Fly on the Wall April 2013: The Naked Cat Edition

fly

Welcome to a Fly on the Wall group post. Today 12 brave bloggers are inviting you to catch a glimpse of what you’d see if you were a fly on the wall in our homes. Come on in, sit a spell, and buzz around my house:

The Professor:  “When I grow up, I want to work where my Dad works.”
Me:  “You want to be an engineer!  That’s great!”
The Princess:  “Me too!  I want to be THE WOMAN.”

Princess:  “Mommy when I grow up I want to be as old as you.”

Princess:  “Mommy, I want to be just like you when I grow up!”
Me:  “Really?”
Princess:  “Yes!  That way I can wear your hair things.”

I was telling Evil Genius all about the big fluffy orange kitty I saw on the way home.
Evil Genius:  “I still want a Maine Coon cat!”
Me: “Oh me too, they are just nice cats.”
The Professor:  “What’s a Maine Coon?  Is it one of those cats without hair?”
Evil Genius:  “No, that’s a Sphinx.”
The Professor:  “Oh that’s good.  I don’t want to see a naked cat.”

He doesn't want any naked cats in our house!

He doesn’t want any naked cats in our house!

The Princess is going through a phase where EVERYTHING little is cute.  I mean everything… animals, toys, chairs, etc.  She says it’s because since they are little they are babies and babies are cute.  Yesterday I heard her cooing in the kitchen.  “Ohhhhhh, that is sooooo cute!  Awwwwww.”
I thought maybe the cardinal we had been seeing was back in the yard.  “What’s cute?”
The Princess:  “The pepperoni minis!  They are sooooo little and adorable!”  She’s a weird kid.

Princess: “Is Daddy coming home soon?”
Me:  “He stopped by his boss’s house.  He’ll be home later.”
Princess:  “Is Daddy going to a sleepover?”

Me:  “We have a winter storm watch starting tomorrow with a 90 percent chance of precipitation.  The one that didn’t do much had 100 percent chance of participation.”
Evil Genius:  “Precipitation, not participation.”
Me:  “Well it did participate, it just didn’t precipitate much.”

The kids are watching Paranorman.  The Princess suddenly turns to Evil Genius and asks, “Daddy, are we allowed to laugh?”

I’m informed by Evil Genius as I walk into the room that the kids told him he had to go get a dead rat downstairs in the basement.  I freak out for a second, then I ask “Is it really a rat?”
Evil Genius:  “I don’t know.  They said it was between this big (puts his hands about an inch apart) or this big (spreads his hands several feet apart.)”
Thank goodness it was just a mouse.

Basketball championship season:
The best game we ever watched?  The one where one of the main team players had the last name “Aenema”, pronounced like enema.  The comments made in our household were priceless:
“How ironic is it that guy is blocking!”
“He really cleaned out the competition!”
“I bet everything comes out ok in this game!”

I heard them announce the teams playing-I got all excited that one of them was called the “Warlocks”.  My husband told me that they were actually the “Warhawks”.  I was very sad.

Daddy and The Princess choose their NCAA Brackets.

Daddy and The Princess choose their NCAA Brackets.

Apparently, cannibalism is practiced in the land of Hello Kitties:  One day as I brought the laundry upstairs to the Princess’s room, she told me she wanted to show me all of her Hello Kitties.  She introduced them all to me-there was the Mommy, the Daddy, brothers, sisters, etc.
And what were they eating?  A Hello Kitty head.

Conversation at dinner over Safari Animal Chicken Nuggets:
The Princess: (eats a giraffe) “I ate his brain!”
The Professor: No you didn’t eat his brain, you ate his head!”
The Princess: “Now he’s howling at you.”
The Professor: “Noooooo, he can’t howl at me because you ate his brain. If you ate his brain he can’t function. He’s brain dead.”
Ah, the dreamer versus the logical…

Princess:  Mommy, Mommy, look what I did!
Me:  Just a minute, I need to find some ibuprofen.
Princess:  What do you need IBooPumpkin for?

