Mama’s Got A Brand New Blog (Sort of): The Weekly Wrap-Up

edit your faceIn case you haven’t noticed, things are looking a lot different around here.

It all started a few weeks ago when I poured my heart out to the world along with a great quote from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.  I got lots of advice, as well as offers of help to tweak my blog.  Then someone accepted a blogging award from me and had no idea what to call me.

I’d had enough of just being Sadder Wiser in the Google realm and revealed myself to the world as me.  Then I started seriously looking at fixing up the ole’ blog.  I asked questions, and I am so glad I did.  I got some great help and advice!  The look here is the end result.  I’ve had many, many compliments on it.  I keep getting on here just to look at it.  It’s just so pretty…

Needless to say, it’s a ton of work to switch things around.  And I wanted to be careful to keep the nice clean look of what I have.  Therefore I have spent a TON of time on the computer trying to get it all set up so that it works for me.  My children most likely think I’m addicted to something on here.

I also got my best views ever on a post, and it was even for real.  The last time I had over 300 views it was because WordPress had changed things around, and I misunderstood how the whole thing with pictures worked.  This is very exciting to me, even if I did plummet back to my normal number of views the next day.

I also wrote some blog posts this week!

Monday  I’ve Gone Visiting, Come on Over and See Me Day 1 of two days being away from my blog home.

Tuesday  More Traveling, Please Come See Me!  My second guest post for the week.  However technology almost had its way with my friend’s blog.  It all worked out in the end, though!

Wednesday  She Got “Rounded Up” All about our Kindergarten Roundup experience.

Thursday  Theme Thursday:  More Dr Evil Than Dr Phil.  Evil Genius proves that he is the worst advice giver ever.  PERIOD.

Friday  April Secret Subject Swap Take Two:  When I Grow Up  Luckily I had already written about this previously!  What if you STILL don’t know what you want to be???

Best and Most Disturbing Search Terms

Kind of a slow week for this.  I expect better of the weird people next week!

Help I’ve peed my pants!  Is this sort of like the “I’ve fallen and can’t get up” lifeline things?  Is it sad that I’m laughing at the mental image of someone frantically googling this after peeing their pants?

Pain frog  Even I had to Google this one.  I have no idea.

Powered stool softener Sounds painful! Wonder what it’s powered WITH?  I looked this one up too, again no idea…

Next week:

I can’t say that I have a plan like I could last week. Sigh… I WILL be guest posting for Lisa over at Seriously?! on Tuesday because I get around!  I also JUST finished “I Just Want To Pee Alone” and hope to have the review finished here before the weekend is out!  At the end of the week is the next installment of “Fly on the Wall”-I just put the finishing touches on “The Naked Cat Edition”.  Hope I’ll be able to top my Michael Bolton edition from last month!

penguin cat

18 thoughts on “Mama’s Got A Brand New Blog (Sort of): The Weekly Wrap-Up

  1. I really do love the new blog design and know what you mean that doing updates and changing things around really does become addicting and I am constantly tweaking and my husband and kids think I am insane, too!! 🙂

  2. Love the new design…looking good girl. I must say your attitude is right on…and I should propably follow in your footsteps…but I’m just too lazy. As a cat lover myself…I must say I loved your choice of pictures…freaking great.

    • Thank you! If it helps, I chose a theme that I figured I’d get the most use out of, mainly one that you could put in your own custom header and background picture, as well as widget friendly and a menu across the top. The one I picked I believe was 2010 or 2011. I highly recommend it! While it’s a pain to do it, the results of changing themes is WELL worth it!

  3. I absolutely LOVE hanging out here and this new design is anything but sad!! You are like a breath of fresh air and I always enjoy your posts.

  4. I totally love the new look!! And I love that you kept it clean. I get really overwhelmed when blogs have stuff flashing and bleeping and moving all over. It looks wonderful and accentuates your FABULOUS writing!! I’m so glad I finally got a clue and signed up to have you delivered to my email rather than just popping over!! You’re awesome!
    Vicky
    http://www.thepursuitofnormal.blogspot.com
    p.s. I am thinking of joining the secret subject swap. I’ve chatted with Karen but I”m scared to take the plunge. Is it so hard?

Whatcha Thinkin?

