TMT Bathtub Time Machine: Y2K and Yet Another Humor Me Blog Hop

Jen Kehl

What is Twisted Mixtape Tuesday?  It’s the totally cool musical blog hop hosted by Jen of My Skewed View and Kristi of Finding Ninee.  We’re wrapping up the decades of music these next couple of weeks-we’ve arrived in the 2000s.

Enter the millenium. Did you spend time preparing for Y2K? I was a little disappointed that nothing happened.  I was hoping for at least a little glitch in electricity or something.  Nope, nothing.

I wish I could say that the arrival of the 2000s was that simple for me.  Not so much.  Some pretty dark stuff had happened to me by this era, and the music I listened to was subsequently darker.  If I had a bathtub that would actually cover my ladybits when I got in, I might have taken a few baths to deal with the stress…

bath-chandler-day-friends-Favim.com-613778

We only have one more trip in our bathtub before our musical voyage through time is done.  Tell Chandler to move over and climb in.  Chicken and Diet Coke optional.

No Leaf Clover (2000) Metallica  S&M

I surrender.  Metallica and a symphony orchestra.  I swear they made this CD just for me. This is my favorite song from this work of art.  Agree or agree to disagree with love for this song, it’s a masterpiece.

Crawling (2001) Linkin Park  Hybrid Theory

One of my very favorite bands.  They’ve had what I would call more “experimental” music the last couple of years, but I still really like most of what they do.  This is the first song I ever heard from them and it absolutely blew my socks off.

Prayer (2002) Disturbed  Believe

A coworker of mine went to a Disturbed concert and got to go backstage and touch the lead singer.  I had more of a story to go with this and now just can’t remember it…

Send the Pain Below-Chevelle (2003) Wonder What’s Next

Chevelle.  There’s a band.

Bring Me To Life-Evanescence (2003)  Fallen

This duet, like most of what you hear from Evanescence is amazing.

Seven Nation Army (2003) The White Stripes Elephant

Can’t stop watching, can you?

I Miss You (2004) Blink 182 Blink 182

Originally this song was written about The Nightmare Before Christmas.  That’s pretty deep for a band that spent more time naked than clothed in their music videos.

A Message-Coldplay (2005) X&Y

Sooooo… Coldplay.  There is something strangely addictive about this group.  I have all of their CDs.  I put one in and I just can’t stop listening… Everybody knows Coldplay, but not everyone knows this song.

Original Fire-Audioslave (2006)  Revelations

Chris Cornell.  Rock on.  Nuff said.

Tarantula-Smashing Pumpkins (2007)  Zeitgeist

Oh look, Sarah likes a Smashing Pumpkins song.  Who would have guessed that?

The Crow and the Butterfly (2008) Shinedown The Sound of Madness

I’m not sure what it is about this song.  It might be the minor key, or the vivid story that it paints.  Whatevs, Shinedown is another one of those groups that could write a song about cardboard and I’d probably listen to it.

Had enough dark stuff?  Hang on because we’re going to transition to laughs…

Misplaced Alaskan

Welcome to the Humor Me Blog Hop where the fun is just beginning…

And you know what? I didn’t cohost last week, even though everyone thought I was, and I won! Well, it was a three way tie between three of us-me, Brian from MooGeek, and Rich from That’s Life…Sometimes!  I got a fun button for it that I’ll try to get up somewhere lickety split!

Now for the rules.  Rules?  HA HA that’s funny!  No, really, we have rules.  They’re like directions. Yes males, you have to keep reading even though I called them directions!

1)  Please only link up funny things.  If you link up serious stuff we might put a “Kick Me” sign on your back.

2) For every post you read, an flying monkey gets wings.  So be sure to read at least a couple of the other posts that look fun!

3)  Choose your favorite post and click the “like” by it to show that you loved it.

4) And have fun, k?