The Princess:  “Mommy, your legs look like a carseat!”

Surprisingly, both kids sat through “The Hobbit”.  The Princess made it through about 3/4 of the movie, The Professor made it through the whole thing.
The Princess:  “That guy has a sword.”
ME:  “Yup.”
The Princess: “I’m thinking he’s either going to use it to fight some bad guys or cut up his food.”

She said she was a rainbow, making sure I knew that even her underwear was rainbow colored.

She said she was a rainbow, making sure I knew that even her underwear was rainbow colored.

Today is Evil Genius’s birthday, followed by my birthday on Mayday, and then the Princess’s birthday on May 6th.  You can bet we’ll have some good birthday stuff to put on next month’s Fly on the Wall: The Birthday Edition!  Happy EVIL GENIUS DAY!

Now click on these links for a peek into some other homes:

http://www.BakingInATornado.com                                 

http://www.justalittlenutty.com/                                     

http://followmehome.shellybean.com                             

 http://stacysewsandschools.wordpress.com/                   

https://sadderbutwiser.wordpress.com                             

http://menopausalmother.blogspot.com/                         

http://mooreorganizedmayhem.blogspot.com/                 

http://hypnoticbard.blogspot.com/                                  

http://smn0409.blogspot.com/                                       

http://www.tinystepsmommy.com                                 

http://www.outsmartedmommy.com                              

www.therowdybaker.com

60 thoughts on “Fly on the Wall April 2013: The Naked Cat Edition

    • HA HA! I guess I should have clarified that one. When I sit on the couch with the blanket over my legs, a lot of the time I will put my legs up while I’m reading. Apparently she thinks that looks like a carseat. She’s also taken her toys and had them go “up and down the mountain” while I’m reading. SHe’s a weird kid.

  1. I’d pass on the naked cats too but it’s good to know about Hello Kitty. I knew deep inside something was just a little off about such happy felines.
    I LOVE her outfit!!! Some days I feel like a rainbow too. 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday to Evil Genius and if I didn’t do Finish The Sentence Friday, I could so link up so much of the crazy that gets said and done here, too!! Seriously, felt oddly right at home with your post today, lol!! 🙂

  3. Your kids are so funny! The naked cat comment (great title, btw!) the brainless chicken nuggets and the cannibal Hello Kitties….it truly is scary how much you and I think alike–I would have chosen these same quotes because most are so off the wall, they’re PERFECT! XO

  4. My neighbor has a naked cat and let me tell you it isn’t pretty. Thing scares me every single time I see it so I am with the Professor on that one! I’m with the kids any type of rodent automatically gets labeled a rat in my book. Great post. Thanks for inviting us in.

  5. You know I love your family! Your kids have such personalities. For some reason, every photo of The Professor makes me laugh out loud. He’s such a ham.

    And he’s right; I don’t want a naked cat either. He’s such a modest guy.

  6. Oh my goodness, the antics of your house are just funny. The giraffe brain is probably my favorite.

    Thank you for linking up to Raising Imperfection! We appreciate you taking the time to link up, make sure to check back on Friday when we feature out favorites.
    Leslie

  7. Reagan is going through a “it’s so cute” stage too … and the naked cat is awesome! I wouldn’t want a naked cat either.

    Thank you for linking to Raising Imperfection.
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured. 🙂

    ¤´¨)
    ¸.•*´
    (¸¤ Lanaya | xoxo
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

  8. I’ll bet a naked cat would take care of the mice in the basement and it if it’s little, it would be another thing that “so cute”. Hello Kitty!!

  9. How cute is Princess? “Is Daddy going for a sleepover?” Told all my workmates in the office over here in Australia about your blog and the laughs i get from your kids! Haha! 🙂
    Sorry i took so long to get to this post, I am seriously behind!

Whatcha Thinkin?

