Twisted Mixtape Tuesday Bathtub Time Machine 2Fer: 90s Music+ Funny

Jen Kehl

Twisted Mixtape Tuesday + Humor Me Blog Hop.  It’s excellent.

excellentMuch like the 80s, the 90s was an era of very good and also very experimental music.  Grunge had to be the best fashion trend ever-all you had to do is go to Goodwill and find your flannel and ripped jeans.  Oh do I miss those days sometimes!

Being a Yute at the time, I listened to a ton of music.  I was in high school, then college, then married all in the same decade.  So many memories, so little time.

Oh, what is a Yute?

Oh right, back to the music.  We start in 1990…

Silent Lucidity (1990) Queensryche

One of my favorite songs of all time. And really, what’s not to like?

Enter Sandman-Metallica (1991) The Black Album

I vividly remember the day this CD came out.  My boyfriend at the time literally ran out of school that Tuesday to go buy the CD.  He picked me up after school and we raced back to his house to listen to it.  I was amazed-I had heard Metallica before but never like this!

Come As You Are-Nirvana (1992) Nevermind

1992 was a year of change.  Nirvana changed music as we know it.  It was so different from the other fare we had at the time.  The first time I heard music from this album I was hooked.  I couldn’t STOP listening to it.

Creep-Radiohead (1992)  Pablo Honey

I don’t know what it is about this group, but I think Radiohead is brilliant!   This song in particular is one of my absolute favorites.  It’s pure gold-not to mention the anthem of outcasts.  What’s even better is the memes that can be made out of it these days…

crepeDisarm-Smashing Pumpkins (1993) Siamese Dream

Anyone who knows me is well aware of my fascination with The Smashing Pumpkins.  I have been hooked on this band since the first time that a freshman that had a crush on me my senior year of high school slipped me a mixtape with this song on it.  I have loved them ever since.

Take It Back-Pink Floyd (1994)  The Division Bell

1994 was the year that Pink Floyd released its 14th and final album The Division Bell.  I wore out the cassette tape and have owned several copies of the CD.  Good stuff-relaxing and mellow.

The World I Know-Collective Soul (1995) Collective Soul

Another group I love-where did these guys go? They were no less than awesome.

Tonight, Tonight-Smashing Pumpkins (1996) Meloncollie and the Infinite Sadness

My obsession with Smashing Pumpkins continues… I can’t help it. I try to avoid duplicate sharing (I shared this on my guest post for Jen Kehl), but this particular song AND video are among my very favorites.

Everlong-Foo Fighters (1997) The Colour and the Shape

For a long time I didn’t make the connection that Dave Grohl was the drummer from Nirvana.  This was the first song of many that I loved from Foo Fighters.  I think that he is amazing-I swear the guy never sleeps!

Tubthumper-Chumbawamba (1998) Tubthumper

What other song do you know of that has the lyrics “Pissin the night away…”

Run-Collective Soul (1999) Dosage

Here is my second addition from Collective Soul.  This song is from the movie Varsity Blues.

And your bonus song, because I have always loved this song and video and I don’t know why the hell I do…

No Rain-Blind Melon (1992)

Psssst…. Come here.  I have some very specific detailed instructions for you after you exit the bathtub.

1)  Put on some music by clicking on the cassette tapes at the top.
2)  Click on the Humor Me Blog Hop link below and link up your funny. Then READ some funny too.  There’s a lot of it there, trust me.

WHAT??? Yeah, there’s also a blog hop for funny folks on here tonight.  The Humor Me Blog Hop, much like Stacy’s Mom, has also got it going on.

RULES?  Where we’re going, yes, there are rules…

1.  F-U-N-N-Y.  Humorous.  Hilarious.  Amusing.  ROTFLPMPTUIMMAPO (rolled on the floor laughing peed my pants threw up in my mouth then passed out).  These are all things that might describe the post(s) that you are about to link up (except for maybe the last one, that’s just kind of gross).  Right?  RIGHT!  If you have an unfunny post, I can provide you with quite a few hops that would gladly take it.  Nothing wrong with unfunny, this just isn’t the place, yo!

2.  Vote.  Because you can.  Click LIKE on your faves.  Because you can.  We even pick a winner.  This week’s winner gets a homemade “linty” and a years supply of dust bunnies.

