Theme Thursday: Qapla’!

Theme ThursdayTheme Thursday is where it’s at.  Every week several very talented bloggers test out their mad skillz and write their take on a certain topic and then link their posts up at Something Clever 2.0.  In other words, for a good time, call Jenn.  She’ll hook you up with all these fabulous writers.

This week’s topic is all about what makes you proud. 

(Yeah, yeah.  I know it’s almost Friday and I’m just now posting this.  I had something I had to take care of, more explanation about that will come later.  So call me fashionably late…)

Qapla’ is the Klingon word for success, and me being the geek that I am, I had to work it into this post somehow.  Yes, I have some successes in my life, and those therefore are things that I’m very proud of!  The following is a comprehensive list…

IMG_1439My husband

Why am I proud of Evil Genius?  He took a negative situation and turned it into something positive.  After one factory closing and rumblings of trouble at the one he was hired at next, he decided enough was enough.  He went back to school to be a Mechanical Engineer.  Going to school when you have a family is not easy, but he made it work and graduated at the end of 2011.  The next month he started as an intern at a company that makes agricultural sprayers and was hired on full-time in no time flat.  And yes, he’s still there, being all kinds of evil and genius and all that whatnot…

My writing

I guess it all does sound kind of impressive.  I’ve been blogging for almost a year and have lots to show for it.  I’m not saying that all of my posts have been award winning, but I am quite prolific and manage to keep a pretty consistently high quality of posts.  I’ve rubbed elbows with The Bearded Iris and The Domestic Diva.  I’ve been featured on Aiming Low and was lucky enough to write for The Epistolarians.  While I may not exactly be rolling in the dough right now, perhaps on down the line something will happen.  Maybe I can make, oh I don’t know, five or six bucks?

IMG_1259My kids

While my kids may not be perfect by any means, I am proud of the people that they are becoming.  They both have definite personalities and each have their very own sense of humor.  They provide constant fodder for my writing, and that’s all good.  🙂

The work in progress

I can’t exactly say that I’m proud of me, but I’d like to think that I’m a work in progress.  Kind of like Windows, I’m working on a better me for tomorrow.  A successful tomorrow?  Could be.  I don’t know, it hasn’t been written yet.

Thanks for reading!  Don’t forget to follow the link at the top of this post to see what all of the other participants take pride in!

26 thoughts on “Theme Thursday: Qapla’!

  1. I don’t know why you can’t say that you’re proud of yourself. None of us are everything we want to be, we’d have nothing to work towards. But it’s OK to be proud of who you are so far.

  2. If you are proud of your kids and the people they are becoming, then you should be proud of yourself. You had a lot to do with why they are great!

  3. I’m proud of you. For your blog, and for creating those awesome kids and supporting the Evil Genius. Everything in this post, you had a hand in it.

  4. Wonderful! And you should be proud of all those things, especially the writing you’re doing and the wonderful kids that you are raising! Go you!

  5. Sarah, I can’t wait for the day when you can say the words “I’m proud of myself”. There are so many of us already standing in that line. I marvel at your family all the time – the strength, the humor and the love. And your writing always reflects that. By the way, knowing that word would make Sheldon Cooper so proud!!

  6. At first I was like, “What the hell is Qapla?!” I am so happy that you cleared that up. 🙂 You SHOULD Be proud, Sarah! Being a successful wife, mother and blogger takes a lot balance. Your happiness shines through in your writing and I enjoy reading what you have to say. It’s brought a bright spot to my mornings! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The Short and Sweet Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

  8. Dude. You have SO MUCH to be proud of, and I’m glad you realize it. Before I knew you I totally had a blog crush on you, and was so blown away by your “realness”. You are rockin and I know so many more great things are coming!

Whatcha Thinkin?

