Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: If My Life Had A Soundtrack

twisted mixtape tuesdayWelcome to the latest edition of Twisted Mixtape Tuesday.  This week’s theme is “If My Life Had a Soundtrack”.

That’s right, you saw that right, what IF there was really a soundtrack to your life?

Previously on my IPod and now on my IPhone I have lists of songs that may not necessarily go together, but they are little snippets of the soundtrack of my life.  I’d like to imagine that my life had a soundtrack like Garden State, only one of the coolest soundtracks ever.

garden-state-wallpaper

And wallpaper I could hide in.

So just what exactly would I want to put on a soundtrack of my life?  There are so many choices-some that would bore you to tears and some that would depress you beyond belief.  So I kept it middle of the road.

Starting this off (and speaking of Mr Braff in the picture above) I’ve shared this song (used in a very funny episode of Scrubs) before, but as one who suffers from anxiety and insomnia, this just fits.  And Mr Hay is welcome to follow me around and sing about my life.

Overkill-Colin Hay

Just when you think you’re in control, just when you think that you’re on a roll.  In other words, just when you think things are going really well… yeah, here it goes again.  Just like my life.  If you have never seen this video, what rock have you been under?  It’s AWESOME!

Here It Goes Again-Ok Go

Every time I go to do laundry, dishes, or something equally important in my house I wish this song or something similar would start playing.  I’d feel more important, not to mention get more done.

Top Gun Anthem

Have you ever sat and REALLY listened to the lyrics of a Foo Fighters song?  One night I was trying to find some songs for a mixtape and just started googling the lyrics of all their songs I have on my playlists (I currently own twelve Foo Fighters songs that I love equally).  There’s some really deep stuff there.  This is currently on my “life soundtrack list”.  I’m still learning to walk again.  Figuratively of course.

Walk-Foo Fighters

I know what this song is really about.  I prefer to think it be about poor choices… I’ve made a lot in my life… Now if you can get past the creepy video…

Fallen-Sarah McLachlan

My theme song for much of my adult life…

Brain Damage/Eclipse-Pink Floyd

I wish I had some.

I wish I had some.

At the end of the day, this song needs to play, because I made it, and that’s a triumph in itself, right?

Star Wars Episode IV Throne Room Scene-London Symphony Orchestra

And if there actually was a movie soundtrack to my life, what would it be called?

IMG_1148-001 (2)Or….

toiletOrrrrrrrr…

black holeBa ha ha…. If you could have a soundtrack to your life, what songs would be on it?  Share, share, SHARE!  Leave a comment, or make your own mix and link it up to Jen’s insanely awesome linky HERE.

19 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: If My Life Had A Soundtrack

  1. Pingback: The soundtrack in my head | that cynking feeling

  2. It would be full of songs like Bohemian Rhapsody or that Killers song or that one Beatles song where the tempo changes halfway through the song and then back again and then back again… I don’t think it’s a coincidence my husband loves songs like that- cause his wife acts like that. Also, I think you’re right. We’re all being mentally assassinated by this weather. Where the f- did spring go?

  3. OK Go is so awesome. Do they do a song that doesn’t sound happy in some way?
    Also I still think you cheated on purpose to make me lose my mind. But I forgive you. And I know that Red is totally on my side.
    And then there’s Star Wars and Toilets, because what. else. is. there.

  4. I love the way you combine the Foo Fighters with Top Gun and it all seems to make perfect sense. I’ve never heard the song Overkill before and, yes, I could too identify with not falling asleep over excessive concern with implications… Oh and the Tie Die Avenger is awesome. Seeing how your blog characters already possess such awesome, cartoonish, superhero-inspired names I think you should launch a Tie Die Avenger series (because I know you have all that extra time and nothing to do with). But honestly, how awesome would it be? The adventures of Tie Die Avenger and Evil Genius.

    • Overkill is actually a Men at Work song from the 80s, but I never really liked it until Colin Hay remade it into an acoustic version for Scrubs.

      So you think that our superheroes are worth a series? Evil Genius is currently battling the stomach flu-not sure if that is superhero battle worthy or not!

      Thanks for always being such a fabulous cheerleader for my posts, lame as they may be! 🙂

      • I didn’t think it was lame at all. I had fun listening and reading. You are a mood uplifter for me and I’m glad to do the same.

Whatcha Thinkin?

