Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Tell Me A Story!

twisted mixtape tuesdayHere it is almost Tuesday again and time for another Twisted Mixtape Tuesday post full o’ fun.  The theme this week is one that I kind of sort of maybe suggested and got used:  Songs That Tell A Story.

So if it was my grand idea, why am I having such a hard time coming up with songs?

While I sat around and thought, my husband beat me to the punch this week and was not only the first one linked up this week for TMT, it was also his first ever blog post.  Sadly, this debut post got more reads and comments than mine in my first three months of blogging combined.  Sad?

But seriously, I was the one that suggested this theme so I’ve got to play.  My list that I had in the beginning was sadly unoriginal. Come on, EVERYBODY thinks of American Pie  when they think of songs that tell a story.  But does everybody think of the Weird Al lyrics like I do?  No?  Just me???

blank cassette (4)But I digress…  After some thought and a little digging around in my Itunes I came up with a few songs that really do tell a story.  We have to start this list with Simon and Garfunkel, because it wouldn’t be right to start off this theme without my friends Paul and Art.

The Boxer-Simon and Garfunkel

We couldn’t have songs that tell stories without a little Manilow.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’m not a fan.  But I do love this song…

Copacabana-Barry Manilow

Country songs kept coming up and I kept a lot of them from this list, because you could have a list a mile long of country songs. This one by Kenny Chesney is on of my favorites.  And moms and dads of little girls-I dare you to not shed a tear when you listen to the last verse…

There Goes My Life-Kenny Chesney

Back in the 80s, in the early days of MTV, I heard this song 3 billion times.  It tells a story and I can tell you every word of it because it’s imbedded in my memory.

Come Dancing-The Kinks

Why is it that Paula Cole is more remembered for her lack of shaving than for her actual music?  I hear this song, I think of her armpits, it’s just that simple.  But I assure you there is a story here that has nothing whatsoever to do with underarms or unshaven pits.

I Don’t Want To Wait-Paula Cole

Here’s something a lot more recent and with much less armpit hair but just as much storyline.  Most of Carrie Underwood’s songs tell tales, this one is no exception.

Blown Away-Carrie Underwood

What songs do you think tell a great (or maybe not so great) story?  Share your songs in the comments or make your own mix to link up!  See what stories others have to tell (and maybe add your own!) by clicking on the Twisted Mixtape Tuesday button at the top!

17 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Tell Me A Story!

  1. Sarah? Can we be friends? Barry Manilow? I was going to make him part of my mix because I’ve been in love with him since I was old enough to find boys and musicians attractive but I just couldn’t be THAT VANILLA could I?

    I love the Kinks, I love that song by Kenny (I thought about Anything But Mine for my mix too because I just love that song).

    I’m so glad I hopped over here, I loved your list. 🙂

  2. I think of Dawson’s Creek when I hear “I Don’t Wanna Wait.” But I do think of those pits when I hear “Where Have All the Cowboys Gone?” Not that I ever hear it, really.

  3. OK so I love this post so much! You used The Kinks! I didn’t even think of that song, so perfect. I always pictured that story in my head when I heard it. Seemed to me you had plenty of ideas a few months back on facebook. Maybe you need to take an hour or so to check your FB feed 😉

  4. This is a great list. Country songs kept popping in my head also. I guess because they all tell a story of some sort, drinking, bars, trucks. lol. Seriously though, I love that Carrie Underwood song. I’m not a huge fan of Kenney Chesney, but the song you picked is a favorite of mine as well. I like a song by him, I believe it’s called “I Go Back”. Anyway, loved the Manilow song too!!

  5. Pingback: What You Missed These Past Few Weeks, Probably Because You Forgot I Had A Blog | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

