hope another wonderful little furry soul finds their way into your world. 🙂

    • To date I believe we have done one community Easter egg hunt. It was sponsored by my husband’s work at the time. Ezra was two and I was on crutches, needless to say it wasn’t a very good time. Maybe that’s a good thing we haven’t done any more!

  8. What a cuddly kitty. I cry for months over our pets too…sometimes even years. I totally get that grief.

    I think meeting at a truck stop is a great idea. No dishes and you get to see family. That is what I like to call win-win.

    I just watched the Easter episode of Gilmore girls and thought about it all day long. It’s funny that you would mention it!

  9. No matter what we did (do) for Easter, Christmas, Thanksgiving–you get the idea–it never seems to be enough. I would tell you that it gets better, but……

  10. It’s always hard to get over the death of a loved one. Even today, I remember my friends from the past with love in my heart. The love they give so unselfishly is amazing. Sounds like your Easter was like many others. It’s almost like the magic has gone out of holidays because of all the marketing involved prior to them. Still, holidays are more for kids, so as long as they’re happy …

  11. Your cat looked like the real live Stripey Kitten – our Joey’s beloved stuffed animal. I’m sorry about your sadness on Easter. Grief is really tricky. It rears it’s head behind us. We sense that it’s there, but we’re not sure what it is until it’s staring us in the face. Sending you a hug and a prayer that another little furry friend will find your family.

  12. I think you did a fine job for Easter and I’m sure your kids didn’t notice anything different–sounds like they a had a good time. Sorry to hear about your kitty–I lost one of my babies this year right before Christmas. You deserve to grieve as long as you need to. Maybe next year at this time it will be a little easier…

  13. I’m still pondering about the Easter basket thing….I had no idea you weren’t supposed to recycle them! We have always used the same basket!!! Also, if it makes you feel any better…to save money this year….my kids got some Valentine’s candy in their egg hunt eggs that I got off of clearance…..okay, I wasn’t going to tell anyone that but I felt I needed to make a confessional to make you feel better!!!! See, I’m a good friend like that!!!

    • When we were kids I just don’t remember having the same one every year. When I have done something different it’s been something useful-we have enough baskets already!

      I kept back a little money from my sub job just for Easter. I didn’t overdo it this year. One year I went crazy in the dollar section at Target!

  14. I went WAY overboard on Easter stuff, so I think we evened each other out. 🙂 And as far as truck stop dinners, well, Jim and I had our first official date at a Hen House. Romantic? Nope. Good bacon? Yep.

  15. Great post! In my opinion we can’t ever do too much for our children…so you go girl! We are on vacation so I did the very un-Easter-like thing of simply hitting CVS on our way down to Florida and unceremoniously let the kids pick out candy. They didn’t complain 🙂

  16. That grief is a sneaky sucker. I’m sorry to hear about your kitty. I would have been thrilled to spend Easter with our far away family, especially at a truck stop. I love me some diner food!

  17. Oh dude. I was so set on telling you that we did Easter even worse than you did. Crappy egg hunt? Check. Not into it? Check. Supposed to go away and stayed home (okay you didn’t do that but the crappy breakfast – ours was at Bob Evans ew, check), UNTIL I read about your cat. I’m so sorry 😦
    My dog is at about the same age…he’s failing and old and…I hope I have some warning. Huge hugs.

  18. Aww so sorry about your cat, I can totally see how your Easter was impacted. I colored eggs and we had chocolate bunnies…but I didn’t go to church or have an egg hunt either. It was just a long day of me in the kitchen making a big family meal that was over in less than 20 minutes!

  19. Hey you did better than me. I let my sisters mother-in-law do all the work. I just get out the camera, snap a great photo of the grandkids, and I have Easter and Mothers Day all wrapped up! Sorry, you did great. I mean it. Sorry about the kitty too, ours died last month, she was only 5. I’ve never had a pet die so young…….. but as I told the 7yo, we’ll see her again some day!

  20. oh no, I am deeply sorry about your kitten, we have a dog and I call him my first born.

    My hubby is one of those people who go to church only on holidays, my son and I go every week, unless one of us is gravely ill.

    OMG, that video clip…that is so me…SNORT! I LAUGHED SO HARD.

  21. People who never have pets don’t get the amount of grief that you feel when one leaves you. I dread the day our two labs leave us. When my childhood pet died, her “brother” died one day later. I still think from grief.
    As for Easter, sounds like you did pretty damn good to me! I was just glad the chocolate didn’t melt in the sun!! 🙂

  22. Ugh. This post was going along so well and then you punched me in the gut with the kitty stuff! I’m so sorry you lost your cat. I love my dogs more than most people in this world, and I can’t imagine how I would feel if anything happened to them. I’m sorry you had to deal with that, and I’m even more sorry it happened on such a holiday last year. 😦

    At least you had truck stop food this year.

  23. Aww, the kitty was a beauty. It is hard to find the perfect personality in a pet and always a treasure when we do.

    The truck stop idea is a good one if it’s a decent distance for everyone. I’m glad there was a way for you all to work that out. 🙂

  24. Oh honey ~ I’m sorry. I totally feel for you here. Reagan and I went yesterday in fact to look at adopting a kitty and I just couldn’t do it. There were two cats in the adoption center that looked exactly like Kenzie and Harvick and I felt like I would have been cheating on them to take home a cute, spunky little kitty named Panda. We do develop such emotional attachments to our animals. I am so sad that I don’t have mine every day. I know in time it will get easier but it still sucks. Until then, Rey can manage with her beta fish.

    Thank you for linking to Raising Imperfection.
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured. 🙂

    ¤´¨)
    ¸.•*´
    (¸¤ Lanaya | xoxo
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

  25. Aww, your kitty looks a lot like my kitty that we recently lost. 😦 It is heartbreaking when you lose a loved pet.

    Thanks for sharing your favorite post at Raising Imperfection! We feature our favorites on Friday, make sure to come back and check.
    Leslie

Whatcha Thinkin?

