She Got “Rounded Up”

All ready to be "rounded up".

All ready to be “rounded up”.

Preparations began for the next school year these last couple of weeks.  One of these things was my son’s IEP meeting where we reviewed his education plan for the next year.  The other thing that took place was the long anticipated Kindergarten Roundup for The Princess.

One day back before Christmas I happened to be at the school and actually happened to remember to give them her information (a good parent probably would have done this a long time ago). At the end of February I got a letter in the mail about Kindergarten Roundup.  Then me being the fabulous Mom that I am I forgot to sign her up.  Luckily they know me all too well and were sure to call me and tell me which day and time they could fit us in.

This is a good thing.  She has been home with me for the most part this past year.  She’s bored, though she would never admit it.  She needs a challenge.  Mommy can only do so much to get her interested in learning.  Sometimes I feel like if I could jump into the TV she might be more interested in something besides playing Hello Kitty legos.

As it drew closer to the much anticipated day of Roundup, she experienced a whole range of emotions from excitement to total fear of what was going to take place.

First she was just bubbling over with excitement.  “I get to go to KINDERGARTEN in a couple of weeks!”  She thought she would get to start going immediately following the roundup, but I had to keep reminding her that this was only a day to go in and visit.

Later on in the same week she changed her mind and informed me.  “I don’t think I want to go to Kindergarten anymore, I just want to stay home with you.”
This surprised me.  “Why?”
“Because I would just miss you too much.”

Then a few days later she said “I guess Kindergarten would be fun.  I’ll go.”
Again I’m surprised.  “What made you change your mind?”
“Well you’ll be there too.  In my room, just like Preschool.”
“No honey, I won’t be in your room.  Most likely not even in your school.”
“OH.  Never mind.”

Then The Professor came bringing his artwork home from the Art Fair.  Since he’s on an IEP, we didn’t have his conference until the meeting and naturally I forgot all about the whole fair thing.
The Princess could not take her eyes off of the art.  “You have Art in school?” she asked curiously.
“Yes!”  He replied
“And you had it in KINDERGARTEN?”  She asked, excitement creeping into her voice.
“Uh-huh.” He answered.
Apparently that settled it.  She ran over to me all excited “Mommy, I want to go to Kindergarten and do ART!”
Just to be sure she’s still with the program we have displayed the artwork predominantly at the top of the stairs.

The Professor shows off his artwork.

The Professor shows off his artwork.

The day of the round up arrived and she was ready to go the second she bounced out of bed.  All I heard all morning.  “When are we going to Kindergarten?  Is it time for the round up?  When do I get to be rounded up?”

I really wonder if she thought it was going to be like cowboys rounding up cows or something.  It’s more like herding cats.  I know because I’ve done it.

She was also very put out that I had to brush her hair.  At this point she almost changed her mind about going.  Yes honey, when you get ready to go to school you have to have your hair brushed EVERY DAY!  Gee mom, say it ain’t so!

When we arrived at the school, she bounded in.  I think she was thinking that she would come to the door and they would announce her presence.  “PRE-SENT-ING her highness Princess Tantrum!”  Other little girls would appear and they would run off together and play in a pink castle.  No-she had to go with her mom, to the school library and WAIT.

This was where she got cold feet.  She found her nametag, let me put it on her dress and that was that.  She climbed on my lap and wrapped herself around me like a boa constrictor.  “I’m not going, I’m going to stay here with you.”

CRAP!  Where is a tea party set and willing playmates when I need it?

Luckily for me, the teacher that The Professor had in Kindergarten was helping with the round up.  I thought that was nice since she is retiring at the end of the school year.  While the principal was starting her spiel to the parents, she came in and started talking to The Princess. This calmed Princess Tantrum down, and when it was time to go down to the classrooms she practically skipped out with her.

An hour and a half later, I went down to retrieve her and was informed with a wink from The Professor’s former teacher that she was indeed ready.  Like there was any doubt.

And just in case there was, we got the letter in the mail that she will be a Kindergartener in the fall.  Sorry kid, there’s no turning back now.  I hope someone is going to warn the art teacher.

All rounded up.

All rounded up.

53 thoughts on “She Got “Rounded Up”

  1. Oh she is too cute and think she will do fine. I was so afraid when Emma started pre-school this past fall, but she loves it now and actually asks to go on the days she doesn’t have school!! 🙂

    • The first one NEEDED school so badly because of his issues, I do admit that I’m a little torn over the whole thing. I’m happy that she’s excited but also sad because she’s the last one. My husband keeps saying that he can change that. Um, no.

  2. Your kiddos are just the cutest. What an amazing artist the Professor is. He has to be SO proud of that. And the Princess will LOVE Kindergarten. I wish I could go back to that time for a little bit – I really miss my “little” guy (he’s 6 ft tall and about to turn 14) being that young!

  3. Bency was very ho-hum about starting Kindergarten…he wasn’t scared, he wasn’t excited..he had the same expression as if you were telling him he was going to the grocery store. However, when he found out there was actual “art class” he was over the moon! It’s been kind of let down for him though because it’s only twice a week for an hour. I think he was expecting it to be every day all day long!

  4. They are both too cute for words! You are much stronger than I think I will be. I get terrified sending my babies off on playdates with the babysitter. I miss them soooo much. And they seem just fine without me. 😦 Ah, this pesky circle of life.

  5. I cracked up when I saw that they knew you so they knew they had to remind you!! I forget about art fairs, etc…all the time. It is why Allie forced me onto the PTA 🙂

  6. She looks so incredibly excited and happy in that last photo, thank you for sharing. My oldest is about to head into preschool and i am happy and sad to! Stay strong, it sounds like she will do great!

  7. Oh the mixed emotions- it’s so hard to watch them ride that roller coaster and to get pulled along as well, right? I’m so glad it turned out well. Kindergarten is such a beautiful experience for them. And as a mom every single thing they make or tell you about is adorable, right? Now if only they’d learn to love having their hair done as much…
    Vicky
    P.S. The new page looks AWESOME!! I’m glad I was able to sign up to follow you and got to see it in tip top working order today. Way to go!

  8. Love the new look on here! 😀
    I’m glad your princess has warmed up to the idea of school. Art (and recess) are great selling points! 😉

  9. She is going to be amazing! I feel the same way with Reagan ~ sometimes I don’t think I challenge her enough because she wants to learn so much all the time…SHE’S TWO! Agh …

    Thank you for linking to Raising Imperfection.
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured. 🙂

    ¤´¨)
    ¸.•*´
    (¸¤ Lanaya | xoxo
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

  10. This is adorable!!! But it makes me so sad to think that I am going to have to go through this one day with my little bear. I have a feeling she will be fine with it. I’ll be the issue. It must be so difficult to let go!!!!!! Here’s hoping her first year is awesome!!!!

Whatcha Thinkin?

