I Got The (Insert Really Long Phrase Here) Blues

Oh yeahhhh... play those blues...

Oh yeahhhh… play those blues…

I got me a blog
Ain’t wrote in awhile
This thing called life
It cramps my style

Should I just give it up?
Should I stop for awhile?
Should I eat that bowl of frosting
And then go walk seventeen miles?

Don’t mind me I got the I’m-a-mom-who-works-outside-of-the-home-and-has-a-house-to-clean-and-is-trying-to exercise-and-sleep-occasionally-and-maintain-a-blog-that-I-don’t-get-paid-anything-for blues

I’ve been writing a teensy bit, but sure not much.  I don’t just have the blahs, I have the blogging blues.  And maybe a bit of it’s just too damn cold blues.  I’ve been doing something besides just sitting on my couch.  Just what exactly have I been doing?  Pardon me while I do a sort of rant…

facebook post

Damn you FACEBUTT!!!!

I’ve spent plenty of time being frustrated.  Like with Facebook, they keep changing the rules.  Yet that’s the only place I really see any interaction with the exception of a couple of private groups I’m in.  I love posting something and only getting 11 views out of 777 people that like my status.  I can share something that someone else posted and sometimes get lots of views, but it’s so inconsistent.  What a bummer!

Speaking of frustrated, I seem to get pretty much the same number of pageviews regardless of what I’m doing.  I’d like to thank the pervs looking for pictures of women peeing their pants.

The workplace: Where paper cutters roam and attack without warning.

The workplace: Where paper cutters roam and attack without warning.

There is work.  The PAID JOB.  While my job is interesting and flexible and all of that jazz, it does take a lot of my time.  AND some weeks I like it better than others.  This week, not so much (mostly due to the fact that it has been too cold for kids to go outside=loud noisy kids!)  I spend way too much time analyzing what I could have done differently or better after each session, while I should just jot down a little note and move the heck on!  So the brains?  Nowhere to be found!

workoutTo some of you this may not be that impressive.  But to me this is a new start.  I have a condition where my muscles get knots in them as well as having chronic back pain.  Exercising this past year has been very difficult.  Add to that the fact that I literally try to hibernate in the winter.  This getting out and to the gym when the weather is so darn cold is really a challenge.  So far, so good!  I’m sure it will get easier come spring because I really hate walking indoors.  Having a motivating playlist on my Iphone has helped make it easier, but I still want to be outside!

Magnum ran a 5K.  I looked at pictures of him running a 5K...

Magnum ran a 5K. I looked at pictures of him running a 5K…

Also, as you can see Evil Genius has been running.  He’s actually been training for a marathon.  His first 5K was the last day of January.  While I’m not moved to run any sort of marathon, I would like to at least compete in a 5K!  He has been doing really well with his training, and that is motivating me too!  While I’m still just walking, I’m walking further than I have in a long time and that is what counts.

IMG_0180 (2)And of course, kids.

IMG_2732And I’ve been trying to find the stuff in my kitchen.  I’ve been both blessed and cursed by this pantry.  The pantry is wonderful because not only does it give us space that we otherwise didn’t have to store our food, it also is the entrance to our “secret passage”.  However, the shelves are pretty deep and not very much space between them.  The containers I had would fall off the shelves and we’d be ankle deep in the mess!  So new containers that are long and skinny, new labels, and it’s looking pretty snazzy! It is close to completion now, at least that phase.  There are other things going on with the organizing too…

IMG_2730

Behold the nicely organized spices!

So if you wonder why a) I haven’t been blogging my little heart out b) I haven’t been reading your blog b) I haven’t been sharing your blog c) on Facebook but don’t seem to do anything but post a bunch of silly Valentines that I have spent way too much time trying to find (like you see it, HA!), then hopefully this will give you an idea of why I’ve been so… bleh.

(I’m sure you probably haven’t even noticed… but I’ve got this thing called anxiety so I do…)

Have you had the blogging blues?  Have you had things that have been taking precedence over writing?  What is your kryptonite when it comes to blogging?

12 thoughts on “I Got The (Insert Really Long Phrase Here) Blues

  1. Yes! I have been in a rut too blogging wise. The cold weather has affected me too, and now I’m watching the Olympics instead of cranking out at least one post a week! Sigh! It’s hard to stay motivated and make time for everything!

  2. My kryptonite is over-thinking everything I write. It takes DAYS for me to complete a post and I hate that about myself. But never mind about me. Don’t you DARE quit blogging!! My world would be a dull place without a dose of your funny to keep me smiling!! You got skillz, girl—don’t give up– your muse will return before you know it!

  3. Life can get in the way, but (like Marcia says) try not to over-analyse things. When you get to my age (55), and the children have fled the nest, you’ll get plenty of time to blog!

  4. I’ve had the blogging blues recently too and have not been posting nearly as often as I used to. Sometimes, it feels like WHY? ya know? Especially when jobs and real life get in the way. And dude. Your pantry is AMAZING. I’m mega-impressed. Great job to you and evil genius too for exercising. I’ve been horrible about it so can’t even blame anything on you know – being all healthy and stuff. When you blog, we’ll be here. Because you’re awesome.

  5. Ohhhhh but LOOK AT YOUR LABELLED JARS! Ohhhhhh I would totally want them except it feels like it was probably a lot of effort for you and meh – I couldn’t work up the motivation if I tried.

    Well done on walking more and doing the job thing (even if you get attacked by office supplies) and the mom thing – that’s ALWAYS more important than blogging 🙂

  6. I just decided not to write if I don’t feel like it. And also I’m not reading anyone else’s blogs. Okay, maybe a few. But it’s making me feel better. And now when I do write, I think it’s pretty darn good.

  7. Well, that pesky thing called life and work get in the way of blogging to name a few!

    Just blog when the moment strikes. It will happen. Plus, you still seem to be doing a good job of it.

    Happy Valentine’s Day sexy lady!

  8. You’re hilarious and brilliant and manage to make the everyday blerch, blah, blues funny. I’m sorry but I totally enjoyed this (and I hope there’s more than 12 others who enjoyed it with me, damn Facebutt! – my new favourite word, couldn’t wait to use it) .

  9. I think it’s contagious! Looking forward to spring for my snowed-in, iced out mamas! Would you hate me if I said I had to turn the AC on in the car this afternoon, bright yellow daffodils are blooming in our yard, and it’s supposed to be 70 degrees by Friday?!?! Don’t answer that! (Great blog post!)

Whatcha Thinkin?

