Fly on the Wall January 2014: The Multimedia Edition

Fly on the WallWelcome to this month’s edition of The Fly on the Wall, created by and hosted by the lovely Karen of Baking in a Tornado.  Fourteen bloggers are simultaneously publishing glimpses into their homes just for your entertainment.  The links to the other participating blogs can be found at the bottom of this post. 

Now, prepare to be amused!

Apparently we own Yoda’s VCR.
Evil Genius: “Which one of us is going to pause the movie?”
Me: “There is no pause, there is only stop.”
Because there is… and no remote either.

So the dog has now picked up on the kids’ little game-so now not only do the children magically appear and need things whenever I get on the phone, he runs up to me and won’t stop barking at the phone. Maybe he wants to call somebody who cares?

Not staged.  It's been cold, can you tell?

Not staged. It’s been cold, can you tell?

I never thought that bringing home calendars from the dollar store for the kids would provide them with so much entertainment! They have busily been trying to find all the important dates.

The Professor’s important dates=sporting events and Nerdsdays (translation=Big Bang Theory nights)
The Princess’s important dates=birthdays of friends and family

Me:  “Can you hand me the remote?”
The Princess:  “Which one, the big one or the lumpy one?”

Tiberius's second collar of his life so far.  The first one lasted a few hours.  This one lasted about 24 hours, but as you can see he broke it completely!

Tiberius’s second collar of his life so far. The first one lasted a few hours. This one lasted about 24 hours, but as you can see he broke it completely!

I can add another talent to the growing list-this evening my husband got up to get something and set his book on my arm.  That’s right, I make a fabulous bookmark!

There was dancing, yelling, then crying downstairs while watching New Year’s Rockin Eve.  The Professor comes running upstairs chattering “She was pretending she was a giant chili dog on the big chair that kept collapsing…”
Evil Genius “Is your sister ok?”
The Professor “I don’t know, but I just can’t stop thinking about chili dogs.”
She was fine.

Man with stache seeks boy band to join...

Yes this happened.  I call it “Man with stache seeks boy band to join…”

Trying to find a sound app to fall asleep to on my IPhone. Among the choices on the one I’m trying out: Sizzling bacon!

The Princess is hoping to repaint her room very soon.  Naturally she was thrilled when Evil Genius started talking about rebuilding her bed this spring.
Evil Genius:  “And your mom can help you choose the color.”
The Princess:  “OK!  I want my room painted in rainbow colors!”

While not a great quality screenshot, you can see the pretty dress that The Princess received from Evil Genius's coworker.  Quite snazzy!

While not a great quality screenshot, you can see the pretty dress that The Princess received from Evil Genius’s coworker. Quite snazzy!

I asked The Princess to bring me the remote so I could change the channel.
The Princess asked as she handed me the remote “Why can’t we watch this show?”
Me:  “Because Bones isn’t really appropriate for little kids.”
The Princess:  “Why?”
Me:  “Because there’s really icky stuff on there.”
The Princess:  “Like bones?”
Me:  “Yeah, and dead people and blood and guts.”
The Princess:  “Dead animals?”
Me:  “Nope, just people.”
The Princess:  “Oh, that’s okay then.”

This is what happens when paper cutters roam freely around the library...

This is what happens when paper cutters roam freely around the library…

When told that there would be a two hour delay the next morning, the princess smiled and started cheering “Yay!  More time with mommy!”

Did I mention that she was my favorite that day?

Yes The Professor needs to be a part of this post too.  Here he is flexing his nerd muscles!

Yes The Professor needs to be a part of this post too. Here he is flexing his nerd muscles!

Thank you for reading today!  Now buzz around to the blogs listed below and see all the goings on at their houses!

Baking In A Tornado

The Rowdy Baker

Just A Little Nutty

The Momisodes

Spatulas on Parade

Follow me home . . .

Stacy Sews and Schools

Searching for Sanity

The Lazy Mom’s Cooking Blog

Menopausal Mother

Victory Rose

Pink Heart String

Spinster Snacks

32 thoughts on “Fly on the Wall January 2014: The Multimedia Edition

    • Oh Michele-Tiberius is the cat you silly goose! Our doggie is Neo (from The Matrix). But yes it is a great name!

      You can have those chili dogs-I’m not a fan! However, I’ll take a corn dog in its place any day!

  1. Those paper cutters…dangerous little buggers. And sizzling bacon would make me hungry and aawake, but good luck with that. And I love these Fly on the Wall pieces. Oil.

  2. There is nothing as heartwarming as a princess who wants to spend more time with her mommy. Can’t wait to see pictures of her rainbow room. After her comment you know you HAVE to do that painting job for her, right?

    • Sigh… you are right. Luckily that is in line behind repainting the living room and the kitchen cabinets. And those won’t get done until it gets warm enough to do it. Which means, what, June in the Midwest?

  3. Sounds like it’s time for a chain collar for Tiberius!
    And…ouch, Sarah. How much damage from that paper cutter?
    I think a rainbow room would be lots of fun. I once painted a rainbow mural (with Care Bears, of course) on my daughter’s bedroom wall. It would have been a slam-dunk if it hadn’t been an attic room with a sloped wall. I felt like a very neck-sore Michelangelo painting the Sistine chapel – without quite as much artistic success. Rainbow colors make it super easy to accessorize, too! Smart girl.

  4. We don’t have much luck with cat collars here either.
    Sizzling bacon would totally keep me awake. Talk about thing to make you paranoid.
    I totally agree with her idea that her room shall be painted in rainbow. I can relate. 🙂

  5. Me and my fiancee’ what Bones all the time! Good show.

    If my phone ap were sizzling bacon I would always never sleep. That, or be dreaming of bacon all the time.

    • I’ve lost track of it some-Evil Genius was very put off by the fact that Bones and Booth got together and quit watching it with me. I catch it when I can-I think Hodgins is one of the best characters ever!

      So if you had a sitcom it would be called “I Dream of Bacon”? Hee hee.

  6. I don’t think I have EVER seen such an adorable picture as that one with your dog lying on and around kitty poo!! SO darn cute!! I love your family! You are so much fun! 🙂

    Now I WANT a chili dog too!

    • I felt so blessed to be able to snap that picture at the right time. I just happened to look over, say awwwww, and Evil Genius automatically handed me his phone so I wouldn’t lose that Kodak moment!

  7. I love your Yoda remote! Ours walks. Did you know remotes had legs? Apparently the one from my husband’s office does and I’m apparently the only bloodhound who can find it. He actually wakes me up to look for it!

Whatcha Thinkin?

