Christmas, Christmas, CHRISTMAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

twisted mixtape tuesdayI’m still here.  At some point I’ll go through the long story of why I’ve been absent.  But for now I’m just here for the music.

This week’s Twisted Mixtape Tuesday theme is CHRISTMAS!  I like Christmas a lot.  As a matter of fact, I wrote a post about what Christmas music I love and what I hate last year.  At the risk of sounding a bit repetitive I’m going to name some of those favorites again… because IT’S CHRISTMAS!!!!!

TMTchristmasFirst let’s have some fun.

I Wish It Was Christmas Today-Horatio Sanz, Jimmy Fallon, Chris Kattan, Tracy Morgan

I can’t pinpoint exactly what makes me crack up every time I see this.  There’s so much to laugh at.  But it’s fun, and that’s what counts.  BECAUSE It’s Christmas!!!!

Now let’s get nostalgic…

Christmastime is Here-Vince Guaraldi Trio

Raise your hand if you grew up awaiting the Charlie Brown Christmas special every year!  I knew it was Christmas time when I heard this song.  A Charlie Brown Christmas remains one of my all time favorite Christmas cartoons!

Speaking of knowing when it’s Christmastime, this next song is the first one on my Christmas playlist.

It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas-Bing Crosby

While I’m not a huge Bing Crosby fan there are several of his that I do love like this one.

O Holy Night-Josh Groban

The voice makes me swoon.  The guy isn’t bad to look at either.  I love this version of O Holy Night so much!

Christmas Eve/Sarajevo-Trans-Siberian Orchestra

The first time I heard this I thought I’d died and gone to heaven.  Orchestra and electric guitar meets Christmas tradition.  It ROCKS.

O Come, O Come, Emmanuel-Enya

Now let’s go in a completely different direction and play some relaxing tunes.  I am a huge fan of Enya, as well as of this particular Christmas carol.  This song is so beautiful.

I’ll Be Home For Christmas-Rascal Flatts

I resisted liking this group for so long, but this is the song that got me to start really listening to them.  This beautiful acappela rendition is wonderful.

All I Want for Christmas Is You-Mariah Carey

My husband’s ears are probably bleeding.  I don’t know why I like this song.  It’s an earworm that burrows into my head and won’t go away, and I just keep singing it.

A Soalin-Peter, Paul, and Mary

I stuck this in here because I performed it once in college.  I think it’s neat.

Mary Did You Know-Kenny Rogers/Wynonna Judd

My son loves this song so much that he still wants to listen to it whether it is Christmas or not when we go to my parents house.

Silent Night/7 O’clock News-Simon and Garfunkel

Of course I had to stick Simon and Garfunkel in here somewhere!

Sleigh Ride-The Boston Pops

I have to tell you a story.  This song was something that our high school orchestra played every single year.  It was tradition.  One year our orchestra director decided to try to do something different.  It didn’t go over so well.  As a matter of fact, it was mutiny.  The sheet music to the song that he wanted to do was hidden and everyone’s music was replaced with sleigh ride.  It’s a classic.  Don’t mess with classics, especially if there are whips in the song.

I’m sure that you have opinions. What Christmas songs do you love?  Which ones do you hate?  I’m anxious to hear what you think! Make you own list and then get your behind over to Jen Kehl’s blog and hook it up!  Come on, it’s CHRISTMAS!

32 thoughts on “Christmas, Christmas, CHRISTMAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. I read this in its entirety even though I hate Christmas and Christmas songs. I don’t mean to Grinch up your comment section, lol. Just wanted you to know I stopped by.

    PS The Trans-Siberian Orchestra is cool though.

  2. I love this list! I’m going to have to play it when I set up my Christmas tree this week. And “O Come, O Come Emmanuel” is my favorite! I may have to get some internet connection and join the mixtape party again. I love this time of year!!! 🙂

    I’ve missed you, Sarah. I’m not sure why you are out, but I have been pretty MIA myself lately. Hope you are doing well.

    • There are good things and bad things right now. The biggest thing is that Evil Genius and I are really trying to get our act together and get healthy. And then there’s that damn work stuff and those silly kids that insist on calling me mom.

      • Good job on getting healthy. I need to work on that too! 🙂 Those silly children – it’s like they need you or something. Well I miss you so pop in when you can.

  3. It’s my favorite holiday time of the year! So many great songs and TV specials.

    I can’t believe you left this one off your list –

  4. I started my list with the same Rascal Flatts song, and I have at least one or two more matches (with different singers) to yours, so of course I love your list!

  5. I know when you can come visit me! When Josh Groban comes to Ravinia!! That SNL video was hysterical, I can see why you love it so much… it’s just so freaking silly.
    As far as the rest of your list, I am completely on board. I love the classics, also almost put the Pops version of Sleigh Bells on my list but I love the vocals so much and couldn’t find their version with vocals, there is one out there but not on youtube.
    Loved this!

  6. Pingback: What You Missed These Past Few Weeks, Probably Because You Forgot I Had A Blog | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

