Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Dairy Free Love Songs

twisted mixtape tuesday

 

This week’s theme for Twisted Mixtape Tuesday is love songs. 

While I’m not a big fan of the whole mushy sappy love thing, I do appreciate a little thought and romance from time to time.  A note, a gesture, an acknowledgement that I’ve done something besides take up space in my house…

That’s right, in case you couldn’t guess my husband and I have been married for almost 15 years.  Although we’re not exactly in the honeymoon phase, I do try to let him know on a regular basis that I still love him.  I tell him every night, I leave him notes, I let him live. Over the years of our marriage I’ve created him various “mixtapes” (um… cds) of music for various occasions.  I know there have been a few romantic mixes in there too. And I’m sure if I looked hard enough I’d find some of them.

Truth be told these days if I wanted to make him a “love mix”, outside of being able sneak into Pandora and make a secret station that automatically plays what I tell it to, I would have to create a playlist on Itunes.  Only he doesn’t really have Itunes.  I mean, he has it, but when he tried to download it a lot of questionable stuff came with it.  So instead he’ll have to settle for listening to this edition of Twisted Mixtape Tuesday.   It’s dairy-free, which means NO CHEESE!

(I once burned three whole CDs of what I consider full fat music-and appropriately entitled it “Don’t Forget The Cheese”.)

dairy_free2Interestingly enough there is no song that is entitled “I Had To Marry the Interesting Guy” or “It’s So Nice When You Are Conscious AND In A Good Mood”.  So naturally the list contains other songs that I deem appropriate for such a playlist.

iron man 3 (2)

Or any song that contains this quote from Iron Man 3…

Maybe I’m amazed that I’ve let him live this long?  Nah…

Maybe I’m Amazed-Paul McCartney

I’ve never had anyone write me a song.  Maybe that’s a good thing?  I’d be kind of scared about what might be written.  I’m not totally ruling that out, you know, just in case you want to write me one, honey…

Your Song-Elton John

This song still makes me all twitterpated.

All I Ask of You-Cast of Phantom of the Opera

While I’m not a big Dierks Bentley fan I do love this song… I stuck in because yeah, I just like it…

I Wanna Make You Close Your Eyes-Dierks Bentley

Considering on which school of music you hail from, this might fall under your dairy category.  I don’t care, it’s Journey, dangit!  (Cut to the scene from Scrubs that I can’t find where Carla says to JD “Nobody loves Journey as much as you do…)

Faithfully-Journey

I’m saving you from the world’s longest music video… get it? I saved… oh, forget it, just listen to the song.

You Save Me-Kenny Chesney

What love songs drive you crazy?  What love songs do you consider dairy free?  I’d love to hear about them! 

IMG_2327

Aw love… it’s swell. Quit staring at my boobs, will ya?

11 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Dairy Free Love Songs

  1. I had one of those chocolate-covered coconut things next to the spin-art place at the fair, too!

    I like your dairy-free playlist. “Maybe I’m Amazed” gets me every time. And if loving Journey is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

    • I tend to be one who is more about the accompaniment and what the song sounds like than to be about whether it’s a love song or not. There are a few choice ones, like the one I shared, that I really truly enjoy!

  2. We have some of the same ones on our list. I have to say – I am a little more willing to go the diary-full route, but that could be the place that I am in my life. great list and great family picture. No matter what you do, have a great week and celebrate each day with the people you love!

  3. I cry foul! Totally Faithfully CHEESEY! But I love it. Because I love me some full-fat love songs. Can’t do the country thing though….sorry. For me that’s just tooooooo much.
    But I agree about the not killing thing. That’s the most romantic gesture I’ve made all year!

  4. First of all, I adore your choice of title for this playlist!
    Second of all, I am excited to see a nice pick from a musical. I love “Phantom of the Opera” and “All I Ask of You” is one of my favourites.
    Also, I think Journey reaches a level of epic that negates any possible dairy. Just saying.

Whatcha Thinkin?

