Twisted Mixtape Tuesday Bathtub Time Machine: 90s Ear Worms and Eye Worms (Shut Up, Beavis!)

Jen Kehl

What is Twisted Mixtape Tuesday? ALL MUSIC.  ALL OF THE TIME.  And a few words to go along with it…  Join our lovely hostesses Jen from My Skewed View and Kristi from Finding Ninee in discovering all kind of different music to make your next mixtape with!

Sooooooo… the 90s…  We’ve moved from my list of favorites last week to songs that won’t leave your upper body alone.  Speaking of, what would the 90s be without a clip from this award winning show that changed the world as we know it…

So hop back in my bathtub and let’s ruin our auditory nerves together.  We start in the early 90s.  As a matter of fact, there were so many ear worms in that time period that apparently my ears had a difficult time moving on…

I’m Too Sexy-Right Said Fred (1991) Up

I’m too sexy for my cat, what do ya think about that?

Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover-Sophie B Hawkins (1992)  Tongues and Tails

DAMN!  I used to love this song.  The story behind it will remain mine and only mine forever and ever…

Baby Got Back-Sir Mixalot (1992)  Mack Daddy

“Oh my GAWD Becky, look at her butt.  It’s SO BIG!”  A man sings about butts, while standing on a butt.  Sounds like we need to watch some more Beavis and Butthead.

What is Love-Haddaway (1993) Haddaway

Anyone who watched SNL had this song stuck in their head pretty much for eternity… One of the dumbest skits in the history of the show, but for some reason it was pretty damn funny!

Loser-Beck (1993) Mellow Gold

You don’t find lyrics any better than this: “My time is a piece of wax, falling on a termite, it’s choking on the splinters…”

Mmm Mmm Mmm Mmm-Crash Test Dummies (1993) God Shuffled His Feet

This song gets all kinds of awards for uniqueness, among them is the only song title I know that is all the same letters.

Two Princes-Spin Doctors (1993)  Pocket Full of Kryptonite

This song has the same tune as Semi-Charmed Life by Third Eye Blind, but it’s more tolerable.  Right?  RIGHT????

Come Out and Play-The Offspring (1994) Smash

Just try.  Try really hard to get that one out of your brain!

One of Us-Joan Osborne (1995) Relish

Yeah, yeah, yeah yeah yeah… A song that I really love, but not quite enough to put on my favorites list.  So I put it here, because it does get stuck up in there with all of those rocks.

Lump-The Presidents of the United States of America (1995) The Presidents of the United States of America

But this video isn’t actually Lump, because I don’t actually remember the words of the “real” song.  Once again, thank you Weird Al.

Song 2-Blur (1997) Blur

WOO-HOO!  A song that makes absolutely no sense that you can’t get out of your noggin.

Dizzy? Sick to your stomach? I hope not, but if you are, the toilet is right over there…

I totally lost a ton of time that should have been spent on more productive things, simply because I kept coming back to watch the videos on here!  It’s so disturbing… But if you’re not totally scared away, tune in again next week, when we depart the 90s and enter the final leg of our Bathtub Time Machine journey.  *Sniff*  Don’t forget to click on the cassette tapes at the top of the post to see what other amazing stuff that people actually listened to way back then!

36 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday Bathtub Time Machine: 90s Ear Worms and Eye Worms (Shut Up, Beavis!)

  1. OMG…I’m too sexy…brings back such traumatic memories….ahhh, my eyes, LOL I never liked Beavis and Butthead, my hubby could watch them all the time. OMG. I used to listen to What if God was One of Us, all the time. Great memories.

  2. Oh seriously you had too many great songs (admittedly many that are just too good not to like) in one place. And I am with Karen some awesome memories do go along with so many of these. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. ‘Loser’ loved it from the first play (had no idea who it was at the time).

    This (exposure to Beck) is courtesy of my local college radio (the corporate dino-rock stations would be kinda not likely to put this in daily rotation).

    • I had no idea who Beck was for a long time. When I did start listening to his music, it was when Guero came out. I didn’t put two and two together for a long time. Now I’m a fan!

  4. Earworms must be punished to death! OK so I tried to add all of these songs to the YouTube playlist really fast so I wouldn’t have to listen to them because then they’d be stuck in my head forever. BUT just reading the titles was enough. I am thinking everytime I start singing Two Princes today I’m gonna IM you on FB. OK, I don’t have the time for that. arghhh

  5. Love, love, love this list! Your first volley and the last had me standing on my chair cheering!

    Of course, my boss made me get down (something about insurance concerns), but not before I also gave a shout out to Beck =)

  6. Sarah, you never disappoint with your bathtub time machine! Thank you!Also? I cannot believe (!!!) that I forgot about that song One of Us. Such an AWESOME song. I totally remember that SNL skit and you’re right – it seemed dumb but it is just plain funny. And Beavis – heh.

  7. YES! Some goodies on here and quite a few that I legitimately like. Two Princes is the one sticking right now you bung hole and I don’t even hate you for it!

  8. Pingback: Twisted Mixtape Tuesday Bathtub Time Machine: 9...

  9. Oh man these songs bring back memories. Some here I love and a few I hated. Still, I can laugh at Beavis & Butthead every time I watched them. Those were the days when MTV was great – and actually played music!

  10. WHY DID YOU DO THIS TO ME? Damn I wish I was your lover? How did you remember that one? Now I’ll never forget it!!!!

  11. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

  12. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The I Forgot to Add Anything Funny to the Title Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

