I Neglected My Toes On My Anniversary and Other Not So Interesting Stories

I'm back

It’s really more of an “I’m back?”  but this made me laugh.

You may recall that I took some time off of blogging recently.

Yes those were real actual people on my site, not me pretending to be other people. Really!  Seriously!  I don’t usually take time off, even when I have technically been off I was still around.  This was my first actual vacation from blogging and away from a computer since I started over a year ago.  I don’t know if I can really be considered “back” since I’ve been spending most of my time hiding on other people’s blogs with posts I wrote a long time ago.

But I promised a post about this… So was my weekend everything I hoped it would be and more?  It was good but in much different ways than we had originally planned.

The original plan was to celebrate both our anniversary and attend Evil Genius’s class reunion.  We even had overnight arrangements for our children.  We were going to get a hotel room.  It was going to be AMAZING!

Then… we ran out of money, which is what you get when you just a start a job after 13 months of unemployment and have multiple animals needing vet appointments so close together.  I should have seen the signs that it wasn’t going to happen when I tried to think ahead and get a room and could not find anything even close to my husband’s hometown.  (three reunions in one weekend in the same town.) So instead of living the high life at the Econolodge two towns over, we spent the weekend  sleeping on a half inflated air mattress on my in-laws porch.  My back never even really bothered me so that must have been a good air mattress, or a nice supportive porch, I can’t decide which.

I skipped my 20th reunion last summer.  I wasn’t in a good place mentally at the time, and I was embarrassed that I was unemployed and therefore broke.  Not to mention that my husband had a very busy work schedule that week and there was no way I was going to be able to get him there.  I stayed home and watched Ghost Rider 2 instead.  Did I regret it?  Somewhat-I did miss seeing some people that I had been wanting to see who have moved out of state. On the other hand, it wasn’t a terrible movie either.

I didn’t attend my high school the whole four years.  Being a military brat, I moved around a lot throughout my school career until I was fifteen.  I actually started high school in Florida and moved to Iowa during Christmas break of my sophomore year.  While I had friends and was in a lot of activities, I don’t think I have quite the connection that people who have lived in the same town their whole lives have with their classmates.  There are a few people that I really think are cool that I finished high school with, for the most part I don’t have that burning desire to come back.  I’d totally get together with them over coffee or a few drinks anytime though!

Now that he’s graduated and doing well as an engineer with two adorable children, there was no way my husband was going to miss his 20th!  Apparently reunions that have double digits in them have large amounts of celebrating involved.  Two days of activities, and who knows if people got together on Sunday too?  The festivities commenced with us dropping our children off with my sister in law and her five children Friday night.  We went to the high school football game.  I didn’t know until that night that he hadn’t been to one at his school since he graduated.  Then again I guess I haven’t been to one of mine either.

I had a good time, despite the fact that I was terribly self-conscious about my toes.  I’m the only one I know who can spend the better part of a day getting ready for a trip like this, and forget to do something really important like paint my toenails.  You can laugh all you want, but I was wearing sandals and my toenails looked pretty gross.  I already have heels that can double as a sander, I at least have to take care of the other parts.

I really have had good reasons for neglecting my toes.  They're always being attacked.

I really have had good reasons for neglecting my toes. They’re always being attacked.

My other thought was that they have really upped the sparkle factor since I was in high school marching band.  I can remember looking like a giant Q-Tip at more than one point in my marching band career.  Their uniforms were positively snazzy.

Saturday was the family picnic.  It rained that day.  It didn’t just rain a little, it rained cats and dogs.  And my kids were out in it, playing on the park equipment and getting soaked to the skin.  Even I was soaked and I stayed in the shelter.  We were all so wet that the first thing we did when we got out of there was change clothes and throw everything in the dryer.

Despite soggy cheesecake (made espressly for the occasion by Evil Genius) and soaked clothing, we enjoyed ourselves.  And people who came were treated to this:

Dark Lord of the Grill.

Dark Lord of the Grill.

(Keep in mind that he was the only one who kept up his end of the bargain and brought his own lightsaber.)

That night we ate the cheapest meal we’ve ever eaten at Applebees and went to a bonfire afterwards.  What was interesting about this was that I discovered other bloggers here at this party.  I’m not saying that’s weird, but certainly not what I expected!

We returned home on Sunday night, tired but happy from having a fun weekend.  For the adults it got better, because on Monday we both had the day off of work and got to spend it together while the kids were at school. We hit the malls for window shopping, ate at Tasty Tacos, and bought furnace filters at Fleet Farm.  Who says that people who have been married for so long aren’t exciting?

In a nutshell, that’s what was happening on my weekend off.  I was busy.  Since then I’ve had work, and kids, and other things.  In other words, I’ve really had no excuses other than life in general for not blogging much of my own stuff.  I’m not saying it’s going to get better, but by golly I’ll try my best…

Yeah, it's kind of been like that lately...

Yeah, it’s kind of been like that lately…

11 thoughts on “I Neglected My Toes On My Anniversary and Other Not So Interesting Stories

  1. I did not notice your toenails AT ALL, and I am usually pretty aware of such things.

    Also, I don’t think it’s particularly nice of you to brag about buying furnace filters on your anniversary weekend. Jealous!

  2. Sounds like you did have a good time, dancing in the rain and all! Psst…I neglect my toenails too…in fact, my feet!

  3. Dude, my toenails have not been painted since Hilton Head, so right now the tips of my big toes are orange. Meanwhile, I bet that light saber did a mean job of heating up those burgers!

  4. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap-Up: The Batamax Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

