Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Mistaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaake!

twisted mixtape tuesdayThe theme for Twisted Mixtape Tuesday is past mistakes.

I will not make the mistake of rambling on and on as I tend to do, or have done in the past.

mittens

Or use funny kitty memes. Oh wait I just did…

Seriously though, I couldn’t wait for this week’s Twisted Mixtape Tuesday because I had to share this clip:

Ah, mistakes.  We’ve all made a few. Even the most perfect person in the world has made a few in life.  I’ve made a lot and I’m certainly not perfect!

Is there a song called “I Chose the Wrong College and Wrong Career and Now I Have No Future”?  How about “I Can’t Believe I Ate All of That Cake Batter and Frosting”?

No?  Dangit!

Naturally if we are referring to any sort of mistake this song must be mentioned.  It’s the law.

It’s A Mistake-Men At Work

This really has nothing to do with mistakes, but sharing that Men at Work song reminded me of this – one of the greatest videos ever made.  I really think this is what started Robot Chicken.  Really… I could have totally made this video as a kid, it just wouldn’t have featured all the sex and drug references.

The Hell Song-Sum 41

So naturally, that thought led me to this one.  Blink 182, Sum 41.  I used to get them confused.  But Blink 182 like to make videos where they’re running around wearing nothing but black socks and shoes.  The usage of this video is two-fold:  1)  I got the bands confused, therefore that was a past mistake 2)  One mistake I’ve made often in the past is to act my age.  Or not act my age.  Wait, what was that again?  Oh, and Mark Hoppus and his… eyes… yeah, that’s it.  Well worth sharing this video…

What’s My Age Again-Blink 182

Funny thing, I am a huge Coldplay fan and I don’t think I’ve ever shared a song of theirs on Twisted Mixtape Tuesday.  This one counts because it’s about a mistake.  And the video is really freaky.  Kind of like the fact that Chris Martin and Gwyneth Paltrow are together.  Freaky.  Weird.

The Scientist-Coldplay

Another mistake I’ve made is not appreciating Muse sooner.  I thought this group was just weird.  Then they grew, and grew, and grew on me.  Here’s the song that changed my mind.  And yes, they’re still weird.

Supermassive Black Hole-Muse

Stringing random stuff together to make a post.  It’s what I do.  Is that enough tuneage that really has  nothing to do with the theme? Be sure to check out my friends Jen at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee for all kinds of mistakes, but not the writing kind.

So click the links already so you can…

make like a tree

LEAF! It’s LEAF! BA HA HA! BTTF reference #2 this year. 😉  You’re welcome.

27 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Mistaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaake!

  1. You just keep on including those BTTF refs in your posts. Or somewhere. Can we make a widget on our sidebar that counts down until 2015? We should petition to change the Chinese zodiac in 2015 from the year of the goat to the year of BTTF. I need to shut up now. Also, yes on Muse. Love them and their weirdness.

  2. Overkill is Men At Work’s best song but It’s a Mistake is a close second. Great list, I really enjoyed your pain and mistakes…I mean, what?

  3. I was already locked in when I saw Men at Work but then you closed with a Back to the Future reference FTW. Great list! Muse is good, though like with many bands, I seem to like their earlier stuff. It seems a bit harder.

  4. OMG!! I miss that Men At Work Song SOOOOOO much! Thank you!
    LOL Make lie a Tree!!
    And eating the Cake Batter and Frosting is NEVER a mistake!

  5. I’m thinking you’re killing me. STOP! You’re hilarious. The answer to this, BTW? “Is there a song called “I Chose the Wrong College and Wrong Career and Now I Have No Future”? – Yes, I wrote it for the drawer, but now that I see there’s interest I might release it. The cake batter one, is a work in progress. I feel like that f/t job and writing under stress (tighter schedule, I mean)is really agreeing with you and you’re even funnier than before. Love, love, love. Totally awesome.

    • Not full time, it just takes more of my time than I would like it to. Mainly because I spend the time I’m not actually working stressing out about it!

      Maybe I need to make another song parody about the wrong choices… hmmm… what song would fit THAT? I’ll think on it. Maybe we can collaborate!

  6. HAHAHA!! OMG Sarah! You are beyond hilarious, as always! HA! Mistaaaaaaaake!!! Will be in my head all night. Forever, possibly. Also? Chris Martin and Gwyneth Paltrow = REALLY?!?! WTF.

  7. Hadn’t heard the Muse song before (or really spent any time listening to them) – liked it!

    But you had me at Blink 182 – they are totally a “time and place” band for me. I hear them and I’m back in university. Ahhh.

    Moments over. Liked this! Can’t believe I’ve somehow managed to miss you until now on this hop.

Whatcha Thinkin?

