Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Music That Makes Me Move For More Than Ten Seconds

twisted mixtape tuesdayDemetri Martin on exercise:  I go the gym and I try to run on the treadmill and I listen to music but it doesn’t motivate me enough. So I’m going to get a recording of a pack of wolves gaining on me. People would be like, ‘Why is that guy crying on that treadmill over there?’ ‘I don’t know, but he’s been yelling, ‘help’ for like 20 minutes. He’s getting a good workout.’

In case the previous quote didn’t cue you in, this week’s theme is a mix to get motivated to do, well, anything.

Trust me, I need all the motivation I can get these days, especially in the exercise area.  While I haven’t gained any weight according to the scale, I am certainly gaining what is known as the middle age spread.  I am not planning on subsisting on ten calories a day or eating nothing but cabbage for six months, so instead I am simply trying to spend more time at the gym.  I already lift, but I hate cardio.  My schedule doesn’t allow me to attend fitness classes like I used to, so I’m just trying to walk whenever I can.

So here is a sampling of the songs on my Iphone that motivate me to get moving.  And I behaved myself this week and stayed as close to five as possible.  Are they working?  Ummmm… sort of.

Did I mention I saw these guys LIVE in CONCERT?  What?  I did?  A few too many times?

Let’s Get Rocked-Def Leppard

Blame Percy Jackson…

My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark-Fall Out Boy

Fun to sing, especially in the shower.

As If-Sara Evans

I really don’t think I need buns of steel. I’d be happier with buns of cinnamon.-Ellen Degeneres

The video to this song is probably going to cause me to lose my “family-friendly” rating here.  So do me a favor, if you watch it a)  Don’t be offended-because trust me, this particular group has made waaaay more offensive stuff than this.  b)  DO NOT watch it with children in the room, unless you want to field some uncomfortable questions.  “Mommy, why is that guy’s crotch like a light bulb?”

Now, forget all of that and please listen to this very motivating song.

Danger! High Voltage-Electric Six

Moving on…

Viva La Vida-Coldplay

I’m not a huge Britney Spears fan, but good lord that girl sings some catchy stuff that makes you want to move!

Til The World Ends-Britney Spears

I should work out. It’s hard to find time to work out when you really don’t want to.-Jim Gaffigan

I love this song.  I don’t know why…

DJ Got Us Falling In Love Again-Usher

Hell yeah Josh Turner, I’d go with you.

Would You Go With Me?-Josh Turner

What songs motivate you to do stuff?  Check out the links over at My Skewed View to see what gets other people motivated!

11 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Music That Makes Me Move For More Than Ten Seconds

  1. I’ve been loving that Fall Out Boy song since I first heard it on someone’s mixtape last year. The Usher is fantastic and adore the Def Leppard in a retro-been-there-when-it-was-new kinda way!

  2. I am in just in awe of the amount of information and pop culture and just plain culture trivia that’s stored in that brilliant head of yours. I LOVED the Ellen and the Demetre Martin quotes in this post. They so accurately reflect the way I feel about working out…

  3. I love the idea of having a workout recording of wolves chasing me. Ha. I hear you on hating cardio but you chose some excellent songs that actually make me (almost) want to move it, move it. Def Leopard is one of my all time favorites. I was going to go to the gym this morning. It’s the one morning that I had two hours free-time this week. Instead of working out, I took a nap and am now reading blogs. Because naps and blogs are more fun. Which is why my pants are too tight. You go, girl!

  4. First of all, LOVE that quote.
    Secondly I always forget I love Sarah Evans, why?
    And then if there was a fire in Taco Bell I’d be screwed. PLUS I WILL NOT LET ISAIAH LISTEN TO THAT SONG. He’d be like Fire Fire Fire Fire Fire!!!!
    Great. He heard. And Brittany, he likes her too.

    • I was trying to figure out just how many songs mention Taco Bell. Maybe just that one. I guess they get busy in a Burger King bathroom in The Humpty Dance… I’m so sorry to expose Isaiah to my motivational nonsense. No, no I’m not.

  5. Pingback: I Got The (Insert Really Long Phrase Here) Blues | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Whatcha Thinkin?