3.  Visit the people that are making this possible.  My cohosts for the blog hop are these excellently funny ladies and gentleman.  My bios are apparently worth more than I am, so I included them again this week, because I can.

SweetaprilsTerrye from The Adventures of a Misplaced Alaskan loves long moonlit walks on the beach, candlelight dinners, and llama races.  She won an Olympic medal in curling, and campaigns tirelessly for equal rights for free range emus.  She’s also a brilliant writer (as in fabulously awesome writing, she’s not shiny).
Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine With My Morning Quiet Time?

Kate from Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine With My Morning Quiet Time graduated from the Julliard School of Interpretive Dance and is working on a career as a lounge singer/blogger.  In her spare time she knits sweaters for homeless hamsters and is writing a book about adoption (kids, not hamsters).

Mike is unique because he has not one but TWO blogs (at least two that he admits are his).  The author of The Insane Asylum and The Old and Cranky Gamer is known for his mad breakdancing skills, he’s a former ultimate frisbee champion, and I understand he knows his way around the videogame console a little bit.  Someday I will totally kick his butt at Super Smash Brothers.

No pressure...

No pressure…

That is all.  Now, you feeling funny punk?  Go ahead, make us laugh!  Link up below!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

21 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday Bathtub Time Machine 2Fer: 90s Music+ Funny

  1. Some good music here, looking back it seemed that the nineties were shit, but you’ve reminded me there was actually some classic stuff. Must go and dig out my copy of Nevermind, I think I’m on my second copy now after wearing the first one out!

  2. wow…this takes me back babe..feel so old now, LOL….I LOVE the movie My cousin Vinny. Hubby says I’m just like Marissa Tomei in that movie when I get mad…which makes me only angrier. ..

  3. Your crepe meme killed me! Hahaha! Radiohead and YES! The Pumpkins! I ha forgotten about them. Good stuff Sarah!

  4. Holy Smoke-a-roos!!! You have anything left for next week??? lol What a great List!!!

    Too many too mention, but they were all so good. Almost had ‘Creep’ on my list: nice. And a ‘My Cousin Vinny’ clip to boot. And the do-nut pics??? Too cool…

    Really enjoyed, Slu

  5. I tend to remember the decade as being pretty meh, but your list reminded me of some pretty genius moments as well – and yeah, the “crepe” thing will now having me giggling for the rest of the day like some 5 year who just blew milk out his nose… =)

  6. I LOVE your mix-tape. I loved almost all of those songs and still do. Blind Melon – Yes! I had the cassette tape of the album. I didn’t know that second Collective Soul song nor the Floyd song. Great mix!

  7. I dig this post….I don’t know if it makes me cool. I have a lot of this music on my phone or not. At any rate, love it. Thank you for posting.

  8. LOVE this! I was also in HS, then college (though married in the oughts) in the 90s… I loved all of these (except Blind Melon). I was huge into Smashing Pumpkins and Radiohead in college (love the doughnut meme!) Totally made me laugh and I just LOVE 90’s music!

  9. I love the fashion observation in the opening paragraph, so funny! And the meme proves yet again, you’re indeed the queen of post images. Looks like you and I listened to a lot of the same music as high schoolers except mine was peppered with a lot of other music I will never admit to listening to. By that I mean I totally will the next time I join. 🙂

  10. Dude I AM SO GLAD you put Creep on here. It was in my head, but it didn’t fit with my theme. It is one of the few mainstream bands of the 90’s that I loved. I still can’t say Chumbawamba without laughing! AND man Blind Melon guys had some stringy hair. Thank you so much for the memories! OH and…since I know you’re a millionaire, want to buy a book I have that Jimmy Chamberlain gave me (smashing pumpkins drummer)? He even inscribed it, so it has his very personal autograph…

  11. Pingback: Twisted Mixtape Tuesday Bathtub Time Machine 2F...

  12. Love your mix tape…especially Collective Soul…they are one of my favorite bands.

    Thanks so much for the shout-out girl…it brought a tear to my eye and a warm funny feeling to my heart. It’s a real honor to be mentioned on your site.

    P.S. I’m ready for some Super Smash Brothers whenever you are.

  13. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The Winner Winner Chicken Dinner Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

