Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Car Tunes

Jen Kehl

This week’s Twisted Mixtape Tuesday has to be one of the scariest coincidences ever.  Jen and I had THE SAME IDEA at roughly the same time.  This is just more proof that we perhaps do share a brain.

The scene:  I’m driving in my car and I have the stereo blasting.  What am I singing along to?  Here is the top ten of the many, many songs you would hear me singing loudly and maybe (or maybe not) proudly:

Somebody to Love-Queen

Freddy Mercury left us all too soon.  Nobody can hit those notes like Freddy…
Surprised by this choice?  What do you think I’d be singing?  Bohemian Rhapsody?  Oh no, you must have multiple people in your car for that!

I Want It That Way-Backstreet Boys

I admit I was never a Backstreet Boys fan when they were popular.  I still have a hard time admitting that I listen to their stuff now.  I downloaded a bunch of their songs for Evil Genius, and started listening to them.  Now I can’t stop.  And they won’t get out of my head.  Dangit.

White Liar-Miranda Lambert

I remember when this song came out, Evil Genius told me that I had to hear the new song by Miranda Lambert.  Something about being annoyed with it at first but then not being able to stop singing it.  He was right.  You have to get the twangy voice just right when singing this one…

A Little Respect-Erasure

I never heard this song until I saw the scene from Scrubs when they played it in the operating room.  The song is not only extremely catchy and singable, but the video is fun with all the plays on words.

Bring Me To Life-Evanescence

I’m a HUGE Evanescence fan, it’s not unusual for me to be listening to something from Evanescence or Chevelle a good portion of the time.  This is probably the song I play and sing along to the most.  And yeah, I do both Amy Lee and Paul McCoy’s parts.

It’s the End of the World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)-REM

 Does anyone actually know all the words to this song besides the chorus???  I start off singing up to “Lenny Bruce is not afraid…” and then just start mumbling.

So What?-P!nk

This was my kids’ favorite song for a long time, so I could blast it without them caring, unlike other music that I like.  Why can’t we all be more like P!nk sometimes…

Cecilia-Simon and Garfunkel

So far I’ve not had my kids ask about the lyrics to this one.  Hopefully they won’t…

Jesus Take The Wheel-Carrie Underwood

My daughter still asks for the “Jesus Wheel” song sometimes…

Total Eclipse of the Heart-Bonnie Tyler

Who hasn’t belted this song out at one time or another in their car?  I mean, come on, it’s a CLASSIC!

Do you really think I could leave you without sharing what I believe to be the top car singing scene of all time?  I couldn’t stop without following up my Wayne’s World reference.  Just remember, if you’re gonna spew, spew in this (hands you a Dixie cup).

The Bohemian Rhapsody scene from Wayne’s World:

Click on the picture of the tapes at the top to visit Twisted Mixtape Tuesday over at Jen Kehl’s My Skewed View.  Then go drive around in your car and sing your heart out!

59 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Car Tunes

  1. This list is AWESOME! I have to admit that I kind of dig the Backstreet Boys too…it can’t be helped…they kinda rock…well when you are singing at the top of your lungs in your car! HAHAHAHAAAA

  2. Pingback: Twisted MixTape Tuesday #9 » JenKehl

  3. Oh my friend you do not disappoint. And I am jealous that you don’t have to play by the rules, I had Erasure on my long list but I hadn’t decided between Oh L’Amour, A Little Respect, Victim of Love or Sometimes. Because really, you basically can’t go wrong with Erasure on this list. And I totally agree with Bohemian Rhapsody, from Wayne’s World specifically! Thank you so much for the Mind Meld, love this topic. Now tell Evil Genius to BRING IT! Also thank him for getting The Backstreet Boys stuck in my head 🙂

  4. Awesome list, especially Erasure. So many of their songs are great to belt out in the car! But my favorite is Cecilia – I’m going to listen and sing it right now!

  5. Pingback: Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Car Tunes | Muses from...

  6. Bohemian Rhapsody! Would you believe the first time I ever heard that song was when I went with a few 7th grader girlfriends to go see Wayne’s World? When my friend’s dad picked us up we told him about the “awesome new song” that we had just heard. We were so green! 🙂
    http://mondaysnugget.com/

  7. Bohemian Rhapsody! Would you believe the first time I herd that song was in 7th grade when some friends and I went to see Wayne’s World at the theater? When my friend’s dad came to pick us up we kept talking about “the new song” we just heard! We were so green. 🙂
    http://www.mondaysnugget.com/

  8. You can sing Bring me to Life? Respect, sista! It’s funny, the first song that came to mind was Bohemian Rhapsody, kind of wish I participated, this seems like fun!

  9. Love Jesus Take the Wheel and just this week, I may or may not have had my kids running around IKEA trying to find the speaker because I heard Total Eclipse of the Heart faintly in the background… Great Post!

    • Carrie Underwood is another favorite of mine, which is in direct contrast to a lot of the stuff I listen to. I also love “So Small” and “He is Good”, which didn’t make the list because I had to narrow it down and pick one song per artist!

  10. Holy crap! Love this list. I had forgotten about Erasure, who I listened to repeatedly in college. And Total Eclipse of the Heart – there were three or four of us at a newspaper I worked for who would sing out lyrics randomly during the day. And REM – my husband was just saying a couple of weeks ago that nobody knows the words to that song. Great list!

  11. I love ALL of these except for the Bonnie Tyler–I had to listen to that song so many times it is now like nails on a chalkboard to me. But oh WOW Evanescence–one of my all time favorites. My Immortal still makes me cry whenever I hear it. Great list you have here!

    • I have a playlist on my Ipod called “Very Favorites”-it has four of their songs-“Bring Me To Life”, “Lithium”, “Lacrymosa” and “My Immortal” on it. It also has some Chevelle, Shinedown, Linkin Park, Muse, Staind and Smashing Pumpkins on it. All not necessarily sing loud in your car songs, but good ones nonetheless.

  12. nice range! the diversity factor is all that makes these TMT Tuesday as much fun as they are.
    Evanesence & Simon & Garfunkel in one list very cool

  13. Total Eclipse of the Heart is the real deal…I remember belting out that tune with my MOTHER in her Smokey and the Bandit Black Trans AM…why yes it had the gold bird on the hood…and here you go…an 8 track tape player shoved in the dashboard! GAH! I sooo just dated myself…sheesh! But seriously… Great List!

  14. Pingback: Mixed Tape Tuesday – my first time playing (a day late!!) | surprisemama

  15. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The Rainy Itchy Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

  16. Get out of my head! I flipping LOVE Erasure! Love them! I have all of their CDs and rock out to pretty much every song they have, although Respect is one of my favorites.

    Evanescence reminds me of law school, and I love “Bring me back to life” although, as I said, it reminds me of law school, which makes me want to cry a little, so I can only listen to it in small doses.

    And I totally forgot about “I want it that way” so thank you for reminding me. I’m sure iTunes will thank you as well. I love to rock out to boy bands. Why aren’t there more of them? Ah, those were the days.

    Actually, New Kids on the Block is coming to STL on June 30th if you want to make the trip and have a little girls weekend. My friend Stephanie and I are going full out with teased bangs and blue eye shadow. We’d love to have you and you could stay in my spare bedroom, as long as you don’t mind a dog or two. 🙂

  17. Pingback: Twisted Mixtape Tuesday Bathtub Time Machine: The 80s, This List Goes To 11 | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

  18. OMG I loved this post! And I loved that we both thought of the topic 🙂 Cause that’s how we are, he he.
    And it made me realize I need to do an 80’s dance mix fo sho!

Whatcha Thinkin?

