Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: We Got Spirit Yes We Do

My Skewed View

This week’s Twisted Mixtape Tuesday theme:  Spiritual Songs.

Jen could use some spirit, but I’m not sure if she needs some prayer or more of the cheerleading type due to the horrible blog issues she’s had to endure as of late.  This week she’s in a temporary (blog) location, hopefully things will be resolved by next week. I changed the address in the button at the top so you should go to the right place when you click on it.

I wonder why she chose that theme?  Could it be because she has her very own performer at home who is now famous on YouTube with his rendition of The Devil Went Down To Georgia?  I think so…

(By the way Jen, I totally want his autograph.)

I felt really bad for not playing along last week.  I wasn’t really feeling the them, and what it brought to mind.  Do you REALLY want to hear how I feel about Handel’s Messiah?  Maybe in a few weeks…

That’s neither here nor there, anyway.

After much thought I think I put together something that in a really, roundabout, bizarre way is kind of spiritual.  So I used my very scientific method of adding whatever comes to mind.  You’re off the hook from hearing songs such as “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life“, because I just used it.  Annnnnnnyway…

spirittmtWhenever I think of anything that is spiritual, I think of this, everything single time.

Swing Low, Sweet Chariot-Johnny Cash 

It IS a “spiritual”, after all.

I love love love love love this next song by Josh Turner and that voice of his!  He’s not bad to look at either…

Long Black Train-Josh Turner

I’ve always liked this song, I’m particularly fond of this version.  I’m not sure how religious it really is, but it has the word hallelujah in it… so it counts, right?

Hallelujah-Rufus Wainwright

Another song I adore, sung by a friend that I adore.  Rascal Flatts has nothing on this guy!  I apologize for the fact that this link doesn’t work like the other ones.

God Bless the Broken Road-Marcus Collins (of The Texas Tenors)

https://myspace.com/marcusmusicforthemasses/music/song/god-bless-the-broken-road-15597794

And what would a music compilation about songs having to do with spirtiuality be without this song:

Faith-George Michael

There you have it, that’s as spiritual as I’m going to get this week.  Now next week, that’s the one I’m waiting for.  SCARY SONGS!  Woo-hoo!  Don’t forget to follow the link at the top to listen to what other bloggers shared!

meaning of life

25 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: We Got Spirit Yes We Do

  1. I’m enjoying seeing the different songs people are choosing. I actually prefer God Bless the Broken Road by Rascal Flatts. It was my wedding song.

  2. Thank you for making me laugh, you know how hard it really has been and this post was perfect. And nothing is more perfect than that comic! Really, it sums of my life perfectly. I love how you snuck in Always Look on the Bright Side of Life, because Lord knows I need it! Also pinned that mixtape, cause it’s perfect

  3. I haven’t heard Swing Low in years – boy, that brings back memories. My sister and I used to swing on our hammock and sing that song. And George Michael’s Faith – great addition!

  4. I like you a little more for adding George Michael, it was “inspired”.

    That version of Hallelujah is a favorite of mine and even Swing Low. I loved your list.

    (Hi, I’m just visiting from the bloghop! 🙂

Whatcha Thinkin?