Why You Should NEVER Scrimp on Salon Services

autumn-leavesToday is guest blogger number two in my week-long parade of awesomeness.  Dani from Cloudy, With A Chance of Wine is another one of my favorite ladies!  She was another blogger that I have followed for almost as long as I have been blogging.  What do I love about her?  She has such a fabulous sense of humor about herself, and can turn anything into a great story!  And I like a good glass of wine too!

Why you should never scrimp on salon servicesAs the 3 of us were wandering around our neighborhood a couple of weeks ago, I noticed a new salon had opened up nearby, and I almost died when I saw a sign in their window that said: OPEN UNTIL MIDNIGHT!

Intrigued, I ran ahead to find out what it was all about, and 5 minutes later I walked out with an appointment to get my eyebrows threaded at 9:00 pm that night at half the price I usually pay.

I felt like I’d won the lottery.

At 8:50 pm, after my daughter was tucked in and my husband was zoned out in front of the TV, I put on my best pair of jeans and headed to the salon with the biggest smile on my face.

When I arrived, I was immediately ushered into a back room, where I was asked to lie on a bed that had a plastic sheet over it and a (very) used tea towel on the end where my head was supposed to be. Thoughts of lice and Brazilian waxes ran through my mind, but since I’m a people-pleaser, I was physically unable to ask the sweet lady that was going to thread my eyebrows me to change the plastic sheet or the towel.

To try and distract myself, I brought up the idea of eyebrow tinting. I had this done YEARS ago, and since I only get my eyebrows professionally shaped once a year these days, I felt like treating myself.

Within seconds of suggesting this, I was lying on the skanky bed with another (very) used towel over my face and eyebrow dye slathered all over my forehead. Admittedly, I was feeling a little nervous, but the sweet lady told me I had nothing to be scared about because she was “going to make me look beautiful.” So I kept my mouth shut and continued lying there as she removed the dye from my eyebrows, and I didn’t even flinch when a little dye-infused water dripped into my eye and another (very) used towel was pressed into my eye to ensure I didn’t go blind.

But once the dye had been removed and my eyebrows were ready to be threaded, I couldn’t take it anymore. I had to see what they looked like. So I got off the bed and walked over to the closest mirror to take a look.

And I almost screamed.

My eyebrows, and all of the skin beneath them, were ALMOST BLACK.

And I have STRAWBERRY BLONDE hair.

But the sweet lady assured me that once she’d removed the excess dye from my skin and shaped my eyebrows, I would be thrilled with the results.

And beautiful.

So I got back on the skanky bed and started to recite Sandra Boynton’s Barnyard Dance over and over in my head while she SCRUBBED my eyebrows with rubbing alcohol.

Once she was satisfied my eyes were burning badly enough from the fumes, she started threading.

And then she continued threading.

And then she threaded some more after that.

And just as I was about to ask if I had any eyebrows left, she started tweezing those “hard to get hairs.”

When she was finally done, I shakily got off the bed and walked over to the mirror, and when I saw my reflection, it took every ounce of my willpower not to cry. My eyebrows were still virtually black, all of the surrounding skin was red and raw from all of the scrubbing and threading, and I noticed a bit of blood below my left eyebrow from those damn tweezers.

And this, my friends, is why you should never scrimp on salon services.

Then again, I overpaid for my first (and only) Brazilian wax, and that didn’t get me very far either.

Have you ever had a nightmare experience at the salon?

Love this?  Visit her blog!
Dani Ryan is a SAHM who likes to make people laugh by sharing funny stories about her functionally dysfunctional life, both before and after she became a parent. It keeps her from opening the wine at 9 am. Sometimes. You can find her on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

37 thoughts on “Why You Should NEVER Scrimp on Salon Services

  1. Yikes! I’m so overdue for an eyebrow wax. I’ve never had an eyebrow thread. I was always too scared to even ask what it was. All I can picture is a long needle and thread and kind of weaving all of the hairs together!

