Ode to The Baking Queen

advent_catsI got invited to contribute to an Advent calendar.  Not just any old Advent Calendar.  This is one for a very special person, Karen from Baking in a Tornado.  Every day until Christmas a different blogger is doing something special for her.  Me the superstitious one has been asked to contribute on Friday the 13th.  I guess I had better make this one count, huh?

So what could I give Karen? I’ve known her for most of my short blogging career, which in blogging years is a long time! After a lot of contemplation, I decided to write her a song.  More specifically, a song parody, because she has a fabulous sense of humor.  But what song????  Then it hit me…

Karen has been referred to as many things, because she’s awesome.  Fairy Blogmother is one thing that I distinctly remember.  But to me she is “The Baking Queen”.

Now she is much too young to remember disco, but she may have heard this song before on a Time-Life commercial. You know, the ones where you get 1000 songs on two CDs?

Now, there are a few things you need to do before you actually finish this post.

Remember this guy?

Ike_2

IKE! (Don’t kick the baby.)

Humor me, k?  It will make sense in a minute.

1.  Now, print out this picture…

IMG_1872 (2)

Print me out! (Pretend I’m saying that in an Arnold Schwarzenegger voice. Why Arnold? I don’t know, what voice do you want me to use?)

2.  Take a pair of scissors and cut across my mouth. Like Ike.  Really.

3.  Find Dancing Queen.  Here, use this.

Don’t actually look at the lyrics on the screen.  Just play the music.  Don’t know the song well?  Well then you’d better use this.  Just sing REALLY loud over the real lyrics.  K?

4.  Sing the following lyrics in the place of the actual lyrics.  Move the top part of my picture up and down so it looks like I’m singing as you do this.  Better yet, get someone to do that part for you.  You know, just in case you’re like me and totally can’t multitask (yes this counts as multitasking, believe it or not!)

This is as close as you’re going to get to seeing me perform this… though I do play a mean autoharp.

Still with me?  Good… carry on…

Baking Queen
My parody of Dancing Queen by Abba
written just for Karen!

You can bake, you can blog
Having the time of your liiiiiife
Oooo, read that blog, write that theme,
You are the baking queen!

Friday morn and you got the most
In a secret swap that you have to post
Always with some great food, getting in the mood
For crab pockets and pie
She is the mistress of the fly
With tales to make you laugh and crrrrryyyyy
With a bit of cream cheese, and everything to please
Now I really want a snack
And when she gets the knack

She is the baking queen, food that’s sweet, lots of tasty treats
Baking queen, feel the heat from your oven scene, oh yeah
You can bake, you can blog, having the time of your liiiiife
Oooooo, Read that blog, write that theme, add a little heavy cream

You come home and turn the oven on
Don’t burn the cookies when you’re gone
She makes up the best drinks I’ll never pour down my sinks
I’m in the mood to bake
And when she makes a cake…

She is the baking queen, treats so sweet, she bakes like a dream
Baking queen, she has helped with my blog esteem, oh yeah
You can bake, you can blog, having the time of your liiiiife
Read that blog, write that theme, diggin’ the online scene

*****************************************************************

I know, I know, don’t quit my day job.  That’s good, because I can’t afford to quit.

I hope you enjoy my gift to you for today.  Happy Advent Holiday Calendar Friday the 13th to you, Karen!

say-jason

14 thoughts on “Ode to The Baking Queen

  1. Hysterical. I so love the way your brain works. Don’t tell anyone but I was sitting here singing along with you. I saw Mama Mia in Boston and it’s an all time favorite of mine.

    Thank you so much for doing this for me. I’m once again overwhelmed. Now if I can just get you to do a video of this for YouTube. . .

  2. Sarah, you are amazing! That is one of the most creative things I have ever read! I can tell how much time and effort and thought (and heart!) you put into this post. It had me laughing start to finish. I think my favorite line was: “She makes up the best drinks I’ll never pour down my sinks”. So awesome.

  3. You’re too funny Sarah. I enjoy reading Karen The Baking Queen’s blog too. All I could picture was you singing that in Ike’s voice.

    Kick the Sarah! No, don’t kick the Sarah!

  4. Oh my gosh I love that! Don’t kick the baby! (do you know how many things I can’t hear without sticking a south park line at the end of it?)
    And so hilarious if I was anywhere near a printer with ink I would have followed your directions explicitly.
    You are so creative. I are jealous. Karen is a lucky lady.

  5. Pingback: What You Missed These Past Few Weeks, Probably Because You Forgot I Had A Blog | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