Check out the peeps that are a part of this hilarious moment in time:

The Mastermind

SweetaprilsThe Entertainer
Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine With My Morning Quiet Time?
The Pretty Boy

The one that won’t let me get the formatting right to give her a title…the woman who defies everything, including WordPress

Julie DeNeen 2.0

And of course ME, the person that wandered into this room and was told I had to cohost this blog hop or else…

So please, link up your funnies down below-you’ll have to click to actually see everything.  Free WordPress won’t show you the good stuff!  I can’t wait to see you there…

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

41 thoughts on “TMT Bathtub Time Machine: Y2K and Yet Another Humor Me Blog Hop

  1. Thanks for introducing me to a lot of new stuff Sarah! I am slightly shamed and embarrassed to admit that I haven’t heard most of these tunes, but I love it when I get to hear new stuff.

  2. I look at the years for those songs and I can’t believe some of them are 10 years old or close to it ALREADY. How???

  3. Your post and Jen’s made me realize how teaching and motherhood totally took me out of the music circuit. I couldn’t avoid ColdPlay, but the rest…. ??? Oh well, off to sing the theme to Jake and the Pirates…. 🙂

  4. OK, a couple of things:
    1) Like Linda, thank you for the intro to some pretty cool new (for me) sounds. 2) Amazing, is it not, how I totally forgot that Y2K was ever even a thing? And 3) I feel that I will now go through the remainder of my day with “lady bits” bouncing around in my head.

  5. You are a woman after my own heart in your music tastes … except for Blink 182, that is. I think you and I are the only two people in the world to have purchased Smashing Pumpkins Tarantula/ Zeitgeist cd as critics panned it. Did you know Billy pronounced it “Tar-an-to-la”? Hell, I thought it was a great one. I’m a little surprised you didn’t enter a Godsmack song, but you did a great job anyway. I’ll allow that one slip up! lol I’m not even going to the bathtub bit or is that “lady bits”? lol Great job!

  6. So many great bands and tunes here! Love your music taste. I prefer the heavy metal side, but also a lot of goth and dak music too. Depends on my mood and where it wants to take me.

  7. I miss baths…my big butt can’t fit nicely in the tub anymore, LOL.

    as always, I am so out of touch with the music…I will have to listen to some of these songs though…perhaps I might recognize a few, I hope.

  8. Music can often reflect how we feel; however, the music that we listen to can also trigger something in us that we would have never suspected. I remember listening to all these bands when I was going through my “Goth” phase and, to this day, I still listen to them! I remember that I used to constantly listen to My Chemical Romance, Mudvayne, Deaftones, Lamb of God, etc. To this day I still listen to them! Sometimes I wish I could go back 10 years ago just so that I could see many of my favorite bands in concert when they first came out and were at the hype of their careers!

    • Linkin Park is the poster child for us who are trying to get our work recognized out in the world. I forget how many record labels rejected them before they finally hit their big break!

  9. We shared a brain this week! I had Y2K and Chevelle in mine too! The ONLY reason that Metallica & Symphony wasn’t on my list is because I have used Metallica every week I think and I wanted to prove that I do listen to something other than them. Awesome post!

  10. Thank you for introducing me to different genre’s of music. I was in another land with regards to some of the albums 🙂

    While relaxing in the bath tub…that is a luxary so sure gotta have it some day 🙂

  11. Wow sister, this is def where we diverge. I CANNOT listen to depressing music. While some find it cathartic, for me it just brings me to that place where a razor starts to look appealing. I really was wondering who would bring the Coldplay to the party. My Uncle is a huge fan, and if he’s out there this week, he’d be sorely disappointed if they didn’t arrive. You are a rocker girl, love it!

  12. Pingback: TMT Bathtub Time Machine: Y2K and Yet Another H...

  13. You are the third person who had Seven Nation Army on their mix tape today! And I was so out of touch with real music in 2003 that I only know that song as the Baltimore Ravens pump up song. Pathetic, I know. But I can chant the beat along with the rest of the stadium!

  14. Oh yes, love me some Linkin Park. And Evanescence. I love that dude that she sings with from 12 Stones. By the way, tell Tracy I’m kicking her out of the bathtub and Chandler is in some deep trouble with me. First Monica, then Tracy? WTH??

  15. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The Summer Vacation is Almost Over Panic Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

