Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: B-E-A-Youtiful

Jen Kehl

Tuesday is the music day here at my blog! For the newbies, Twisted Mixtape Tuesday is a feature of different songs with a common theme.

This week’s theme was “beautiful”. At first I was going to be a stinker and just find songs with the word beautiful in the title.  Then I realized that was boring.  So instead I  fished through my music collection for some of my favorite “beautiful” songs, sung by people with beautiful voices.  Some of the songs I love got disqualified, either because I have already used them or because while the song itself may be pretty the person singing it didn’t have a very pretty voice.  So therefore I couldn’t use Time in a Bottle, All I Ask of You, and a zillion Simon and Garfunkel songs.  Naturally, this is the short list, and I tried to use a variety of genres to keep it interesting.  I stopped myself at eleven.

...and if you were a gas you'd be inert...

…and if you were a gas you’d be inert…

For Emily Wherever I May Find Her-Simon and Garfunkel

Of course I had to start this off with a song by Paul and Art.  This song has some of the most beautiful lyrics ever written.

My Guardian Angel-The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus

I don’t know what it is about this song.  It’s that beautiful that it almost makes me cry.  I heard it at a dance recital when my daughter was a baby, and had to find it right away when I got home.  It was one of the first songs that I downloaded *ahem* legally.

Love of My Life-Queen

The first time I ever heard this song was on a documentary about Queen.  I searched and searched high and low to find the song.  As it turned out it was on a CD I owned all along.  RIP Freddie Mercury-few people have voices anywhere near as fantastic as yours was.

I Won’t Let Go-Rascal Flatts

This song has helped me through a lot of tough times.  Every time I’ve wanted to give up, I pull this out.  I’m not a huge Rascal Flatts fan, but I never get tired of this song.

Fields of Gold-Sting

Most people think of Every Breath You Take and tantric sex, I think of this song when I think of Sting.

A Thousand Years-Cristina Perri

No, I still don’t like the Twilight movies.

You Raise Me Up-Josh Groban

This man’s voice makes me swoon!

Let Me Touch You For Awhile-Alison Krauss & Union Station

I had to put some Alison Krauss in here.  Her voice is amazing!

My Immortal-Evanescence

Amy Lee.  She’s another lady with a beautiful voice.  I’m also pretty sure she’s batpoop crazy.  But that doesn’t prevent me from being a HUGE Evanescence fan.  This is not my very favorite song from this particular group, but it certainly does qualify for the theme of this post!

I Dreamed A Dream-Susan Boyle

I had to put SOMETHING from a musical in here.  And this is one of my favorite performances.  No one expected that voice to come out of that woman!

Landslide-The Dixie Chicks

If I didn’t have a hate-hate relationship with Stevie Nicks and her nanny goat voice, I’d put the Fleetwood Mac version on here.  I do love this song, and this version is great.

Wanna join in the fun?  Write a post, add a little music, and then visit Jen Kehl and Kristi Campbell’s awesome music-thon by clicking on the button at the top to link up!

beautiful-eyes-funny-dogs

39 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: B-E-A-Youtiful

  1. THANK YOU for the introduction to ‘My Guardian Angel’ – it’s absolutely beautiful.

    And that Josh Groban song is one I love SO much, but have already used on the blog elsewhere…I love it hard. Makes me all shivery inside, and as though I want to cry and hug the important people and shout and hide…all at once.

  2. So, now what are you going to post when we have our “batpoop crazy” prompt?

    I would also like to thank you for the intro to “Guardian Angel,” and even deeper gratitude is given for your inclusion of Queen’s “Love of My Life.” A HUGE gaping hole-ish shortcoming in my offering for the week.

  3. I have to agree with everyone – thanks for the intro to Guardian Angel! Gorgeous song and makes me very “happysad.” A lot of these songs could have been on my list, too.

  4. More cool music picks here! I am also a big Evanescence fan and have seen them in concert. Even live her voice is amazing. Also, love the Sprockets pic!

  5. I just bawled through Susan Boyle’s song – I LOVE that you included this. It is the essence of beautiful. And You Raise Me Up – I dream of having a 50th anniversary party and dancing with my husband to this song. I’m in love with your mix tape – well done!

  6. HA! I mainly clicked on this for the cute dog pic. 😉

    Just kidding. Love that S&G song. I’m more partial to the Landslide remake she did because I can actually sing at that key. Hadn’t heard the Dixie Chicks version!

  7. OK, you kill me. This is such a great mix of funny Sarah and serious Sarah. I think I’m going to have to start breaking my own rules. The song I wanted to post was Andrew DeLeon on America’s Got Talent, but it didn’t fit my micro-theme. I think I’m going to stop thinking that way? Maybe? I love Landslide by the Dixie Chicks so much, my sister thinks its sad so I can’t play it when I’m with her (we have rules) but when I’m not it is one of my favorite songs to sing, I may have even put it on that list…
    This is awesome, thanks for not copping out like I did!

  8. 1. I, too, thought about finding a bunch of songs that had the word “beautiful” in the title.
    2. The Twilight movies are stupid. Vampires do NOT sparkle in the sun. Duh.
    3. Susan Boyle? OMG I love you even more. Goosebumps.
    4. S&G baby. Forever.

  9. Pingback: Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: B-E-A-Youtiful | The B...

  10. Red Jumpsuit Apparatus?? Ah, haven’t heard them in FOREVER!
    And I really like this compilation. I especially that you included I Dreamed a Dream – you have risen in my estimation immensely. 🙂

  11. Holy guacamole – thanks for reminding me of all the shades of beautiful out there, from Allison Krauss to Amy Lee. They both make me go a little weak in the knees, but in different ways. This thing’s so diverse it almost makes my teeth hurt. Well done.

  12. Holy crap! How in the world did I forget to include Landslide?! Sorry Stevie! I’m glad you did Sarah. And not for nothin’ but the Dixie Chicks did it major justice with their version. You can’t go wrong with S & G. They do “beautiful’…well…beautifully. And Sting. That song makes me cry it’s so gorgeous. I weep. I really do. I weep when I hear Josh Groban too, but for different reasons. (sorry. 😉 ) First of all, The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus? What a great freaking band name. I really liked their tune. Now I’m going to go check out their other stuff. Allison Krauss…Love. Her voice is so gorgeous. She can do no wrong. Such a great list Sarah!

  13. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The Deadly Artificial Color Version | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

