FTSF: Favorite 80s Movies

My favorite movie of all time… I could not choose just one!

airplane funny

Another great scene from a great movie.

We like movies a little bit in our house.  We usually watch at least one movie every weekend if not more.  I was raised on movies.  We watched them all the time when my sister and I were kids.  The VCR was our friend!

There are three criteria that makes a movie fit into the category of favorites.
1)  Humor-We’re not into the all serious movies.  I’m not saying it has to be a comedy, but it has to have a comedic element in it.
2)  Quotability-There has to be several lines from the movie that we use time and time again in our house.  For example, every time we have an injury, we insist in our best British accent that it is “Just a flesh wound!” (NAME THAT MOVIE)
3)  Watchability-I say this because my little sister ruined many movies for me by watching them over and over and over…  If a movie comes on that I’ve seen before and I sit and watch it every time, then it’s a good movie.

So here in no particular order are some of my very favorites.  Note they are all from the 80s…  It’s not that there aren’t more recent movies that I don’t love, it’s just that these are my VERY favorites, and I don’t want you to have to sit here and read for two hours.  Even I have my limits!  I think I’ll do a post later on and include some newer movies.

My Favorite Movies (80s)

Drop.Your.Sword.

Drop.Your.Sword.

The Princess Bride-Truly one of the most quotable movies of its time.  I think this one takes the cake as far as my criteria goes.  How many of you send your family members off somewhere yelling “Have fun storming the castle!”

Sixteen Candles-This movie is still one of the funniest teen comedies EVER.  How many of you think of Long Duc Dong anytime you see the word “Automobile” printed somewhere?  I recently wrote a post for Theme Thursday that featured several clips from this and other popular 80s teen movies, including another favorite of mine, Better Off Dead.

A little Star Wars humor for you...

A little Star Wars humor for you…

The Empire Strikes Back-The best of all the Star Wars movies, loved by scruffy looking nerf herders everywhere.  I also love the original movie, but this one has always appealed to my sense of humor.

Dead Poets Society-“We’re not laughing at you, we’re laughing near you.”  One of the best quotes ever.  Also the only movie I can think of that moved me to tears.  Most movies don’t do that to me!

go awayMonty Python and the Holy Grail-It never gets old. If you don’t like this movie, then I fart in your general direction.  Watch out for killer bunny rabbits

Back to the Future-I love this movie for so many reasons.  The fact that it’s about time travel and they go back into one of my favorite time periods is just part of it.

no bathroomKindergarten Cop-If you work with young kids, you know exactly why I love this movie.  SO many great quotes, so little time…

Now it’s your turn.  Do you have a very favorite movie?  Are you like me and have to narrow it down to a certain number of favorite movies?

This post was written for Finish the Sentence Friday.  If you’d like to join in or read posts in the hop, click on the button below.  Thank you for joining me this week!

Finish the Sentence Friday
69 thoughts on “FTSF: Favorite 80s Movies

  1. I agree that Airplane and The Princess Bride are amongst the greatest movies ever. I would add Ghostbusters and Fast Times at Ridgemont High to the 80’s list. I also find funny movies less anxiety provoking except when people seem about to be hurt in an Al Bundy kind of way. Then I have to pause them until I’m less empathetic!

  2. OMG. I love your list, and I love your threat of a fart in someone’s general direction. I haven’t seen MP and the HG, but not because I don’t like it – my growth was severely stunted in the movie dept due to my only-child-ism (and parents who didn’t understand the grief I’d get later in life for missing classic movies). It’s on my list now. That being said, I heart 80s movies. Girls Just Wanna Have Fun and Pretty in Pink are two of my faves.

  3. OMG OMG…what a trip down memory lane, loved it. Princess Bride and Kindergarten Cop….LOVE THEM BOTH. I may need to watch them this weekend,

  4. Couldn’t agree more with your list and humor is definitely tops for me, plus I need to be able to quote and watch over and over, too. And loved your list. I also picked Back to the Future, because truly a classic and you are so right it comprises all three of the above very nicely!! Thank you so much for linking up with us again and hope you have a great weekend now!! 🙂

  5. Princess Bride? Never heard of it. The others are pretty fantastic though. I’d throw Revenge of the Nerds in there too, but I guess that may have been early 90s. Automobile? Lake, Big Lake!!! Lol! And the Holy Grail? Holy crap, that’s classic. I told him we already got one! Lol.

  6. Quotability, a must in a favorite list. My two favorite quotes from above (other than storming the castle which we say all the time): I have a paper cut, too, do you want to pour lemon juice in it? The other favorite: I’m not dead yet. You will be soon!

  7. From your list my definite faves are Princess Bride and Dead Poets Society. I can still watch either one and love it. Princess Bride has soooo many quotes to love. And Dead Poets Society kills me every time. I still remember the first time I watched it – I was a teenager – and I went around telling everyone it had changed my life. All the adults would smirk at me for saying that and it does sound naive of course but so what – that movies was freaking powerful!

