Twisted Mixtape Tuesday Bathtub Time Machine: The 80s, This List Goes To 11

Jen Kehl

Twisted Mixtape Tuesday is a fancy name for lists of songs just for you to listen to.  Each week participants bow down to the dictator for life of the whole shebang, Jen Kehl, and choose their lists according to whatever she desires.  If we don’t, it’s off with our heads!  This summer we have been finding the faves from each decade.  Some people just get on their ipod.  I happen to have a time machine, right in my bathtub…  So come join me and my fellow Mixers.  Read my list, and then join in Jen and her cohostess Kristi from Finding Ninee at the hop and see what others have to contribute!

You know what time it is...

You know what time it is…

The 80s!  Back in the days when MTV actually played videos.  Chances are if it was a popular song I had it in my book of pop music for flute.  This decade may have been tacky when it came to neon pants and big hair, but it was a pretty rocking era for music.  If I was allowed the time to make an exhaustive list of all the great music that came out of this era it would take you hours to go through!

So let’s hop in with Julia Roberts and take a tour of the 80s in the bathtub time machine.  It’s so hard to choose just a few songs.  I’m breaking the rules this week (sorry Jen) and making a longer list.  Here are just a few of my favorite 80s songs!

On August 1st, 1981, MTV debuted with the song “Video Killed the Radio Star” by the Buggles.  What happened in the years that followed was quite an explosion in creativity as bands tried to create memorable music videos to accompany their songs.  I don’t have a lot that I love from that particular year, but if we start in 1982 we find some pretty great music:

Goody Two Shoes-Adam Ant (1982)

You can’t be in a bad mood when this song comes on!

Africa-Toto (1982)

This song is just cool!  I’ve always loved it.

Every Breath You Take-The Police (1983)

The ultimate stalking song…

Sweet Dreams-Eurythmics (1983)

I love Annie Lennox-she has an amazing voice, and when she collaborated with Dave Stewart there were some memorable (and weird) results.

Faithfully-Journey (1983)

I recently discovered to my horror that I did NOT have this song in my Itunes collection.  We have two copies of this CD, both all scratched to heck, but by golly I got it imported.  What would I have done??

Drive-The Cars (1984)

When people think of The Cars they tend to think of their upbeat catchy stuff.  This is my favorite song by the group.

Owner Of A Lonely Heart-Yes (1984)

I apologize for the poor quality of the video.  Apparently there’s more than one, and this is the video I remember from the 80s.  We had MTV at the time, so I got to see a lot of the videos premiere!

Head Over Heels-Tears for Fears (1985)

I was very disappointed that due to licensing restrictions I can’t actually view this video anywhere.  Tears for Fears-an interesting band name that brought up even more interesting questions-what if they broke up, would they just be Tear for Fear?

Alive and Kicking-Simple Minds (1986)

Simple Minds-I’m partial to their song from The Breakfast Club, but this song is also one that I love that I think a lot of people don’t know about.

Rocket-Def Leppard (1987)

There are too many great Def Leppard songs to put in one little blog post, so I’ll stick with just one of many favorites.  Did I mention I saw them in concert?  Did I?  Did I?

I Don’t Want To Live Without You-Foreigner (1988)

Most people think of “I Wanna Know What Love Is” when they think of Foreigner love songs.  I like that one, but this one is hands down my favorite song from this band. Not to mention it’s one of the sweetest music videos of the time.

This is the point where I stop-it’s time to go back to 2013.  I could go on and on and on with all of the music from this decade… But instead I decided to make a This is Spinal Tap reference by leaving it at eleven songs, because then my list can go to eleven…

Check out some of the other songs that I didn’t list here because they were previously played on my past playlist, Car Tunes.  Next week I’ll be assaulting your ears and other body parts in part two of The 80s: Ear Worms and Eye Worms.  WHAT?  You know what an ear worm is, but don’t know what an eye worm is?  Well, well, you’ll just have to come back and find out next Tuesday!

And just like Columbo I’ve got just one more thing:  be sure to check out the funny at The Humor Me Blog Hop that I just happen to be helping cohost this week!

humor me

 

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday Bathtub Time Machine: The 80s, This List Goes To 11

  1. Adam Ant… I so remember that song & video and loved it when it would come on.

    Tears for Fears, Simple Minds, The Police, Yes… What a Great List!!! Enjoyed, Slu

    • Thanks Slu! I’m hoping to get over to take a listen to some more of other people’s lists-that’s the only downside to cohosting a blog hop the same day as the music posts!

  2. Yes… v good choice for your list! (I suspect there are many of these songs, that if there wasn’t a ‘triumphant video’ they seem to not stand out…at least across the span of what, 25 years??!) Loved the song. And the Toto… very nice.

    • Thank you! Yes had some great songs! It makes you wonder how they chose their name though. “What should we call ourselves? ‘No’ is too negative! ‘Maybe’ is too indifferent. How about ‘Yes’?”

  3. I love Drive by the Cars and I also really like the song Heartbeat City (is that the name? too lazy to look it up). It’s not upbeat either and it’s just wonderful. Haunting almost. Love the Eurythmics! Great great list, Sarah! Ha to using Julia to continue your bathtub time machine idea! Awesome!

    • Yes I think it is Heartbeat City-title track of the CD. Mine broke from being listened to so much I think! Eurythmics had some GREAT music too. I have their greatest hits!

  4. YES – I love 80’s music! I didn’t have cable TV, so watching these videos is hilarious! Doesn’t this music seem so wholesome compared to what we hear today?! I was just thinking about what music my kids will remember from their childhood years from now. I totally grew up listening to 50’s and 60’s music that my dad loves. He was a DJ for high school dances, and has always had good taste in music. He still has some LP’s (and I think a Def Leppard RECORD from me) but will now make me mixed CD’s.

    • I always find myself disappointed when I can’t find what I consider the “real” video to some of these online. That’s what makes 80s music so much fun. Wait until my Earworms and Eyeworms post next week! That will be some fun videos if I can find them!

  5. Yeah for Eurythmics!! 🙂 And I love the Police song. That voice – makes me I wasn’t a toddler when the 80’s ended. 😦

    I like Adam Ant’s song, but I was distracted by trying to figure out when a midriff was ever acceptable attire for a man. :p Gross.

  6. “Faithfully” was the song dubbed over my wedding reception video. Just hearing it makes me all weepy. I could never in a million years limit myself to 10 songs from the 80s. Shoot, I couldn’t even limit myself to 100. Great choices, though! I enjoyed (and remembered) them all.

    • It was hard! I don’t know how many times I changed my choices. That’s part of the reason why it took me so long to post. That and my kids think I need to be a “parent”. 😉

  7. Pingback: Twisted Mixtape Tuesday Bathtub Time Machine: T...

  8. Well you know you had me at 11 🙂 This is an AWESOME list! I am so psyched about these 80’s mixes. Why did I think they’d suck? This nostalgia thing is great. I loved every single song on this list. It’s funny but my sister said that the one thing I was missing was Yes, and then you brought the Yes, so now it’s perfect!

  9. Having just emerged from MY library, I was pleased to see and hear the Toto video. I guess I was busy doing other things when this video came on because I never realized that the band was atop a stack of books! And while the burning books part was unsettling to me, I love the song so much, I let it go! Keep on with your bathtub time machine!

  10. Great list Sarah!! I always used to imagine that Sting was singing to me. When I was a freshman in college, I would play this song over and over and over. Ahem….when I wasn’t studying of course. And is it just me, or does the one guy from Tears for Fears look like Jon Cryer from Pretty in Pink (or for the younger crowd – Two and a Half Men)?

  11. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The Brain Dead Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

