Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Acoustic Schmamoustic

Jen Kehl

Twisted Mixtape Tuesday is the ultimate music anthology, organized by a weekly theme chosen by Jen Kehl of My Skewed View and cohosted by that very same Jen and Kristi Campbell of Finding Ninee.  This week’s theme is a Free For All, Anything Goes, basically whatever we want to do.  YEAH! 

This week I chose really cool acoustic versions of songs.  Not cover songs, but rather recordings that some artists did in addition to the original song’s release.  I actually like many of these better than the original versions!

The inspiration for this mix comes from a song by Colin Hay, formerly of Men at Work.  You know, the ones who did Land Down Under? I first heard this version of the original Men at Work song on the show Scrubs.  My husband bought the Scrubs soundtrack soon afterwards and this is my favorite song on the CD.  If it was possible to wear out a song, it would have to be this one!

Overkill-Colin Hay

The link to the Scrubs clip is HERE.

The Foo Fighters was not a group I particularly liked when they first came out.  I felt their music was very repetitive.  But over time, they grew on me, not to mention that Dave Grohl is one brilliant dude.  He is on the list of people I would most like to meet.  There are several fantastic acoustic versions of their songs but the one I chose is my favorite.

My Hero-Foo Fighters

Here’s a song that really needs no introduction.  The original is pretty much acoustic, but I love this performance and the explanation of who “Delilah” really is.

Hey There Delilah-Plain White Ts

I couldn’t NOT include the ones who really pushed the back to basics.  There are a lot of great songs in this Unplugged collection, but only a few are acoustics versions of actual Nirvana hits.  This particular song originally was released from In Utero.

All Apologies-Nirvana

I love me some Matchbox Twenty, and Rob Thomas, but I love this version of Unwell even better than the original!

Unwell-Rob Thomas

Interestingly enough, The Other Side (an album that Godsmack released featuring some of their acoustic versions) is not listed in a lot of their discographies.  I got that CD the day it came out.  This is one of several good ones from that album.

ReAlign-Godsmack 

Just when I thought I couldn’t adore the Pumpkins any more than I already do, I found this version of 1979.

1979-Smashing Pumpkins

My husband hates Incubus, and I’m not sure why.  I own every album they’ve made.  There’s just something about this group that intrigues me, and I really don’t think they’ve ever made a song I’ve disliked.  This song is a little obvious.  It lends itself perfectly to acoustic guitar.

Drive-Incubus

Lithium is tied with Bring Me To Life as my favorite Evanescence song.  I have heard some really great acoustic versions of their music, but this is one is by far the best!

Lithium-Amy Lee

And then we just have some songs that were great acoustic songs already, with no remaking necessary.  Like this one.  So Axl Rose can sing?  No way!  And then he had to go and ruin it in the end… still a great song though!

Patience-Guns N Roses

I’m sure there are a lot of songs missing here, these were just the ones that I was thinking of.  Throw me out some of your favorites!  Want to participate in Twisted Mixtape Tuesday?  Make your own mix for your free for all, and link it to Jen’s post by clicking the cassettes at the top!

21 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Acoustic Schmamoustic

  1. Oh unwell. I remember listening to that and crying my heart out. Man does that ever bring back memories. That was also the soundtrack that was played while we played indoor beach volleyball. Weird?
    I love Hey There Delilah. We, me and the husband, sing it in the car. The boy child hates it.

  2. I LOVE that version of Overkill (I discovered it thorough Scrubs, too). And I had no idea about the acoustic 1979. Thank you!

  3. Wonderful idea for your free for all, and I also stopped dead when I heard “overkill” on Scrubs (as I recall, it might have been one of the last times that show impressed me, in fact), and Lithium was pretty badass as well, decked out in it’s acoustical garb!

  4. I LOVE THIS LIST!!!!!! I remember the first time I heard the acoustic version of Overkill. Man, I think it just wasn’t clear how brilliant this song was until then. Oh and that version of Unwell. Wow, you make me happy with this nice list lady!

  5. What a great take on this week’s prompt, Sarah! You had me at the title! Although, I have to admit that I don’t know a lot of even the original versions of these songs. I’m a dork like that.

    • No dorkiness about it. To each his own. That’s what makes this such a great thing-we’re exposed to music that we might otherwise not even attempt to listen to.

      And I wonder why I originally went into music ed…

  6. Wow! What a great mix. I love acoustic music, and these are all great songs (I, ahem, used to search Napster mainly for acoustics and remixes). My favorite is “Lithium.” I just love Amy Lee and Evanescence, and that was such an awesome version of that song.

  7. Pingback: Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Acoustic Schmamoustic...

  8. Isn’t it amazing what a song does to us when we hear the acoustic version? It suddenly becomes either boring or more haunting and amazing. Great list. Great idea. Love.

  9. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The I Can Barely Contain My Excitement Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

  10. Pingback: Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: The COLD mix | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