  8. Pingback: FTSF: Favorite 80s Movies | Muses from the Dee...

  9. Oooh – your list is great! I bailed on FTSF this week because I just couldn’t decide, but I should have just had a link to your post. Another favorite quotable movie is The Three Amigos. Whippoorwill, whippoorwill! Look up here, look up here! (If you don’t know that, I probably sound really stupid, but if you do, it made you smile)

  10. I love every one of these movies!!!! The 80’s & 90’s movies were da bomb! I too, have way too many favorites to name…. Hook. Secret Garden. Titanic. Edward Scissor Hands….ahhh the list is endless….

  11. That made me smile so hard my face hurts! I think this post has more of my all-time favorite than any other posts I have read today! YES! I felt like cheering the whole way through- you named so many of my favorite quotes! Kindergarten Cop, Princess Bride, and HOW did I ever forget how much I adored Dead Poets Society??? OK, I need to take a sedative or something. I’m all fired up now! Best FTSF post ever!

  12. Your list is perfection. I love every single movie that you mentioned. And now I simply cannot believe that I have no Monty Python quotes in my post. None. “Are you saying coconuts migrate?” Classic! Love it and YOU!

  13. Run away!! run away!!

    (I actually have Airplane! in my top 4 funniest movies of all time and as a result, the song Stayin Alive is totally and forever linked to the bar scene in, I believe Drambuie )

  14. I can’t believe I’m going to say this but I think I need to rent Kindergarten Cop. It’s been too long.

    Also,

    Bring out yer dead!!!

  15. I can’t remember how I ended up seeing it to begin with, because it wouldn’t have been something I would have picked up on my own, but Kindergarten Cop really was a great movie! There mere thought of Airplane makes me cringe though – my Dad used to get mad about us seeing movies he thought were too adult when we were kids (he actually stormed out of Arthur because of his drinking – yup, you read that right), yet I had to sit through Airplane WITH HIM when I was 10 or 11. He must have thought it was all going over my head LOL. [#FTSF]

  16. Oh Lady we are of one mind, only yours is more accessible. Mine is mildly murky. Did you have a betamax? We did…our first movies were on those. And of course all of our crucial videos were too. So sad… I still have a wall of VHS tapes! I cannot even hear the word “bucket” without thinking of Monty Python. Lucky for you it was not a tooomah!

    • OF COURSE WE HAD A BETAMAX! My parents still think betamax rules. They still had the movies up until recently. We have two floor to celiling bookshelves crammed full of VHS tapes. Our latest proud acquisitions to that collection are episodes of Star Trek and Mystery Science Theater. Oh YEAH! Love those rummage sales!

  17. I forgot to say, we don’t do sad movies EVER. By we, I mean me and my sister, she is my movie partner. Our husbands cannot be trusted, and don’t like stupid movies. Whatev. And if that movie tricks you, like it’s funny and then someone dies of cancer. It is on the blacklist FOREVER.

    • Yep! Agreed. I like stupid movies. Except Dumb and Dumber. I just don’t think it’s funny. There are some mighty funny obscure movies out there that you guys probably either have seen or would love that we love a lot!

  18. Lake. Big Lake. I think I quote 16 Candles more than any movie I quote. I watched it SO many times and LOVED it. Then, I WANT MY TWO DOLLARS! from B.O.D. Back to the Future – LOVE it! I loved Kindergarten Cop too, but I didn’t see it that many times. Great list! I’d totally watch movies with you and your family.

  19. Agreement on Airplane, with that many zingers flying at you so fast and furious. I picked a bad day to quit drinking, lol. It’s hard, looking back in retrospect, to believe that my parents let me watch that movie at such a young age.

  20. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The Rainy Itchy Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

  21. I feel like we have talked about this before but my all time favorite is Say Anything…”I gave her my heart and she gave me a pen.” I seriously think about this all of the time!

    • I like that movie too, but Better Off Dead is my favorite! Say Anything is up there in my romantic movie faves though! But While You Were Sleeping is my favorite romantic comedy.

  22. Love the list! My most fav quote though is “I want my 2 dollars!” from “Better Off Dead”. Monty Python is so awesome- one year my best friend and I bought each other themed gifts from Holy Grail. I got her a shrubbery and she gave me coconuts. We also use the “it’s a flesh wound” and “come back and I”ll taunt you a second time!” Oh. No you have just got me started and I am going to be movie quoting the rest of the day.
    Another fav quote; “Cinderfuckinrella”.

  23. A couple of mine: Breakfast Club, St Elmo’s Fire, The Lost Boys and all time favorite: Parenthood! Noteworthy: Willow & The Goonies – don’t tell anyone I said it but the 80’s rocked!

Whatcha Thinkin?

