If I Had A Million Dollars…

Finish the Sentence Friday

If I had a million dollars I would…

Before I begin we must have background music… (I love this song AND this group, I hope you do too!)

one million dollarsThis is only for fun, so no I’m not going to pay for world peace or an end to hunger or a cure for cancer.  So yes, I’m going to be downright selfish.  I’m still having palpitations over buying workout clothes on clearance with a coupon at Target today-it would be nice to not have to worry so much about things like that.

So if you were expecting all of that crap… Sorry people, it’s MY fantasy.

First of all I would sell my current house for a song (literally!) and find a house closer to where my husband works.  Nothing fancy, just one that is big enough.  With a fake fireplace.  And a tub that I can actually submerge my body in. And of course a man cave in the basement where Evil Genius and The Professor can plan to take over the world. And the Princess could have the dream bedroom she’s been lobbying for with a castle in it.  With a castle and a slide and a trampoline.   I could have my secret passage to my secret room where I hide and write.  Or where I could just take a nap without small people staring at me.

I’d invest enough of that money so my children might actually be able to go to college. Because even though I’d have a million dollars college is super duper expensive, especially by the time they are old enough. Oh and for that matter, I would go back to school too.  Heck I could even start my own school, like in one of my favorite movies Accepted.

I’d buy a car that isn’t starting to fall apart. Purple Prius here I come!  Maybe I’d even have a lava lamp installed in it.  You can run one of those from the cigarette lighter, right?

purple prius

I would name her Violet…

Invest in an indestructable yoga mat, that way my dog won’t be able to eat it.  A purple one.  Oh and perhaps a personal trainer.  A nice personal trainer that would not yell at me, but secretly coerce me into working out without me even realizing it.  And I’d get those meals that are delivered to your door so I’d quit eating so much crap.  Or better yet have my own greenhouse, and chickens, and a cow.  Or maybe not a cow, because I’m lactose intolerant.  How about a Sodastream instead?  Yeah, now we’re talking!

What I just did a million sit-ups?  How did you make me do that...

What I just did a million sit-ups? How did you make me do that???  Oh.

Evil Genius and I would finally get to take our honeymoon.  It’s only 14 years overdue.  We’d go somewhere.  Anywhere.  Heck right now I’d take just getting out of IOWA!

Last but not least I would finally purchase that elusive self hosted blog and all of the perks and write for a living.  And I would host my own blogging party conference.  It would be The Sadder But Wiser conference.  And like in my recent Secret Swap post it would only cost $1.99 to attend!  There would be chocolate fountains and wine fountains and nothing would actually have calories.  It would be held at a water park next to the hotel, because that would be really, really fun.  Lazy river here I come!

Oh yes, a million dollars could be so much fun-I couldn’t resist fantasizing about that!  But now back to reality.  Sigh…

Yep back to reality.  Hey I found a QUARTER!  Woo-hoo!

Yep back to reality. Hey I found a QUARTER! Woo-hoo!

This post has been a part of Finish The Sentence Friday, hosted by these witty and wonderful ladies:

Kristi of Finding Ninee

Kate of Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine With My Morning Quiet Time?

Stephanie of Mommy, For Real

Janine of Janine’s Confessions of a Mommyholic

Check out their blogs to see what other people would do with a million dollars!

37 thoughts on “If I Had A Million Dollars…

  1. I think you are cracking me up! I love Violet, you deserve Violet. And yes our song choice is one more example of why we are so the same. I have a tub you can submerge in, come visit!

    • I think it’s a picture that someone has altered. I’m hoping to get a Prius someday. By the time I am able to afford another car they will probably come in all the colors of the rainbow AND fly.

  2. I don’t think I’d be as sensible and contained. Flashy top-of-the-range Lexus car, a big house on a hill with a wonderful view and (if there was anything left) I’d plow it into my local football club. (I sound such a typical man, don’t I?)

  3. Oooh, I love the purple Prius. If it isn’t real, it should be cause that car looks amazing. Also, whoever does your secret lair let me know because I want one too. Not because I have kids to hide from, but because my dream has been to have a trap door and secret room in my house. 🙂

  4. I want your hidey hole and personal trainer. And I said I was going to start a school so you guys can come to my school and spend that money on something else that’s awesome and purple.

      • Cat poop sounds icky, but a basement sounds AMAZING! I always wanted a basement (or, as we call them here, a ‘cellar’). They sound creepy and awesome and perfect for a games room or a book room or a writing room – all secret and tucked away…delightful!

  5. OMG! Do NOT put a trampoline in the princess’s bedroom! That reminds me of when I was living in New Orleans. There was a news item one New Year’s Eve about a guy staying at a local hotel who was so hammered, he was jumping on the bed and flew out the window to his death! Even if it’s not near a window, with a trampoline, you might end up with a princess whose head is stuck in the ceiling … especially if she was wearing a crown or tiara at the time!! Totally go for the slide though! 😉

    • I’m glad you think so! No I don’t play the lottery. I totally don’t gamble, not even penny slots. I’m glad so many people think my conference would be fun. I’m not a very good party planner, but I’m sure that my blogging friends would step up and help out, especially for only paying a $1.99 entry fee!

  6. LOVE the Prius! My daughter has a red one just like this and it drives like a dream. So, if you come into some money, I’m REALLY hoping you’ll take a Florida vacation. We could rule Disney World for a day and invite all of our bloggy buddies! What do you say?

  7. Out of all the posts on this prompt that I’ve read, yours is the most fun, Sarah. I would come to your blogging party/conference even though I hate water parks. I would plop myself down right next to the chocolate fountain and wave to you as you floated by me on the lazy river.

Whatcha Thinkin?

