The Job Search: How It’s Kind of Like Dating

I’m beginning to wonder how long I should wait.

In case you haven’t figured it out, Lowes hasn’t called.  They said they would call me.  Why didn’t they call me?

The rescheduled interview went pretty well, at least I think it did.  It was a little disorganized,  not necessarily anyone’s fault.  I did the second part of the interview first and then the first part second, if that makes any sense.  Everyone seemed pretty laid back and very nice, and I got a good vibe from the supervisor guy who interviewed me first (but was supposed to be second).  The second part of the interview, which was actually the first part (but who’s keeping track?) was on the phone with the HR manager who was actually at a different store.

The only thing that kind of bothered me is that everything was scripted.  Everything was read right off of a piece of paper.  I mean, I’ve had interviews in the past where they might have had some notes on a paper, but not reading everything word for word.  I also had to sign a bunch of stuff before they even interviewed me.  For example, I had to sign that I understood the definition of the job.  It was definitely different in that respect.

I left feeling pretty good about myself.  Kind of like when a first date goes pretty well.  They said I’d hear something midweek, and here it is the end of the week already.  I’m starting to get antsy.  Should I take the bull by the horns and call them?  Is it too soon to call?  Maybe they’re playing hard to get?  What if they think less of me for calling them?   Does my phone even work?

I’m getting the sinking feeling that I have been stood up.  Stood up by a home improvement store.

Job hunting is a bit like dating.  You spend a lot of time trying to find the perfect one.  You get all dressed up for the interview, like going on a date.  If the date goes well, they tell you they’ll call, and you wait and wait and then they don’t.  Or they do call and tell you it’s not you it’s them.  Oh wait, that doesn’t usually happen in dating, they just never call.  Then you go and eat a whole container of ice cream and feel bad and then go on with your life.

You go on with your life, but there are the lingering questions.  Will I ever find the perfect one (job?)  Will I be alone (unemployed) for the rest of my life?  WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME???

One major difference here, I don’t think that the “as soon as you stop looking you’ll find someone” applies to the whole job search thing.  Especially in this economy.  I DID meet my husband when I stopped looking, but the job search is a wee bit different in that respect.  At least I think so.  Everything happens for a reason, right?  RIGHT?

You realize this is all a ruse.  If I say they aren’t going to call me, and I publish this today, surely they’ll call and offer me the job.  Or I give in this afternoon and give them a call for them to let me off the hook one way or another so I can get on with my life.  Meanwhile, it’s a no school day and we’ve got the domino rally set up.  I’ve got more fun things to do than to sit around and stare at the phone.

UPDATE:  I called late in the morning.  First I accidentally got hung up on.  Then I got connected to a manager who said they were still interviewing.  The gentleman who interviewed me was going to be left a message to give me a call.  It’s almost 10 pm and I’ve heard nothing.  Sounds like it’s going to be up in the air a few more days. Thank you for all of the wonderful thoughts!  I am so lucky to have such great friends as you!  I’ll keep everyone posted.  For now, a nice glass of wine…

16 thoughts on “The Job Search: How It’s Kind of Like Dating

  1. I totally hear you!! I have had two interviews for a job, also in reverse! How weird. Anyway, they were nice enough to tell me that they move slowly but it has been over two weeks and I am really wondering what to do. I don’t want to be pushy, you know? And even getting asked to interview for a job is almost impossible! I have applied to so many things online and the phone just never rings. Good luck to you . . .

    • I have applied for close to 100 jobs and this was my third interview. The other two were over the phone. I am confident that everything happens for a reason and I hope this is because something awesome is going to happen with my writing. I can dream, right? I just have to stay off of the online unemployment forums because they are soooooo depressing! They make me want to go jump off the nearest bridge/cliff/skyscraper. 😮

      Good luck to you too!

  2. maybe you should give them a call this afternoon? maybe? I wouldn’t know much about this because I am also unemployed at this moment 🙂 but I hope you will get a call soon! 🙂 but you right it’s just like dating! 🙂 ha!ha!

  3. IT IS NOT YOU!!! Good grief I don’t know why people say things that they can’t do, especially in an anxiety ridden trying-to-get-a-job situation. I mean, like they can’t remember what it is like waiting to hear back?!? If I ever am in the position where I employ people I seriously hope I remember what it feels like and treat the applicant with courtesy and respect! Good luck. It will work out in the end. It will.

Whatcha Thinkin?