    • HA! I used to get my eyebrows waxed, but I have such sensitive skin that it was never pretty afterwards. Threading is hard to explain, but I find it doesn’t irritate my skin so much. Unless there’s hair dye and rubbing alcohol involved, of course, 🙂

  2. Trust me I have tons of crazy stories from trying to scrimp on salon services in the past, but like you I learned to not do this by all the crazy things that happened to me because of it. The worst that comes to mind seriously is something I haven’t thought of in years and bet that would get a few laughs if I shared on my own blog!!

  3. Wonderful. A good lesson or reminder for us all. I got a bad haircut about ten years ago. My hair looked like a member of the Beatles. I was so upset that when I left I tripped over a bench they had outside and fell of the porch.

  4. WHOA. I don’t even have eyebrows at this point; I have two huge, hairy caterpillars chillin’ on my face, but I am the only one who touches them. I know they’re not perfect, but I’m not risking jet black lines in their place! The upside: this, too, shall pass. In the meantime, can you wear a hat?! 😉

  5. See that’s why I never scrimp on salon services…well that and because I don’t really have that much hair on my head to really worry about it. Great post, thank you so much The Sadder but Wiser Girl for introducing us to her.

  6. Oh, honey. I’m sorry. I definitely flipped the F out on a woman who tried to overpluck my brows — and it was at a nice salon. It can happen to the best of us. (I’m not, as you might have noticed, a people pleaser.)

  7. When I told my hairdresser I’d be switching to someone else because she was getting too expensive, her response was, “Honey, you can scrimp on groceries, or clothes, but NEVER on hair.” I’ve always followed that advice.

  8. You know what? It’s a lose lose. I went to the same woman forever and always said don’t do them too thin. Well you know what happens after 5 years of your eyebrows being done too thin? the hair DOESN’T grow back! Now it looks like I don’t even have any eyebrows!
    Stupid fashion grooming crap.

  9. Never did my eyebrows but did have my hair done by a little Japanese woman spur of the moment about 10 years ago. While she was doing my hair her son called and they got into an argument.

    In Japanese.

    With scissors in her hand.

    The more they argued the more she chopped.

    It was bad y’all. 4 inches shorter than what I wanted.

    She also called me Jennifer the whole time.

    My name is Nikki.

    To this day every time I see her she says, “Hi Jennifer!” She did that in front of my coworkers once. Without a second thought I said, “Hi!” They couldn’t figure out why the hell I was answering to “Jennifer.”

    Nik

    http://Www.cowtailsandhaybales.com
    http://Www.nikkifry.scentsy.us

  10. OMG. I have a similar story but I actually caught them in time. On the day of my wedding, I scheduled an updo and makeup and eyeLASH tint at my regular (overpriced) salon. I went to get the eyelash tint and the woman started to put some crap around my eyebrows. I was like WAIT. What are you doing? She said “vell, it seeez right heeeer zat you vish eyebrows black.” UM no. Eyelashes black. (I’m blonde as well)
    Sorry for the hell you had to go thru!

  11. Yikes! 58 years old and I’ve never, ever had my eyebrows done by anyone but me. I didn’t know it was possible. (I live in a cave…) But I did have my hair dyed white last Christmas because my Husby and I play Santa and Mrs. Santa every year. (By the least expensive person I could find) With VERY mixed results. Meaning that I had to wear a bag over my head for the first six months of this year. Okay, yes, some people thought it was an improvement . . .

  12. As far as I’ve heard…eyebrow tinting isn’t even legal to offer as a service in my state, so rules must vary from state to state on that issue, though some of my cosmetologist friends will do it on themselves, I’ve never met any who admitted to doing eyebrow tinting for a client. I’ve seen and done enough eyebrow waxes (okay, fine, I’ve only done like 6 eyebrow waxes, I hate them!) to know that it’s an extremely unpleasant procedure that can easily go wrong. I’ll just keep the eyebrows I have, they suit me fine! 😛

  13. NOOO! That is a nightmare. I was squirming with the used-towel thing, but as a people pleaser, I am sad to say I would have done the exact same thing- nothing. That sucks big time. 😦

  14. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The Double Extra Special Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

  15. Pingback: The biggest beauty salon nightmare of my life (so far)

Whatcha Thinkin?

