Wordless Wednesday: BUBBLES!

Last year I did something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time: the kids and I made homemade bubbles!  When I first made up the batch, I didn’t realize that the bubbles had to sit overnight.  So when the kids tried to use them with the bubble wands, they didn’t work very well.

However, the next morning we found out that they were indeed not just good bubbles but GREAT bubbles.

IMG_0632Ever since, every time we make these, they don’t last very long!

IMG_0635The recipe we used is pretty simple.  I always double the recipe and put it in a jar that you would normally use for lemonade or iced tea so the kids can get their own bubbles easily.

HOMEMADE BUBBLES

  • 1 1/2 quarts of water
  • 1/2 cup light corn syrup
  • 1 cup liquid dish soap

Mix water and corn syrup until completely blended.
Slowly stir in soap.
Let sit overnight for best results.

Homemade bubbles Round 1A word to the wise:  Be sure the lid is on tight if you attempt to pick up the full container of bubbles, lest you wind up with a soapy mess!

Yesterday I did a guest post for my friend Michael over at An Old and Cranky Gamer, but it wound up being sandwiched between these two previously scheduled posts.  So if you missed it and would like some advice on how to relate to a female geek, click here to read my post.

55 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: BUBBLES!

  1. Pinned this for Kevin, because he keeps talking about trying to make homemade bubbles believe it or not and wants one that would make gigantic bubbles. So thank you for sharing the recipe here and seriously those were some awesome bubbles for sure!! 🙂

    • I’ve seen various versions of the recipe around for awhile-I kept hearing we needed glycerin to make bubbles. Yet I couldn’t find it around here. So I decided to finally try it with corn syrup. It worked. The kids go through it pretty fast but it’s great entertainment!

  2. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: BUBBLES! | Muses from the D...

  3. I am so annoyed with all of the bubble solutions we have bought–it’s so hard to get more than a couple of bubbles at a time from them–and even the couple of bubbles only come if I do it juuuust right. I’ve been thinking about making bubbles, but haven’t gotten around to ordering glycerin. I’m curious–do the kids get sticky after playing with bubbles made from corn syrup?

  4. We sometimes get so involved with the big expensive toys and gadgets that we forget how easy it can be to amuse our kids. Wish I had that recipe when my kids were little.

  5. Am I dorky to say that I have been itching for a “bubble” picture of my kids for waaayyy too long? They never work but these bubbles might be the trick for us. Trying it whenever summer decides to arrive and stay.

  6. It has been forever since we’ve made bubbles. Those are HUGE!! I love doing things that are easy, cheap and fun for the kids!!

  7. Thanks for the recipe, every once in awhile the boy decides to dump the gallon of bubbles I just bought from Target. It would be nice to know it didn’t cost much the next time he is feeling it.

  8. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up: The Pain in the Neck Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

